We've All Been There.

32 146
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Fear, Blogging, Motivation, Nigeria, ...

We have all been there where we are scared of things we are not familiar with. We have all been scared of uncharted territory for so long and we wrap our heads around how things would be or how things might turn out.

Image Source.

You are scared of trying new things and that's normal. You are scared of leaving the familiar behind to embrace the unfamiliar, that's the human thing to do. Don't beat yourself up for being scared of what you don't know yet. Going to a new place, you will have to start all over again to familiarize yourself with new places, and new people, build up new friends and it can even be a new job... You would have self-doubts as to if you can actually do it or worried about who might be picking on you over little things.

They said the only constant thing is change but I would also add, death and taxes. We can't help certain things and it's okay to be scared. To live in this life you have to have courage. Courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet the will goes on. It's just about doing things afraid. You are afraid but still, you keep pushing because you trust in your ability rather than allow self-doubt to set in.

It's okay to be scared of change. Most humans break down when change happens. I've had my fair share of that and I'm still worried about certain things too but it shouldn't stop me from living and that's the disposition I would love everyone to embrace as well. Who doesn't have fear of the unknown? Even the most courageous people got scared at some point but they didn't stop. Tyson must have gotten scared at some point, same with Mohammed Ali based on certain opponents they were to face but they didn't allow those fears to stop them from entering the ring. At that point, after doing your best you just have to trust your ability to be enough to get you through. Doubts would come but you have to look inwards.

"Oh, what if it doesn't work out?" To which I always answer "Oh, what if it does?" We never know until we try. Have you ever noticed that what you are afraid of is never as bad as what you initially imagined? Most of these things just play in our minds and we allow ourselves to dwell on them for too long to create that fear deep within us to hinder what we are expected to achieve. The fear you let build up in your mind is worse than the situation that actually exists and that's the bitter truth. I can imagine Mohammed Ali or Mike Tyson getting scared before getting into the ring but the moment they stepped into that ring and threw their first jab, that fear dissipate. That's the solution to fear; do it afraid by taking the first step.

The more you get stuck to your old beliefs of how things are which is creating fear in you, it would hinder you from trying out or enjoying new things. The thing is, you have to change what you believe so you can change what you do. You have a choice. Life is all about having choices. It can either be forced or voluntary but however it is, you still have a choice to make. You either believe that a change will harm you and you resist it or you can believe that finding new things would help you and you embrace that change. The good thing about change is that we would have been in a better position if we embrace the change sooner than expected because fear would always limit us.

I don't know what this means to you but whatever it is that you are scared of, I want you to have the courage to do it. Once you overcome that first hurdle, everything comes easy. You might not get it right on the first try and that's the power of fear and it's okay. Missing out on the first try and enough to knock most people back to the ground because they can easily say "I knew I couldn't do it" but it's not in the first attempt alone but having an indomitable will never to back out and soon that voice of fear would be so little that the hold of it would never hinder you anymore.

Don't be scared of taking that step. Don't be scared of taking that job. Don't be scared of doing those things that you have allowed fear to build in your head. It's all in your head and it has the power only for as long as you allow it. You can't stop a bird from flying over your head but you can stop that bird from having a nest there. You might not be able to control the fear from creeping in based on so many things we see all around us but you can make a conscious effort not to let your fears hinder you.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

22
$ 3.89
$ 3.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Fear, Blogging, Motivation, Nigeria, ...

Comments

Courage, I guess I don't have that much for now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The good thing is it can be built with several attempts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will try to get the courage. Thanks for the motivational words.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad and so good to have you here. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

fear of the unknown is something that has the potential to completely crush dreams and hopes if you let it, it is something i have been dealing with, it can get worse if you do not strive to control it as much as you can. Thank you posting this, sometimes your mind tricks you into believing you're the only one going through something, but one thing that i have picked from your post is that its okay to be afraid and still go ahead to chase those dreams, and it does not make you any less of a person

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Absolutely, it doesn't make you less of a person and it delights me to know you enjoyed this. It means a lot. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was scared before.. Scared to step out of my shell..but when I made it.. I become a risk taker 🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's it, Janey. It's all about taking the first step and everything would become easier.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Humans are born with the fear of the unknown and there's nobody on earth that's without that fear, so it's a perfectly normal thing for us to be scared of a change which we don't know how the outcome will be. Some people might appear as if they are not scared of anything and can easily accept change no matter what it looks like, but they are just being courageous and are better able to hide that fear than the rest of us

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not necessarily hiding the fear, but managing the fear. There is no one without fear but ability to deal with it and get the job done sets the tune.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you're right, some people know how to manage their fears better 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes... It takes extra effort to achieve anything of worth in this world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really a sweet sounding motivation friend. Some people would find it very hard to tried a new thing. I had a guy who was working in a hotel, and the management were owing him a huge amount of money. That's they refused to pay him his salary. And he was still working for them with bitterness in his heart. I told him that he should move on and look for another job since the present job isn't paying him. And said that he is afraid of another job. That the devil he knows is better than the angel he doesn't know yet. If I'm not making mistake of what he replied me. So many people refuse to try a new opportunity thinking that they will fail. But I like telling people that they are two words is either you fail or you succeed, your choice. Fear is the most dangerous thing that can hold people stagnant. It's only 10% of our fear that exist, the other 90% is overwhelm.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Another brilliant comment and that's true. Fear of the unknown has held so many people back. They are scared of trying new things because they are comfortable with the familiar territory. It's dangerous to be living that way.

Thank you for this wonderful contribution. I enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you too..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€πŸ€πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you feel like you're trapped in your own mind, you're probably feeling anxious about something. Whether it's a failure at school, work, project, or a family problem, or just a bad mood, we can't remain stuck. Others have been there. We need to take action. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

By changing our mindset, we can start to change the outcomes. After all, you we can't control the weather, but we can choose to dress warmly.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

This is so beautiful... Nothing ventured, nothing gained. If we don't try, we can never know. We need to change our mindset and that's the first approach. You ended it sweetly with the weather thing. I love this. Thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experienced that kind of mindset. being scared of trying some new things and I chose to back it up for I am afraid if it didn't have a good result,but this time I will try to cope new experiences to learn more and to have a strength to do things even though it's hard.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's always harder when we don't confront it when we should. Once the fear keeps building up it becomes harder and it takes extra effort to deal with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest, I am the person who has lot's of fear's inside my body. Since I was young, I am scared to get judge by other people, and that is why I have fear's of trying. I am scared to try because I am scared to fail and it was because I am scared to get judge. Everything fall's to my fear's of being judged, as my sensitivity is very weak. However I get tired about that fear's and so I take the risk. I have dreams and if I'm gonna keep staying inside my comfort,nothing will change. Indeed it was okay to feel scared, it was okay to have that fears but it is not okay to stay fearful and being scared as life is all about survival. If your intention was good, you'll gonna have the best outcome.

We all have been there. It's okay, if we sometimes fail, it was part of our growth. We won't always win, but we can always try.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I enjoyed this. This is perfect, my friend. We can't always win but we have to try. Fear of being judged has caged a lot of people especially when they are the type that other people's opinion matters more to them. They won't take risk because they always want to play everything safe. You absolutely nailed it there my friend. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It felt like you were talking to me. I've been away from the platform for awhile now cos I've been trying to build capacity in other thing and my biggest fear was starting and still is. It's like I just want to be in a place where I've gained strength for so long forgetting that what I can do now was once foreign to me and I excelled because I was willing to try. I'm slowly overcoming it, and I've made a huge progress I'll tell you

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Where we are was once strange to us and that's the truth. It's about taking on challenges and knowing that things are not as worse as we first feared. I am glad you are making a huge progress already. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're definitely right...

I'm glad I'm making progress too😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well done my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

β€œWe never know until we try it” someone said there's no perfect way of doing it, the only failure a man will get is not trying to do the things at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You couldn't have said it any better. Spot on. The only failure is not trying at all. There is no perfect way of doing things. There are in fact many ways of doing things but we have to try.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I let those words play tricks on my mind, what if you are not good enough, what if it doesn't turn out well.. You know what I do tell myself? What if you just shut the f*ck up and allow me try it.. Most times when I dare myself and try those things out, they turn out right..

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love that. Yes, sometimes we just have to dare ourselves and damn the consequences. There is no failure when we at least try because that's another knowledge gained. I love how you speak to yourself...silencing that fear...to run away with bra straps falling off...scaring your fear πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£.πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have always been of the belief that our worst enemy is the mind itself. If we manage to overcome the obstacles that we set ourselves every day, we will have a better path ahead.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's right...our mind has this limiting tendencies when we allow it play on us. We have to learn how to manage the obstacles because there is no doubt, we would have them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago