Fun with Yesterday

32 54
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Journal, Music, Movie, Fun, ...

I am not talking about yesterday yesterday as in like the day before now. I am talking about "Yesterday" that movie I am (or was) watching in Netflix.

What got my interest in the movie is that the main character is holding a guitar. So it gave me a feel that it is a musical and right I was. I do not even know who the actors and actresses are.

To most who do not know, I have a knack for watching any movie (as I do have a knack for listening to just any song) and that was how I got myself stuck in a movie house watching a horror film that shook my brain and got me jelly-feet.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Do pay them a visit :) They are fabolou-awesome souls

Giving a bit of a warning, "Spoiler ahead". It got a pretty low rating in rotten tomatoes (not sure if people still checks rotten tomatoes votes.. I sure do not as you know, again, I do not read reviews or synopsis before I watch a movie hehe) so I doubt you would want to watch it. But just maybe you will, I apologize still. Oh, have I mentioned that Ed Sheeran was there? Ah yes he was. Moving along....

So the story goes like this:

  • Main character is Jack Malik.

  • Malik is a small-town struggling musician - sometimes busking at the pier and sometimes doing gigs in the local pub.

  • His main fans are his friends and family who are supportive but also quizzical about his talent except for one, Ellie, who believed in him since the time he played Oasis' song, Wonderwall.

  • He got booked in a festival but only had few audience in his tent where he performed and he decided that is the final straw and that he will no longer pursue being a musician

  • That night he decided to quit, though, there was a worldwide blackout. Yes, worldwide. And while he was driving down the road, and the world around him started to dim, he got hit by a bus in the intersection. And then the lights came on. There was power outage worldwide for twelve seconds.

  • Coming back from the hospital, Ellie gave him a new guitar because his guitar got crushed in his accident.

  • Friends asked him to sing and play a song with the new sleek guitar to which he obliged and played The Beatles' Yesterday. To which his friends reacted as though they only heard it for the first time.

  • Turns out, the 12-second worldwide blackout erased The Beatles' in the entire history.

  • Not only were The Beatles (and all their albums) erased but also, Coke - they used Pepsi in the film, cigarettes, and Oasis.

  • He later on found out that he can take it to his advantage. He decided to go back to performing and use the songs of The Beatles as his own. Even Ed Sheeran cant seem to remember that Jack Malik was singing songs from The Beatles.

  • There is a love story side to it like taking someone for granted and stuff. "Putting in the proper column" how they put it. But i find that part rather typical.

As of writing, I have not finished the film I am just halfway through. So that is a halfway spoiler, it seems. But that got me thinking. Of course, in line with the film, minus The Beatles, I am thinking of which band/artist would I want to impersonate or claim as me and my doing because the world had selective amnesia and the world collectively decided it would be that one particular band.

I had The Carpenters in my mind and maybe even ABBA.

So, suppose a 12-second worldwide blackout should happen and the same with the movie, it erases three (3) things in the past, what part of the history you think should be written off?

It does not have to be related to music. It can be anything. Not about you or your past, though. Pick something worldwide.

Let me know in the comment section.

Now that that question is out, let me finish the movie. I am still wondering where the plot twist is in this plot twist.

Cheerio!


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

17
$ 8.77
$ 8.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
+ 13
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Journal, Music, Movie, Fun, ...

Comments

Whaoo.. Felt like I was watching the movie with your explanation.. Now I have no choice but to watch it, also about the historical occurance I would want gone, I would say, the starting of the war between Indian and Palestine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent movie, well he didn't know the lyrics well either, so he altered some of the songs, but he wasn't the only person who changed there were other characters that followed him and Jhon Lennon was alive. Full spoiler, hahaha, then they thanked him for saving the Beatles songs. A world without them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lols yes yes,,, that was a full swift spoiler right there hahaha. you have watched it!!! amazeballs. I thought the stalkers will create chaos for him.. or they will start singing along with him to spoil his stunt... hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also thought that would happen but he had a prick of conscience and confessed everything, hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, let the past be as it is since it's already the past. Let's just keep moving forward with our lives and strive harder for the things that we want.

As for the movie, it's kinda interesting. I wonder what happens to him in the end. Will the memories of the past comes back to the present?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hi Ayane! yeah things htat happened in the past were meant to happen no? NOT EXACTLY a yummy pill to swallow but it is so.

as for the movie... no. he just revealed that he's a sham .. none of the erased things resurfaced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A good lesson for him, then. Hehe, what he did isn't good after all, even though those songs and artists have been erased in the memory of the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I instantly love that movie based from the spoilers you have provided😅

Three things I wish to be deleted:

  1. Pandemic. So that all of us can move closer to our dreams and be connected with family members. Got a chance to hug and kiss every family member without the fear of spreading virus.
  2. Martial Law- Election is coming and I am sick of all the trolls and fake news attached with it. I cannot even distinguised which is true or not.
  3. Drugs. I just hope that the place where drugs originated would be vanish so the world could be a better place.
$ 0.01
2 years ago

hola Mura!! ay yung #2 I remembered I downloaded a pdf about it.. basahin ko nga.. pero i wish meron ding other writeups about the otehr leaders para fair diba? I'm pretty sure everyone has skeletons in their closets... depending na lang talaga sa which one is favorable sa iba kaya mas bumabaho yugn iba... ahihi.. sana maalala ko na may dinnownload ako ahahhhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have to check this one out, Pich. Diko pa nasisilip to hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahhaha no rush ate :) I hope you are fine .. though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala may spoiler!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahah asorry sis jean.. will try not to do too much na spoiler nextt ime. hahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhee it's okay sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I´m gonna check it put that movie tonight, then I´ll tell you my thoughts

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahhaha go Simon. For me, the whole movie is a so so.. i guess. entertaining yes. I'm excited to know your thoughts, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakikita ko yan sa Netflix pero parang di ko bet haha! Macheck nga pag may time ulit manood. Minsan kasi may makikita ako interesting kaya nawala na un gusto ko panoorin hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lols go go go.. sana di ko na oversell lols. Minsan ganyn din ako .. nwawala yung gusto panoorin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A halfway spoiler 😁 you are too funny wee pp. Must admit I had never heard of this and how did you know about the rotten tomatoes review of you don't read reviews 🤔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i just checked that time hahahaha.. i figured I have to know if it faired well at least .. lols. saw the rating, didn't faze me anyway.. didn't read the reviews there, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The corona virus part should be erased if I'm to pick any.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'd agree with you there. I again remembered how 2020 seemed to start odd. it was the year of "did someone play jumanji"? covid should not have happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting, Pichi. Both the question and the movie. I have seen a short clip of this and I don't know that there's a movie. Ahm, checking it out after watching this kdrama that is also about the past, present and the future.., 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wahaha sana lang di ko na oversell lols. anong kdrama yan doc? penge title.. try ko din .. lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven’t seen yet. But seems like it would be interesting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it depends I guess ahahah. I would have ignored it on ordinary days But i did want to just see the story so.. go see?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me interested! I'll go and see!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahhaah thank you Belozoriana!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago
  1. covid19
  2. drugs
  3. yolanda typhoon those three that causes so many deaths
$ 0.02
2 years ago

gotchaa! oo #2 and #3 .. also grabe sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Holocaust, COVID-19, drug addiction. Too many deaths have resulted from of all of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hi zola .. true we can do away with those thigns.. hayst.. drugs lalo

$ 0.00
2 years ago