Rant: Decisions.

43 86
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

Life is about growth and when some people have proved to be incapable of growing you just have to let them be. They will learn when they are ready because you cannot force growth on anyone. We used to say that you can force a horse to the river by the virtue of your direction but you can't force that horse to drink water when it doesn't want to. That applies to life in all ramifications.

People like doing things when they are ready which is why I've said many times that no one can change another human except that person is fully determined to change after careful examination and consideration. We can point people in the right direction but they would have to go through that route alone...that's the way of life.

A lot of people are not intentional about their growth and that's the sad part. A full-grown man or woman does not know what he or she wants to do with his or her life and had to be checked at every time. It's shameful because we sometimes confuse care and growth. There is a place where you have to care for people but there are times you have to take a step back to be sure they have been learning and can make choices for themselves.

More reasons why some parents force their ways on their children is because those children have shown that they cannot be trusted with an important decision. You went through the whole of the university and your parents have to decide for you what to study for your master's degree? Like, what do you want to do with your life? At this stage of your life, you don't even know what you want that would influence your course of study for a higher degree? What are you doing with your life?

Situations like this get me angry hahahaha pardon me and I am passionate about subjects like this when people just choose to waste precious opportunities like this. You are not even 19 or 20 yet they had to decide your life for you even to the things you do in your closet. That's not growth and that person is going to have it tough when his or her major decision-makers finally stop giving it for whatever reasons and whatever ways that life might come at them.

Image Source.

No one can trust you when you are always indecisive. Your friends won't even trust you to get things done without looking over their shoulders. We all have the capacity for growth but growth has to be intentional. No one can force growth on you except you are interested in growing. Even when life happens, most people would rather look for who to blame than allow the lessons to flow so that they can grow.

When people, especially parents notice how incapable a child is regarding making serious decisions, this is when they grow in influence and try to control every aspect of that child's life. They would determine the kind of job that child would take to the kind of place he or she would live and to make it worse, they would determine for that child the kind of partner to get married to. Can you blame them? Obviously, we can't, because they can't commit such an important decision into the hands of such a child because he or she has never proven himself or herself to them in any way that would make them trust that child.

Most people go through life seeking approval from others. They want to do things the way people like it forgetting that their own life and choices matter too. How can you live your life trying to please others? You are making the well being of others important where your life is concerned? A lot of people have become secondary characters in their life's story whereas they are supposed to be the lead actor in it.

You were not made to seek the approval of others. You can learn from others but whatever you have learnt from them has to be carefully examined before actions can be taken and no one can make and should make those choices for you. Most people would rather want others to make choices for them because when things go wrong, it would be easier to blame others than themselves. They failed to understand that whatever choices we make or we allow others to make for us, we are the ones to bear the consequences of it and not those who made those choices for us.

Be in charge of your life and make your decisions even when it's not a popular opinion to others. It doesn't have to be, anyway, because it's your life and not theirs. Be open to learning but after careful considerations, be the one to make your decisions not based on the pressure but because you feel good about it. We all need to show growth and maturity at some point so we can influence the world the way we should. If you can't even decide things on your own, how can others commit their lives or business or properties into your hands?

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

28
$ 8.78
$ 7.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 22
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

That's a lot of questions consolidated in one post haha.. I have been through all these phases and I know when I say never leave control over your life into other's hands.. dammit I realized late... ughh.. great post dear

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. Better late than never and glad you finally realized it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a deep understanding of decision making, often when a person's existence is challenged by something they perceive as inappropriate for time and circumstances. life is a decision and this is how people determine their future, failure is one of the problems due to wrong decisions. other people are eager to offer a way or solution but when someone accepts the concept inconsistently the blame goes back to the concept giver (your explanation is correct, it really happens) people live without difficulty and let go. return. Decisions determine where a person will go. cold.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is absolutely spot on. Indeed, we go as far as the decisions we have taken. Love this. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am only sharing the argument because I saw how interesting this article was and I found it useful for many people. You are my best friend for being able to see something beautiful to share. this is one diamond

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you shared it and thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm very grateful that my parents have seen my growth and me taking my responsiblities seriously for they allow me to decide on my own. Deciding on your own is scary but in the end it is fulfilling.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right...and you have chosen to be responsible about it. You can ask them for advice but the decision rests with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty because I was ones of those people who lives to seek for peoples approval. I don't want to feel left out or behind. I'm still not over this even right now because I'm still seeking for my parents, I can't decide what is good for myself because as for now I still have nothing to prove to them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I totally understand you and you will get there. Start with the simple decisions of the job you like, the house to stay and other little stuff...it would help you take more responsibilities for yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents really do a great job for making decisions of their child. Allowing them to go into school to learn things. We should learn how to make our decisions we don't defend to someone who can help us. We should stand on our own and be dependent. Thanks Olasquare for sharing this awesome content

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am always excited to read your comments. Thanks for always sharing your thoughts with us here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome, I'm making this conversation possible and giving thanks to you. I am very fortunate with you Olasquare...thanks alot to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I deeply appreciate that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should learn how to make decisions instead of waiting for someone to make it for you . You are not a child any longer and ao don't let making decisions left out of you.

This means, asking for people's opinions while you have tangible one to give is not the best option. Stay glued to you own kind of decisions.

Parents do not have total control over the way you make your decision and so, when you allow them into your daily dealings, shows you to be a child. They will assume you to be a child.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Another brilliant suggestion. I totally enjoyed this. That's right, they would always see that person as a child when he or she is incapable of doing the right things and making valuable decisions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our life, our decisions. We shouldn't let anyone affect whatever we want in life as long as it is good. We don't need to ask for permission and we shouldn't let them affect our decision.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely...we can seek for advice but not their permission. The decision rests with us and us alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm living with the expectations of the people around me, so much that I'm suffocating. Someone asked me who are those people I love, I answered. But while I was thinking about what to say next, he asked, "How long does it take for you to say your name?"

I'm stunned. That's when I realized, I'm putting too much effort to all the things I do just to please other people but not myself. I realized that I need to save myself first before saving others. I need to be whole to be able to help others who are incomplete.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right, you can't give out if you don't have enough of yourself. We need to focus on what we want and stop living and trying to keep up with the expectations of others. Yes, I love that quote you first mentioned and I've written something about it months back too when I was telling everyone to write a love letter to themselves. I guess I will bring it back again.

Thanks for this lovely input.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! Nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, education is expensive now, very expensive. A child who has no money has no choice, and parents have no money for a good education is a reality...unfortunately. That's why parents choose something "suitable and promising" for their children. And you shouldn't blame the parents for that.
Let it be so! But! A child can go to work on his own when he learns!!!! If he or she wants to, he or she can get the job he or she wants. Parents will help here as well. It is NEVER too late to study!!!! If you have the desire and belief in yourself - everything will work out😉👌

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I always love your perspective into things. Absolutely, parents can decide some aspect of our lives for us on certain circumstances but the growing up should be intentional and has to come from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growth is intentional, it can't be forced. No one can help you grow. Personal decision making is very important in growth.

Some parents go as far as forcing their children on which type of career to do in this only one life. It's so bad.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not just bad but terrible because it can alter the course of that child's life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were not made to seek the approval of others.

Thanks for reminding me this. No matter what I do, I always try to think of what otrrs would think. maybe I should not care much, now. As long as I chose what I feel is best and right.

I've always been so cautious of my decisions because my parents have big influence in my life, until now.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad this helps, my friend. Yes, do what you feel is right. It's okay to make mistakes and ask for help but let things be done on your own terms. It's about you and not others. It's not about what others say about you that matters but what you say to yourself when they are done talking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Como se le dice salir del cascaron, ese momento te llega cuando tienes que caminar por tus propios pies y dejar que otros lo hagan por ti o que una circunstancia de la vida te lleve a ello es ahí cuando empezaras a tener voz en tus decisiones y tus acciones aran que las personas que te rodean confíen en ti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A eso se le llama salir del cascaron , tomar tus propias decisiones y hablar por ti mismo te llevan hacer una persona confiable para ti y para los que te rodean ser mentalmente fuerte y capaz de tomar una decisión que un día vas a tener q ser capaz de dar un paso al frente y si no lo haces serás un persona con limitaciones tanto verbales como mentales

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said, the word growth is broad in meaning, it is too wide to define. Growth is a change of person not just physically but in all aspects of a person. We grow by ourselves, no one can force us to grow.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So true...it is not just physical but every aspect... Growth has to come naturally and can't be forced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said..we can't change people until they have come to the conclusion and see the reason why we need to change.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one will ever commit their affairs to someone that is indecisive. When you can't decide your life, how would you decide for others? We need to learn how to take charge of our lives and take actions when necessary. This is where growth and maturity comes in.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly, KP. Taking charge of our lives would make us know the kind of advice to take and which one to ignore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first part got me,lol you can't change someone until they fully determine to change,I can remember the kinda thug life i used to live....my family talked and talked I didn't listen until somethings came up,I changed by myself

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha absolutely... We can't change until we see reasons why we need to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its unfortunate that some people have a limited understanding of growth. I know a guy who only knows book and had a masters but his behaviors and outlook of life is generally childish

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Hahahaha it's not about being book smart alone but being life smart too. That's what he failed to understand. The world out there is harsh and it's something he would soon realize.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once heard something, that is, power is not given, it is taken. I feel like the parents have seen that the children have not shown some level of responsibility and maturity, that's why they keep forcing decisions on them like infants

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly... Power should be taken and we need to take control of our lives from those who want to control it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People should take charge of their life and make decisions that affect them directly, but that is not to say you shouldn't seek advice from other people. As they may have experienced such situations before or have an insight on the matter. But still, the final decision is up to you

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Exactly...we can seek opinions but we still have to make the decision. We should stop living our lives based on pleasing others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago