What Did I Just Watch?

48 79
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Now showing.

Next attraction.

Coming soon.

I am imagining myself walking to the ticket booth to watch a movie. Boy! I missed going inside that dark, huge TV room. This is the least I can do for now.

Some years back....

Melted butter smell fills the air as I near the snack bar. I went past it. I need the ticket first for the 8pm show. I made a mental note of what flavor I will get : white cheddar cheese, extra butter and extra white cheddar cheese powder pour over halfway. My mouth waters with just the thought of it. Oh and extra napkins because those powder stick like crazy to the fingers. Iced tea or water? I will come to that decision when I reach the snack counter.

"The 8pm show, please. Eye-level for one." I relay to the man in the ticketing booth. I looked over the monitor as he gives me the choices available for seats. I pointed the one I wanted - a seat away at least from possible movie watchers who are on a date.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

The ticket pops out of the printer, the man in the booth tears it off and hands it over to me.

Let us give him a line. "Enjoy the movie, ma'am". Oh, but I really am not sure if they say it.

I read the seat number I am assigned in, memorized it or attempted to memorize it and slips the ticket in the back pocket of my jeans as I walked away from the booth and made my way back to the snack bar. I have ample time to still buy snacks unhurriedly.

I settled for iced tea. Large. But promised myself to just take sips as I would not want to be going to the comfort room often.

I walked in to the Cinema 7 when they said it is ok to finally go in. I wanted to settle down quickly, get comfortable and start popping the popcorn in my mouth. Trailers came on, made a mental note which ones to look forward to and then the main movie starts.

Stay safe.

That was what they all say to each other in the first part of the movie. Everyone is apparently going home. Twenty minutes into the movie, I am hooked. Wide-eyed. Enjoying and squirming in my chair at the same time. Entertained, amused.

An hour and twenty five minutes later, I stared at the screen. Getting off the seat needed a little effort.

It was just a movie.

I got up. Walked slowly out.

What in the world did I watch? The Purge.

Have you watched one movie and you walked out of the movie house with all your inner being feeling like screaming? It was not a horror movie. I would have laughed some few times if it was.

But the thing is... Something in me says that what happened in the movie can happen in real life eventually. Lols.

That once a year holiday the new government allows killing for 12 hours.

Ever watched anything that shocked you before and you found yourself walking out heavy?


Putting in a buzzer beater for Sun-yay!

©️ Pichi28

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise

20
$ 2.81
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Oo nga po ..ganun din ako minsan ..lalo na yung mga tragedy na mga movie .. Tas lalo pag lumalabas ako yung mga hostage taking na mga movies ..parang naiimagine ko na anytime..pwede mangyari yun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once watched a horror movie β€œthe conjuring" it was scary but I watched it all alone and I was also planning to download the part 2 and 3 until I discovered it was based on true life story. I just stopped watching it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha that added detail will give you the scares hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, everything is on point! This is exactly how I felt whenever I enter the cinema area. It sounds weird but it's nostalgic already, as if it's something that we did 20 years ago. Huhu. The last film that I watched inside the movie theater was Miracle In Cell No. 7 because I had a free pass for the 2019 MMFF. I miss those days. Huhu.

The film also hit me hard. My eyes were popping when I got out of the theater. But the Korean version was sadder.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayiie. Thanks sir! That means a lot :)

Waah free pass privs for mmff! I haven't dared see miracle in cell no 7 haha. I proceed with caution when they say it's a tear-jerker. But i do have a copy of the movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! How can I forget that movie, sis. Di ko makalimutan yan coz it's just weird and horrific to happen in real life. Wag nmn sana... 😱

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Oo kaloka writer nun. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't remember the last time I have been to the cinema. The Purge sounded interesting, although it may make one feel heavy indeed. Could that happen in real life though? Geezzz!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lols. How my mind works hahahha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked that one compared to the rest of the movies that came out from that franchise. Simple yet horrifying. Didn't you have any idea what the movie was about when you came in? haha. I have a friend who also loves watching random movies all alone, to the point na kilala na siya ng mga kahera haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha I did not look for any reviews haha. Nun time na yun ata I just really planned on watching random. So whatever is there na hindi cheesy or cartoon. Wala ding comedy so .. pasok ayun.. haha suprys!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mouth goes watery while reading your lines ordering snacks lol. It was 2 years ago when I last entered a cinema room. I have watched Purge before and I really love it, I don't know but I always enjoy watching killings and bloody scenes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. BC! Now i know ok ka sa bloody scenes thats a fun BC trivia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been going to the movies for a long time, I spend most of the day studying and interacting on the internet, I watch very few movies. It is very relaxing to go to the movies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is. Haha it is relaxing. Wow busy studying!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am always studying, I can't let time go by and not update myself, I have to be prepared for everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang tagal ko ng di nakaka punta sa cinema sis. Mga 3 years na ata. Lalo na't may website akong alam na meron mga bagong movies. Parang nasasayangan na ako sa pera haha. Kuripot lang ang peg

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha oo may ganyan na nga. Stream stream na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never gone to a cinema ever. And I really wanted to experience it even just once. Reading your article give me the feeling of having myself there though. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww thanks sis Grace! When you get the chance, go try! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will surely. If ever I will be gone to the city. There's no cinema here in my place 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. I have watched that also but not in the cinema, just on the DVD copy. I haven't watch the latest part, though. My reaction there was just so-so, but when I watched Insidious and Conjuring, that's where I screamed my lungs out and trembled on my seats. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lols. Yes my friends also still have those on top of their list

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I dont have the chance to watch that movie. But I want to because I hear a lot of good feedback from that movie so I like to watch it too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Go go go expelliarmus!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The purge is one of the thrilling movie that gave me a huge trauma, because I've been experiencing nightmares one week straight the moment I watch that terrifying movie, haha πŸ˜‚ bloody movies are 😭😬 hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi Athaliah! Haha yes that movie is a candidate for feeding nightmares.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha never watch it again! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. yes dont watch again. Go for soemthing less bloody

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last time I went to a cinema was....many years ago 🀣🀣🀣 I guess that was 2012 🀣🀣 I've watched The Purge alone too. But in my phone..it's not too heavy for me. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha kiber lang ba sis? Lols nung pinanood ko na ulit kagabi ok naman na. Siguro sa dami na din ng mga napanood na halos same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually enjoyed watching "The Purge", although the idea of solving world population by organizing a program where people would be able to kill without committing a crime felt sickening to me. I don't think I have ever been shaken to this extent while seeing any movie. The closest I have been was Annabelle - the creation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I think that all fiction we watched in movies or series is based on true events, more than the creativity of the writer. This world is crazy, so we never know what is real or not. On the other hand, gosh I need to go back to the cinema again I truly need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't watcheda movie from the movie theater.

Haven't watched 'The Purge' But the feeling you felt after watching the kovie is totally different and normal combined. It makes you doubt the future and makes you worry about protection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha oh yeah. Crazy movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, nope but I watched Annabelle a few years ago and after watching I was feeling someone is behind me and that was more than everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha... Annabelle! That one changes the way you see a doll ahhaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been long i felt that way. The last time i watched a movie and was shaken was way back in secondary school. For days the scenes kept playing in my head

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lols. Do you remember the title somehow? Hahaha.. would you say now that you're older that the story was good?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry I'm just replying this, the notifications were much.

It's a Nigerian movie "Nnenna "

Yes now that I'm older i still rate the movie high, though if i watch it again, i don't think i will be teary like before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, you watched a horror movie in a theater on your own? Very brave. You could never get me to watch horror films, not on cable, or Netflix, especially not in a movie house! But I love watching movies on my own.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lols. I dared myself one time to watch The Ring way way back solo as well. And i came out of the movie house fine. So I kinda got that comfort that I can watch any lols. This one movie though is crazy hahaha.

Cheers to watching movies solo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yup a freaking times!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello πŸ‘‹ hahahha... I did not expect that movie to be that... Nasty hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha i know i know :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and just to be sure, i watched it again awhile ago.. how crazy is that hahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You watched 'The Purge'? Which one? Tv series or newly released movie?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The old one.. lols πŸ˜‚movie... I remember my head hurting at some point ahhahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago