The Rec Room

50 50
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

No doubt I am super loving the work from home setup. I love the thought of waking up, stretching, getting off the bed, making my morning coffee and then logging in. The convenience and the extra hours to my sleeping hours really are awesome.

However, as much as that seems convenient and blissful, there are things about going in the office that makes working from home a bit of a bore in the long run. Do not bring home your work so they say. Over time we see that some ideals are bound to be broken because they do not usually fit the situation.

I have been thinking lately about the things I miss in the office. I sure do miss my friends there.

my favorite FOOTography of us during our : coffee sesh, break sesh, sunset sesh.. ML sesh, siomai sesh

But we do get to chat during work hours and even in messenger anyway so that is pretty much covered. I semi miss the floor where we eat our snacks and view the sunset. But snack wise, I have some at home.

I think one of the things I miss in the office that I cannot have a substitute for at home is the rec room or the Recreation Room.

The beauty of sharing the building with BPO employees is that we get to share the use of their rec room or their "recreation" room. But I used to not have that privilege because I used to report to another site. And that site did not have it. Well, well, well, with a little wand stroke of favorable forces I woke up one day reporting to the site with a rec room.

Newbie and all, I only know one person then - the friend boss who lives near my place then so we go to the office together on a long commute against the flow of the normal regular morning rush. As usual I picked the cube with less seat mates. But I really admire those people who dare to break the social barrier or wall I build - some people pass through it like there is no wall at all, some people climb up (don't ask me how I am still trying to figure that one out, too) and some people just really ignore the imaginary yellow tape of caution and they start talking. And they don't seem to mind that I do not respond much they just talk. Lols. Like Shrek's Donkey. I used to have a really thick and strong wall. Maybe I've gone soft.. or old.. or both.

Since they are already inside my personal space, might as well start interacting, right? That would be easier than to start explaining the why. Haha. Kidding.. partly. Yes that was partly kidding. Now what was I saying? Yes. The Rec room.

Sponsors' block AHOOOY... go check check check 'em!
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Endorphins. Serotonin. Dopamine, Oxytocin

After having lunch, they dragged me to the then rec room. We entered the room already feeling the fun tension brewing and the origin was from the foosball table. You can hear the turn of the handles, the small ball hitting the sides of the table and the small ball rolling to the goal hole. When that happens, it was a massive roar coming from the crowd surrounding the event.

This is their after lunch event. I realized later on when I learned the game it was a perfect outlet for daily stresses. Also a perfect game to wait out the traffic after office hours.

We wrecked that table. Yep we wrecked the rec room table. It never got replaced. Over time the rec room got renovated and was transferred to a more spacious area. More space means more items to add in.

They retained the dart. I also learned to play darts in that place.

the pins I cannot find. where did i keep them?

They now have the table tennis, the billiard table, the PS station, the videoke room, the massage chairs. Just a note, the use of these are logged so the leads and the managers know if certain resources were "over using", abusing or cheating in their shifts.

But even then, having access to these really helped in balancing our stresses. I have seen the difference of aura between resources from my previous reporting site and the current (pre pandemic and wfh setup). Even if you just go there and not play, it resets the stress bar.

They help somehow in pumping the four happy hormones.

At one point I was in need of a stress bar reset. Hence, I took a two-day break. Haha. The downside of that is that I'd need to catch up with that two-day cut off my delivery deadline. Hay the endless cycle! haha. The break helped though. The plan to break my usual work-day cycle paid off. Rearranging stuff in my room did help in pumping up happy chemicals.

I came to a resolve, I should start getting out of the room and expanding my walking territory from the coffee maker to outside the house (but within the gate).

I also need to get comfortable in going back to playing badminton. Lols as if that is allowed and possible. This part is a hard wish. But once I get comfortable with the idea, I will jump in on the invitation of my badminton friends.

What is your rec room substitute? What do you do that brings out the happy hormones so you can sanely work on your tasks?

Good day fellas! Happy Monday!

Β© Pichi28

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

12
$ 7.87
$ 7.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

I eat or smoke a cigarette before when I want to realease my happy hormones at work. There is no rec room substitute because it was either the office, kitchen or the dining area that we have in a restaurant set up. But years ago, after I went home from work, I would exercise to steam off those not so good things that happened to me that day and it was really effective. I think I have little to zero endorphins, serotonins ever since I became a bum πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed my last work. We have the same somewhat like a rec room pichi. It is the perfect time for us with my workmates. I really missed it..❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe. yes ramona! free use of fun things to enjoy with friends. God bless you !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes friends is a gift. They give us a happiness in life pichi. Thank you.❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are one of those blessed individuals who enjoy rec rooms as a perk... truez that's something to miss due to the wfm set up.. lets bope the pandemic will end soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

onga po eh. though pag mag papabalik na sila sa office gusto ko mag take ng time off na bongga muna din . hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Binasa ko ung comment ko.. ahha dami wrong spellings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pinaka favorite ko po yung "truez" at yung "bope" hahaha ;) Ok lang po yan !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far my life here is normal despite of pandemic. πŸ˜… can go anywhere else anytime

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that. is. not. fair. hahaha.. .hindi po strict jan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Frenny, i also want to experience that rec room. How ba, san ba may ganyan 🀧 hahaha. Wala talaga akong alam sa mundo πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah meron yan frenny. normally pag malawak lawak yung owned building nung site

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala atang ganyan dito sa may amin aguyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakakamiss bumalik as cc, at the same time mahirap ngayn dito kase tatanggapin lang if may backer hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

outs.. sad fact.. . di bale sa iba na lang muna..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would have to say the enchanted park is my rec room substitute wee pp! I can see you throwing darts at people that know you haha, but yes do more walking!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahaha uncle. . . that made me imagine myself haha. I was going to say we did leave marks on the wall and not much on the board. so it is pretty scary to be watching "close" hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I have seen girls throw darts wee pp, when you fun who cares what happens ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could have that kind of room when I was working in a BPO lol! That would be awesome! Wala inuman lang nun tsaka beach haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha. nagyoyosi break ka ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta ako yung university namimiss ko :( kailan kaya matatapos tong pandemic huhu

$ 0.02
2 years ago

tambayan? isawan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both pooooo 😭 library na tambayan huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tutulog ka din dun? haha i remember college days meron kaming area where i can borrow vhs ...shocks vhs pa yun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. Yung dapat magrereview, nakakatulog naman 🀣 ay sana all po may nahihiraman. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols. yeah "review" hahhaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm working in the office and this is the first job that I have but we don't have rec room. We work from 9 am to 10 pm and we have a three- hour break of which depends on us on how we are going to spend. I never really had chance of talking with workmates because by the time I'm having a break, they are working.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

di kayo sabay ng break? Yung three hour break niyo pwede hati hatiin?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di sabay mag break. Pwede naman hatiin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I'm lazy, I do miss some form of exercise. Like going out eating street foods. Hope to be able to do that soon. Btw, how did you break the rec room table? Must have been very stressed to do that. LOL.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah wear and tear and by wear and tear it was really worn and torn by the pull and the force of the swings . Street food I also miss that.. walking.. not so much but to get to the street food.. you gotta walk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't mind doing a little walking to get delicious food. After the food, then I mind walking. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that situation where you wish the snap of a finger brings you to the place you need to be next.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That'd be nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to work in BPO industry, mga 13 years 😁 (kasama ko jan si articlee and jaytee). We had a nap room. That was my fave. I don't smoke naman kasi. And after work, nagkakape kami sa session road. Ganern.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aaah session road. kamiss malamang no ate? oi tagal mo din ah! loyalty award high-five! Lols yang nap room alam ko sa bpo resource din yun eh.. nakikigamit ako pag nag alanganin ako ng antihistamine.. lols kelangan ko itulog kung hindi babagsak ako sa keyboard ko

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe ang saya nga eh nakakamiss din maging irate customer service. baliktad no? hehe. Uu unahan kami nun sa nap room. Power nap na 5 mins ganun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhahaha. grabe din kalibre niyo sa pakikipagusap sa customers.. la ako pasensya dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

laftrip pag nagkkwento yung friend ko na nasa credit collections nun eh. hahaha .gamit na gamit daw ang mute hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also working in BPO, and yes nakakamiss din talaga bumalik sa site office. But now I'm comfortable sa WFH set up. Just calls, coffee and chill 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oo buti na lang for the sake of safety!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan ang wala aq as in bahay lang loob lng ng hauz kaya nahapi nman aq at napasama aq sa platform na to.. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe pang break din po talaga nga si read and noise :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mars, ehem haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…Kaya nman mars, pasyal na uli hehehe.. Kainis kc tong c delta.... Sabayan pa ng weder.. Kape mars β˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sali po ko hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lika na dali dala ka ng itutulak at aq n bhala sa panulakπŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. I can relate to this one. Though wfh has lots of positive effect on us, there are other things still that we miss working onsite. One is the bond you have with workmates during coffee breaks. Ugh, how i love that. And the rec room as well where we can spend our time there watching Netflix series

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang saya nun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago