Sorry Is Not A Verb.

46 81
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

How often do you hear or say "Sorry? Most people will tell you sorry but they do not mean it. How do you know they don’t mean it? Their actions would betray them - after they have said sorry. Some people will even act up because they felt aggrieved for saying sorry. They feel it is an injustice to them for having to say sorry. Maybe they are used to receiving it than saying it and their ego is always at stake.

When you tell people sorry, you should mean it. You are not expected to say it just to placate the situation but because you know you have done wrong and you want to do things better. It’s annoying to have people tell you sorry, and then you think they mean it and afterwards, they start giving attitude. I intentionally shun people like that out of my space because I believe they are proud, and pompous and would never be able to handle being wrong.

It is okay to be wrong...that's life. Your friend or your partner should not expect someone perfect but someone considerate. You are not expected to start acting up after your flaws were pointed out to you and you have said sorry. If you won’t say sorry, then don’t say it but saying it when you don’t mean it is an insult to the person’s intelligence. Without genuine sorry, then your sorry will always come out wrong.

There are some scenarios where you have to tell your friends or partner sorry repeatedly depending on the gravity of the offence. That extra mile means a lot to let the person you have offended know you are truly sorry and you want to make it right. Oftentimes, people that fail to tell others sorry, say it genuinely, or say it repeatedly are the ones that would always want to hear sorry and yet they can’t give it.

Many people need to learn how to say sorry. When you know you have hurt someone whether seriously or just mildly, you need to learn how to pacify the anger and sometimes it takes a while. Let that be your ‘making it up’ for what you have done; see it as one, so it can linger in your memory and not to allow such happen again.

Not everyone can stick around to have you rub their heads or their back or kiss their lips. Find what works for your partner or your friend. How do you like being told sorry? I would love to know... Often we try to sweep things under the carpet. We feel we can use our ego; as a guy or use our touch - for females to cover up our wrongs.

Most of the time when we hurt others, all we focus on at that time is ourselves. That's the wrong way to apologize. When you wrong someone, they should be the center of the apology and not some weak excuses to make yourself feel good a little. We often take people for granted and that influences why we hurt them and think we don’t have to say sorry, or better still, we say sorry without really meaning it, and that is unacceptable.

Most of the time we work against ourselves and if you want people to stick with you longer, then you must be ready to drop all the emotional blackmail of showing you are a lady and all the ego; to prove you are a guy. When you don’t drop your ego or let go of your emotional blackmail, you are surrounding yourself with people who can’t trust you and you can’t have sincere people around you if they can’t trust you.

Sometimes we are scared of saying sorry because we don’t want to lose that ‘control’ but in the long run, we will end up losing it when those people eventually walk away. You need to ask yourself, what is important, the control or that relationship? When we are more considerate, it makes it easier for us to put others ahead of us and treat them with the same fairness we would want. Sorry is not a verb so don't expect it to act for you...make efforts.

How do you like being told sorry? With a bouquet of flowers? Hahahaha. Rubbing of the head? A peck or unexpected kiss? Or yours is a slap? Hahahaha. I would like to know.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

25
$ 4.65
$ 4.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Kneel, bow and kiss my feet you waste of space! LOL! Kidding :D

Asking for forgiveness is sincere if you don't do the wrong act again. Otherwise, you're just fooling yourself.

These days people don't have that sense of accountability that's why saying sorry is insincere.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha.

I absolutely agree. A lot of people are fooling themselves and we have repetitive actions yet they keep saying they are sincere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just copy this write up and send it to someone , she must take this dose today !

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha she must collect. Give her the dosage please...in full.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry can be accepted if it really meant as sorry and not for name sake. Because some people inorder to keep their reputation add a sorry to please others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right...it shouldn't be just for saying sake...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saying sorry takes a lot of courage and pride for me, it's a hard term for me, apologizing is one I'm not good at, I don't know why, but when I do apologize, I will make sure it's genuine and not just a simple words that rolls out through my tongue just for me to lessen the guilt, but no, sorry means a lot for me. People now adays doesn't value the word sorry but for me it's really a weigh and I'm not just apologize out of nowhere, people will always be people and saying sorry and forgiving is often doesnt value.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

That's so me... I don't just throw it around and I say it only when I mean it because I don't want to bastardize is so much that it won't hold the weight of my intention.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Genuity is the most important aspect when I'm being told sorry, you know when you can feel it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's so true...you can feel it. So many people would shed tears even and still, they are not being genuine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree. Would still look fake haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes people only said sorry just because they wanted to or they needed to but not actually because they mean it. Saying sorry without any sincerety is like a rubbish that must be dump into the bin. Oh sorrry, but nowadays, sorry is just a word. A joke for most people.

Anyway if someone hurt me, physically and emotionally, I hate hearing sorry😂😂 Why sorry if you're done hurting me. That sorry won't change anything. Hahahha I'm bad.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Sorry has been reduced to a mere word and I agree with you. Some people intentionally hurt the other person because they know they will just say sorry and it should be done with.

🤣🤣😂😂🤣 You are not bad at all. I hate hearing it after the magnitude of what has been done against me too 🤣😂😂 but I watch out if they were sincere or they just want to play smart with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can’t believe this came out of someone for whom ‘sorry’ is like middle name 😉 You’re absolutely right though. A changed behaviour is much better than hearing ‘sorry’ 💙

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣 I was expecting this. You said I say sorry too much hahahaha. A changed behaviour is way better... Thanks Mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You simply walked into this one Ola 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣😂😂 and you served me cold, Mo...so cold 😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One day I’ll serve you so warm you won’t know what to do with yourself 😈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now...this is just what I want to hear...it's always warm in there 😍😍🥰. serve me please...I want to make you scream.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe, sorry is the one word that is said the maximum number of times in the world!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha I agree... So much used that it has lost the genuineness of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people say sorry and commit the same mistake the minute they are forgiven. I would like a simple sorry but a sincere and heartfelt ones. Gifts and other gesture doesn't matter if the sorry lacks sincerity.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love this...gifts and gestures means nothing when sincerity is lacking. Some people take solace in the fact that they said sorry but forgot that they should add a heart to it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a word that seems so tough to say sincerely, but sometimes, it's the only word we need to reconcile .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's so true... Sorry with a deep sincerity to back it up can save a lot of trouble...but most people would rather hold their views alone than say it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is fine to say sorry for first time. But its use as a excuse after each mistake is not good for me. You are very right, I agreed to your words Ola.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't like those who form a habit with it as they use it excuse to keep doing wrong things. Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I dislike people who cannot say sorry. I'm that girl who can say sorry a million times even if I'm right but I just want to say sorry so there will be peace. My ex does not know how to apologize and I disliked him for that. Say sorry when you're wrong!!! You won't die!!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣 I love how you said this... It's true, say sorry, you won't die. It is natural to say sorry when someone is wrong. It's just common sense and basic decency.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do not hesitate to say sorry whenever I am at fault. I cannot lose my loved ones by just letting my ego and pride consume me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a smart way to go. Our ego should be kicked to the curb so we can uphold common sense and appreciate those who truly matter to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The late where you said people who are reluctant to say sorry are always the first to feel offended when someone else refuses to apologize to them go a wrong is so true.... That's human nature and karma is always nearby to make everybody alright las las

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Las las they will also chop their own breakfast hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we say sorry, we should mean it though. It's useless and worthless without sentimental and sincerity.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly... It's worthless without sincerity...we should mean it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How do I like being told sorry? 🤔 For my partner, I want him to take me for a treat, pamper me and most importantly, do those styles on bed for me 😂😂😂 I will gladly accept the sorry.

To say sorry, one has to be remorseful about it. Anything aside that, is nonsense. We have to act it out when we say sorry so we don't have to repeat such a thing again.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha bad shaid... Well, that's a good way to apologize though depending on the offence...and I hope you would do the same too when you are wrong? It's give and take o.

Apology without sincerity and remorse is pointless just as someone said, so I agree with you on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I will do the same oo. I can't carry over that course oo 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo daadaa... Your head is there...at least you are not doing Ijebu with apology 😂😂🏃🏃🏃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's pretty annoying when a get a sorry from someone and they don't mean it. I get even more angry at this than at the offence committed in the first place.

Apologies should be meant and not just said for saying sake, I just wish people would learn this and implement it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha that's so true...it's natural to get even more angry than their fainthearted apology. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago