Blades 8 (NaNoWriMo)

9 30
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

NaNoWriMo Novel Teaser: Blades

Blades 2 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 3 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 4 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 5 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 6 (NaNoWriMo)

Blades 7 (NaNoWriMo)


[WP]There were eight swords, and each sword could control an element: earth, water, air, fire, light, darkness, life, and death. You somehow managed to find the Life and Death sword.

******

Frost awoke with a start.

Something just didn't feel right. Something about the atmosphere, the quietness in the apartment. Even if Vince was around; even if he was sleeping, things would have been so... quiet?

No, that wasn't it. It was just instinct; 'gut feeling' as some called it, but then, her instinct had never failed her.

After a brief search of the house, she confirmed he wasn't there.

"That bastard. Where the hell did he go?" she muttered under her breath, latching her sword on the inside of her snow jacket as she left the apartment.

******

I knew I was being watched.

Just because I was having a leisurely walk didn't mean that I wasn't alert. And unfortunately for these guys., they were sloppy. Even though they had changed cars, they just kept the same plate number. They had to be newbies at this; who makes such a silly mistake?

As I noticed some movement at the passenger seat, I gripped one of my swords. There was no way I'd leave them back at the apartment knowing these guys on the prowl.

But when the guy raised the gun and positioned to take a shot, he wasn't aiming at me.

"Get down!" I shouted, and everyone on the street dived for cover. I knew who their target was already... but why?

He was already standing, and then he drew something out of his jacket. Something long and shiny.

"Eat wind!" He said, slashing through the air with the sword.

For a moment, I expected to see what I'd seen on YouTube replicated. But that did not happen, because nothing happened. Surprised, he slashed again.

Nothing.

I dived at him and slammed him to the ground before the men started shooting indiscriminately.

"We need to get the f*ck outta here, NOW!" I growled as we both made a run for it, running into an alley and leaping over a few fences before we were met with the wire fence of a scrapyard. It looked like where mechanics kept their spare parts, so we scaled that fence and were about to break into a run when the car suddenly came to a stop a few meters from us.

"You were stupid to think that you could really outrun a car, you fools," a man said, coming down. He held an SMG in his hand, and he looked every bit willing to fire.

"Bring the sword in your hands... both of you!" he said, beckoning. The Life Sword was in my hand, the Death sword was still safely tucked away in my jacket.

"I'm not..."

His next words would b=nver be heard because a blue whip curled around his neck and ripped his head off neatly, the blood spraying from his exposed neck like a sprinkler system.

"Why did you leave?" Frost said, stepping into the scene. She was angry, but her features were expressionless, her cold eyes boring into my soul before she looked at the men.

"A walk."

She didn't spare me a glance, but the silence spoke volumes.

"You fool... this was not a good night to..."

The men were poised to attack, and she morphed her sword again ready to whip someone's head off. Byt the whip went halfway losing its form and turning into water, falling on the ground before precipitating back to form her sword.

"Sh!t!"

"The hell was that?" the guy said.

"Ah, I see," the man smiled, "this is the city; hot nights with the air stagnant and polluted by smoke. Your water element can't shapeshift, and his wind is basically useless. You're both at the mercy of us..."

Frost was whom I was looking up to. Without her...

Hand over the three swords calmly, and we will go get the fourth at your hideout. Do this, and you'll live. Throw the swords... now!"

I closed my eyes, heard the clangs as their two swords hit the ground.

"Vince..." Frost said. "...we'll get them. Give it to them. For now."

"Man, give them the damn swords!" the guy said, nudging me.

"Are you nuts? Do you think I'm bluffing here?" the man said, cocking the gun.

"Give him!"

"Bruh give him!"

"Throw it..."

The voices screamed. A part of me wanted to give it up. To just let go; the swords, and this life as a guardian. But the other part, the more dominant voice here, was tired of losing.

Tired of being an underachiever. Tired of giving up.

******

Frost could not understand why he was still holding on to his sword. Was he suicidal? Had he gone nuts?

She tried pulling it from his hands, but he held a firm grip.

The man with the gun was furious.

"Alright boy, I'll give you till the count of three to cooperate so we can all leave our..."

Vince finally spoke up.

"Bold of you to assume..."

Suddenly, his voice changed. It became more hoarse and deep and was accompanied by the howls of a thousand people.

"...that you'll be leaving this place alive."

Oh no! It can't be!

AS she turned to him and saw the black flames, the souls that resembled smoke, and the big skull that had arisen behind him, her worst fear was confirmed.

Absolute Possession!

I was too lazy to even render a decent sketch, but I felt that this chapter had to be illustrated.

******

@Leo_kitti, @Hanzell Oh Hollywood, Netflix, where art thou????

Blades 9 (NaNoWriMo)

6
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I thought this series is done!!! 😭😭 What happens next??? 😂😂

PS. That illustration is good huh 👍👍👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot! The series might stretch till the end of this month

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cute illustration >w< but even better continuation!!!! What happens next?!??! Come on, squeaakkk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Calma 😂 You'll read it when it's time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hai sir, imma sit and wait :"" i think I've gotten better at that 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You keep delaying the showdown but this is an epic one haha. Can't wait for the next

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just wait a little longer 🐣. Thanks 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂ok sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago