Tough Question - Reality of Life.

72 102
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Reality, Personal, Blogging, Writing, ...

Today's Topic:

Would you rather: Would you rather work in a job you totally hate but pays you well or work in a job you love and find inspiring but the pay was low and you had to strictly budget your financial matters. Explain your answers.

Image Source.

This is the question asked by Galenkp on Hive with my honest take on it as well.

This is just me being honest. I want to be honest and this is me being real while laying everything bare in addition to explaining the situation of Nigeria alongside it. If I want to give the answer that everyone would love to hear I would say let me just work on the job that I love even though the pay is little and I can find a way around working on cutting my budget so I can focus on doing what I love but I would be lying.

We live in a system that doesn't work here in Nigeria and with the mounting inflation that isn't going away, we are here on survival instinct and it's not noble or loyal to do what you love if it doesn't pay you that much. I can only do what I love if the pay is little when I can do so much to make up for the little pay. I mean if for instance, I'm doing blogging full time, then I can make sure I find myself in 6-7 different blog sites so the little I earn can form a whole for me. If it's that then I would say I don't mind doing the things I love because the stress would be worth it since I love doing what I do.

On the reverse side of things, with the family you have to cater for and the mounting responsibilities that lie ahead of me with taking care of myself, I would do what I don't love if it pays so well. I won't lie that money is a huge motivation sometimes and you just have to find the good about what you do and try to like something about what you do since you are getting paid for it.

I've had to take a job I know nothing about and I didn't like. I was a loan recovery officer and I hated that job. Some customers would talk to you anyhow as if you are the one owing them. They signed a contract with certain interest rates being added and when it's time to pay they start questioning the interest rate. It's annoying but you dare not abuse or talk to them anyhow. You just have to take it in. I had to see that job as a way of learning patience that's why I said that you just have to find something to love about the job you don't like as long as the money is very good for you, considering the alternatives.

The daily going out to meet with customers, stubborn customers, moving around in the car to locate houses you might never find or customers that moved out already which would affect your monthly target when debts are not recovered isn't something I like at all. I don't like being given targets. I know it's good for the pressure but I didn't like it but I had to do the job because it was paying me what I needed for my home easily.

In a working system, I can do what I love with little pay but not in Nigeria. So many things will frustrate you in doing what you love so what's the point? It's about how much you can earn to take care of your home because everything is demanding things from you in this country. The bills range from crazy electricity bills, foodstuffs prices that skyrocketed, school fees that you cannot negotiate, clothes you have to buy and other things that are necessities that you can't shove aside. Where is the time to do the things you love if you are not focused on the money? A lot of people would even abuse you when they think you are not focused on the money to take care of your home.

This is me being honest and as long as I am in Nigeria, I want to do a job I don't like as long as it doesn't involve killing or ruining other people's lives. As long as it's just about my kind of person not liking that job, I would take it if it pays my bills more than the job I love. If it's in a working system, I don't mind earning little and sticking with the job I love.

Most people on average in Nigeria do the job they wouldn't normally do just because they want to make ends meet. They have a family to feed, they have responsibilities piling up and it's hard for most people to do what they really enjoy or want to do. Some are fortunate enough to make a fortune from the things they enjoy doing, don't get me wrong, I am only saying that most people do what they don't enjoy doing all because they want to earn enough money to later start what they enjoy doing if it's not too late.

So, yes, I would take the job I don't like as long as I know it pays the bills and I have a focus in mind regarding the duration of time I want to work there to pursue other dreams that I want but for now, most people would do the job that pays the bills even if they don't like it and I am not different. Most people who travel abroad don't enjoy the work they do there too but it pays the bill so they stuck with it.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

28
$ 2.36
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Reality, Personal, Blogging, Writing, ...

Comments

You are not alone, my friend. I'm just like you . I am in a struggle for survival. There is inflation. I am also unemployed

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The harsh reality of life. We have to keep on living and hoping.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely dude

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ‘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my case I would choose a good income though I don't really like the job.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are not alone hahaha. Same with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's as if your thought is in conjunction with mine, I do tell people that, it's the best to get paid for the work you like doing the most, for instance; in a family you have just a child, but the child loves to wash clothes, then fortunately, the child got a work in a place where laundry is done. And he/she will be paid some amount of money at the end of the month.

What I'm driving out is that, no matter how little or small the salary might be, the girl will still be happy with it, because she will be comfortable and convenient in doing it, especially if washing clothes is her normal routine daily

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's another angle to look at doing what you love to do even if the pay is low.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would go for a job that pay high because the economy now, even if your working, you can still be seen as a poor person

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely, the economy is so messed up and we just have to do what's best to stay subsistent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have answered your question on noisecash but I sure would like to answer here again.

I would go for a job that I love even the pay is low, as long as my whole being is happy and peaceful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I respect that decision though. It's not what I would do but I respect that because you have your reasons too. I like and respect that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In a country where the chances of survival is very high, I can choose to work in a place I love because I know it won't affect my finance but we are talking about Nigeria abegπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ exactly. We are talking about Nigeria... survival of the fittest...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes you have to be in an uncomfortable situation to be comfortable in doing things.... just read again if you don't understand!

The sacrifice you are paying for is your family and yourself! If it's me I would do the same thing because you have to sit up for yourself when no one does that for you.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love that opening statement you made. Exactly, we have to be in uncomfortable situation for the greater good. Good one as always, Cesca.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sire!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀝🀝😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will do what I love. Even though I'm not getting enough from it, I'll still do it. For example, I've been on a movie set for days, and I was able to earn a role. I'm not expecting the payment because it is what I love. And if they pay me, good for me. I know that a day will come and I'll begin to earn from acting and the payment will increase gradually.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I like that... 1. I am not sure you have a child or husband yet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ so if I was single too, trust me I would pick that choice. 2. There is a good chance that you can still earn good on it, going forward based on roles and recognition as you grow...the best time for you is now and you made a good choice.

I must watch that movie when it's out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I quit a permanent government job long ago to avoid compromise of ethics and integrity. So, for me, there is no question of accepting a job that doesn't fit my liking, whatever pay it offers.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a bold move and I must say that I respect that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we do something of our choice, we get a full satisfaction of job. But at times, this alone doesn't matter. We are forced to do jobs of disinterest to maintain financial stability in our family.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly...we have to do them sometimes to make ends meet. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most people will definitely pick a high paying job. But as you have alluded to, it depends on the kind of job too. . .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha yes, it depends on the kind of job, absolutely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm this is too hard to choose because if you choose the one I don't like I will feel bad every morning I wake up to prepare for work and if I choose the one I like with low income and sure am about to die in debt with the situation of things in Nigeria So yes I will take the one I don't like and save up so that I can leave the work some day

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's just the way to go. Select the one that pays higher then have a time frame in mind to sort out the one you love later.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na so o🀷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ke. You sabi jare. Omo daadaa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes ,we do such things even it is against our will because we have no choice but to work on a job that we dont like to earn enough money for living and have a family to feed but also it really good and have peace if you love what you are doing and enjoy it.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, it's good to have peace of mind regarding what you do but with the way the world is going, I think most people would prefer a high paying job and then find a way to love that job hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will choose the job I hate, make all the money I will need. Then switch over to doing the kind of job that will give me happiness and peace of mind.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the plan and that's a smart thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will accept to do a job I don't like but pays well for just one reason, to get more funds. Then after some time I quit. I wouldn't stay long there because money won't get me the satisfaction and happiness I need in life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a smart approach and should be the end goal. Save up and then pursue what you would love to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money is what matters my brother, I can always return to do what I love when I have made a lot of money already.

The situation of the country doesn't support earning low because hunger will eventually teach me a lesson in the long run.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's right, my brother. We can do what we are passionate about later that's after we have saved enough for it and we know our family is comfortable. This country enh... Let me just keep quiet πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ka fi si enu ka dake, the country has no support for surviving on things you love or have passion for.

As long as I am paying my bills with the job I don't love, I will eventually fall in love with it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

God bless you. There is no room for that in this country. Ordinary Agriculture grant, I am still waiting for the past 4 years.

As long as I am earning huge on it, I must love it oh hahahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sad reading this blog of yours. It's like you have no choice but to take a job you don't like because if you leave, the other jobs are paying less than your current one.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the sad reality and this is what most Nigerians face on a daily basis when it comes to sorting out their responsibilities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think when a person is not feeling comfortable while doing any work or job he should left it and do that work in which he has pleasure and has comfort

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha some things are off our hands where responsibility is concerned.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, this country called Nigeria will frustrate you to the point that you don't like anything anymore. You just have to do what pays your bills as long as it's legal. There is no time to be suffering under passion and love for something when inflation is skyrocketing and salaries are not moving in consonance.

It's all about the bag now cos no body go respect you for doing what you love, rather for getting the bag and providing for family

$ 0.04
1 year ago

You nailed it, bro. The rate at which inflation is hitting so hard with mounting responsibilities, you just have to do what pays the bill the most as long as it's legal. If passion is a currency then most people would do it hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For real man, only if passion was a currency. Everytime I go to the market it's as if we import everything, cos I can't understand how prices of local goods are going so high. Imagine paying for garri with passion πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ paying for Garri with passion πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Everything is crazy. The grants they are supposed to give to farmers, tools and machinery with subsidisation of the products, they won't do it...they are busy embezzling money that's why these local products are getting expensive. The road network is bad, farmers pay extra...storage facility is non existent, farmers would factor all these costs in which increases the price of the products. If they are to pay ransom to terrorists now, they would easily cough the money out.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's very true. And another thing is that all these farmers are still using subsistent tools for their farming. They're using hoes and shovels which requires more manpower and more funds, instead of tractors which would save them time and money. So they end up spending a bulk of the little peanuts they receive as grants on manpower before they even start real production. And before you know it, the money don finish with nothing to show for it.

Untill we get serious with technology and promote mechanized farming, we still won't be able to produce enough for ourselves not to talk of exporting

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You have spoken the truth there. What pisses me off the most is that we don't have production for subsistence and the government is bent on exporting due to foreign exchange earning and reserves. It's crazy. We get things wrong in this country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's our country for you, everything is done in reverse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sadly so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha speaking of job I was thinking about it while on a ride going home. You know, I am already fed up as it was so stressful. Aside from that I am always playing the role of bad copπŸ˜‚. Still here I am continues my work at somehow it pays hmm okay.. Yet I had that timeline, until when.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha role of a bad cop hahaha. I understand. If it pays the bill, we have to stick to it for the time being.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep, as I am always the one reporting to HR or Legal group Re: non compliancesπŸ˜‚. There area already a lot of employee's who were terminated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ I can imagine the tight spot you must be in. You can't avoid not reporting because it would bounce back on your head.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahha exactly,, and it always stressed me how to recover company's moneyπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I don't want to be in your job right now except they would pay me Β£10,000 monthly πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ I would fire, report and rehire πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha been in that job since 2015. Not only one but lot of my co employee blocked me in social media after they have been reported. Which not my fault in the first placeπŸ˜‚. They doing against the company policy and expect not to reported..oh common.. I remember last week, I was.questioning one of the branch manager with regards to remittances(cash collections) that was late deposit.. Yesterday, the HR manager notify me that the manager files a resignation. Now they are teasing me that indeed I was the reasonπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ if the manager have nothing to hide I don't think he should resign. Maybe he has found another job and that only came as an excuse to leave. As long as you are doing your job and keeping them in check with warnings prior, you don't need to feel bad.

Hahaha they blocked you hahahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha right... I'm used to itπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too, I'd rather take a job even if it's hard to deal as long as it's legal, I understand your point as a provider of your family, you have to take risks and sacrifice for them.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly, you got it. It's all about sacrifices and doing what's best for the family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In Nigeria, you don't have a choice, you have to do what gives you the most money once you drink garri a few times in a dayπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Nigeria<<<<<

$ 0.03
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ Nigeria my country... I hail thee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would also choose "doing what I hate doing but the pay is attractive" because the economy of the country now does not even allow one to go for what they love.. majority of people these days aren't doing what they love.. everyone is just doing whatever they can just to raise income.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, my brother. Most people are doing whatever they can as long as the pay is helping them sort out their bills.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brother?? 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. Sorry... I don cast. Sorry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, it's fine,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago