Blades 10 (NaNoWriMo)

13 52
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

NaNoWriMo Novel Teaser: Blades

Blades 2 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 3 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 4 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 5 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 6 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 7 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 8 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 9 (NaNoWriMo)

[WP]There were eight swords, and each sword could control an element: earth, water, air, fire, light, darkness, life, and death. You somehow managed to find the Life and Death sword.

******

I awoke with a start.

Sitting on the bed immediately, I was jolted from the strange dream, the dream where something took control of my body and I almost killed Frost and some other guy. It was the most terrifying…

"You're awake."

I looked in the direction of the voice, and there he was. The guy that had the Wind sword. His arms were folded, but the sword handled protruded from the jacket and I could get a peek at it.

Damnit.

It wasn't a dream.

"Where's..."

"I'm here," Frost said, entering the room. "You feel alright?"

"Yeah... and I'm pretty sure I should be asking you that question instead."

"Pretty sure?" the new guy butt in. "You sound so smug for someone who nearly got us all killed," he sneered.

"Sorry about that," I said, ignoring his rude overtones, "I just got my swords three days ago, so I'm quite new at this."

"That's not an excuse for the sh!t you just pulled off there. I don't know much about these swords or whatever, but I'm sure the person who holds the Death sword should at least have a better mental and physical capacity to handle it,"

"So what the hell are you trying to say?" I said, fuming.

"Simple," he said, staring me dead in the eyes. "You're not worthy... sorry, capable of handling that sword. Clearly, there was a mistake..."

"The only mistake here was me trying to save your smug ass. You could have been killed there, just because you didn't know the limits to what your sword couldn't do. You're no better than me, so keep that in mind next time you want to say stupid things," I spat.

"For someone who loses his cool easily, you're even more unqualified to handle that."

"Well, you're not God, and it's certainly not up to you to decide who gets what. So stick with your little fan blade and stay out of my business, cause next time, I'd watch you die instead of help you."

The silence in the room was deafening.

"Well, I..." he started.

"If you have something to say, say it with your sword," I said, grabbing the two swords on the bedstand. He reached for his sword immediately as I stood up.

"ENOUGH!" Frost shouted, and we both calmed. "I've had enough of this foolish bickering. None of you are right. New guy, you were damn lucky Vince was out there. even though I don't know why the heck he was there. Before you get a;l high and mighty and judge people, remember he saved your ass - twice. Vince, he;'s right, you're not yet quite ready to handle that sword. Both of you keep that in mind as we all try to understand how our swords work..."

"Life and Death, huh? That's what a loser like you gets? Give me a damn break," he said, leaving the room.

I was fuming before she stepped in, "Why did you leave the house? Why did you..."

"I needed a break from all this, goddamnit. Just like I do now, so please don't give me any more crappy advice and cut me some slack here, okay? Unlike both of you, I don't have any skill with swordsmanship, and I've not been a fighting man from Day 1. I just tried to live my life off the radar all the time, and from the look of all this, I can't even succeed at that. So I'd be very happy if you just left me alone, Elsa!"

Her eyes widened, then she gave a half-smile and turned.

"I understand."

I didn't call her Frost. It was Elsa.

Goddamnit, this is why I didn't associate with people. Too many emotions at play and I was always going to have to walk on eggshells to pick words to use. That's why I just stayed on my own in the wild.

******

In his two months of holding the sword, Kendrick had been attacked three times. All at different locations, but the men wore the same clothes and had the same goal.

The sword.

This time they were six, and he was tired of running around. 121 Almond Street was where the letter said he had to go, and then he had to ferry them all to the new hideout, one that would be more secretive.

He couldn't waste any more time here.

"I thought I spared one man from the last unit to tell you all to leave me. Is Maverick that big of a dunce, or does he have a lot of expendable human resources?"

"You're quite cocky, but this is the end of the road for you. Hand over that sword and maybe..."

"I don't negotiate with vermin like you," he said, drawing the sword and raising it. "Behold, the glory of the heavens!"

As he slightly turned the blade, the diamond-bladed sword captured the light of the sun, reflecting it in a brilliant shower of light that seemed to block out every other detail in the area, including the sword and the owner.

All the men could see was the light, the dazzling, blinding light.

"The light shineth, and darkness comprehendeth it not." the boy said, and for a split second, the light moved, and all went blank for the six men who stood with their guns ready to shoot. There were six bodies on the ground, all bleeding from the neck.

"The sword of Light grants me the speed of light. Ordinary henchmen like you could never grasp that. And now, you have been banished to eternal darkness."

Swinging his sword, he cleaned it on the hem of one of the dead operatives' clothing before sheathing the sword. It was time to head to 121 Almond Street.

******

"Sit down. It's not every time I get to welcome such a... prestigious guest into my office," Maverick said, eyeing Yami as he stood in the office, looking at him dead on.

He was shocked when he learned that the man actually wanted to see him in person. He had no idea of what the young man had in mind, but judging from the fact that he was holding his black sword in his hand despite the sheath hanging on his back, it was obvious the boy wasn't there for a picnic.

"I've not come here for a meeting. This is a confrontation. You sent those men to get my sword because you knew of their existence, so I'm going to assume you have one yourself. Draw it now, and let's see who gets to keep what here."

He scoffed. Even though his voice was cool, the boy was obviously an arrogant loudmouth who clearly didn't know what he had gotten himself into.

"It's been long since I've had to get my hands dirty... the last time I did was when I painted this room myself, and that was three years ago," he said, as he stood up and unsheathed his sword. The blade blazed immediately and the boy shifted back a little.

He could feel the heat.

"I must admit this place does need a little repainting...." he said, smirking as he looked at the boy. "...Shall I paint it Blood Red?"

******

@Leo_kitti, @Hanzell, @Gwenie it's showdown season 😎

8
$ 0.41
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Paint it πŸ˜‚

I already havey the new guy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will when I have the time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting for next part

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Orayt. 😎😎 Gonna wait for next part Ozzy. And let's see whose blood will be used to repaint that room 😎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Showdown.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yami is a dumduummm!!! Why did he go fight the man aloneeee and why u gotta break elsa's heart like that, man? 😭 just whhyyy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yami is a cocky b!tch tho. And I guess too many emotions are at stake in that house πŸ”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah he is- but wait, yami is a girl??? You're making that ninja work overtime, i tell you :< you need to give him a breaakkk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yami is a guy πŸ˜‚ And it's the ninja that's putting in effort.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ninja needs to learn to take a break. He might reach even my last chapter of the short series i was working on ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooooh >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago