How Do You Live?

37 93
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Life, Nigeria, Blog, Giving, ...

This life is really not all about us but about the trail of kindness that we leave on our path. It's about the good things we can do for others and how we can inspire others to greatness.

Yesterday was the wake keep of my mother in law and she is to be buried proper today. It was all about the emotions yesterday as you could see different reactions on everyone's face as they stared at her and tried to remember the last memory they had of her. When the good things you've done outweighs your weaknesses it would naturally fizzle anything anyone wants to say on the contrary. I am not saying anyone had anything contrary to say yesterday, far from it, I am only saying that no matter how good you are, it is normal for some to still not be cool with you.

Humans are funny because when you do great things for them some might say you are trying to show off or you are trying to impress others. I am so happy with my mother in law because she is never the type to brag. She lived a life of simplicity and would spur others to greatness even when it would hurt her. It was this act of kindness that led to what happened to her because she was sick for a week and despite being sick and just recovering, she went on the long journey of being there for a friend who was celebrating her son's wedding and that's how she met her unfortunate end.

She lived her life for others when she was on the earth and even to the point of death, she still lived her life for others. She gave it all... She spent herself and held nothing back. My conversation with her on Friday and even late night on Saturday before her death on Sunday still rings in my head.

They said death doesn't surprise wise people because they are always ready to leave and she is never the type to celebrate her birthdays. She just wants something simple and that's it but earlier this year she said she would like to celebrate her birthday at least because that was when she clocked 60... Around March. I guess she was already getting herself warmed up for her grand departure.

It's always good to visit where burials are being done because it brings a lot into perspective - it helps us re-evaluate our lives and know what is truly important. It's good to leave an indelible mark on the sand of time because we are not expected to take life too seriously when we know we won't get out of it alive. All that you have, all that you worked for won't be of anything when others can't be a blessing to it even your immediate family.

I have heard and seen a lot of men who didn't even take good care of their immediate family and I wonder what's the whole essence of their wealth? To show others they have it? I don't really understand. Most people would rather just accumulate wealth without a thought of those who would lay claim to it when they are gone. The people you deprived of these things would still get their hands on it when you have no power to control it.

Life is not all about us and as much as we are striving to make it in life - to make wealth, acquire things and be a better version of ourselves than we were a year before, I think it's good to help others along the way.

How do you live your life? Are you one of those who live it without thoughts? Are you one of the few who like to oppress others because you feel "there is nothing he can do about it?" Death would humble every one of us whether we like it or not. No one is rich enough to buy eternity and not taste death. We will all go alike and it's not a bad thing to talk about death because it helps us put our thought where they should be.

Someone once said that he would rather live for a day and touch as many lives as possible than live for hundred years and not be remembered by anyone. Ever since I came across this quote (which I don't know till now who said it) I have always used it as my mantra. I have used it a few times in my early days here too because I try to hold myself to that standard. What people say about you of course won't have any impact on you when you were gone but it would have a lasting impact on them because that's you living on even in their hearts.

There is nothing we have that we were not given also at some point and there is no need to brag when we have also received help at one point too. It's only logical to be of help to others. I love this quote too and I always use it whenever I get the chance: "Stop being proud because you have bread to eat, remember, someone owns the bakery". Just when you think you are at the peak of your success, you'd be shocked to hear the things most have done to surpass what you think you have achieved. That doesn't mean we are to make light of our achievements, no, it is just a way to remind us that we still have a long way to go and another way of telling us to stay grounded.

How do you live? I also need to ask myself, how do I live? We need to live in such a way that our lives can inspire others to be better and that's better than leaving structured things for people. We can do both so let's strive for both. While we are trying to making meaning out of our lives, let's try to give meaning to the lives of others. That's the whole essence of living any way.

Thank you for your time.

21
$ 10.48
$ 9.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 13
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Life, Nigeria, Blog, Giving, ...

Comments

This is a good and great question we should all asked ourselves because some people are just living this life anyhow They brag about what they do for others forgetting that it sis someone that helped them too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very true, my dear. There is nothing we have that we haven't been given at some point too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Firstly, I wanna say again that in sorry for your loss. Death is something we can'ts Stop. Next I was so happy knowing your mother lived before with a normal life they're the one who actually have fun in life without any toxic people in their sourrounding. Lastly there's no need to show off your wealth, the biggest flex we can do is when we loved our family the most and taking care of them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true...she lived a wonderful life and what a privilege it is to call her mum.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This must be a very trying time for you and your wife. Losing one's mother is one of the most painful things in life and I just hope she can find solace in the fact that her mom is resting in a better place. Condolences to you and the entire family

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so for this, brother. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. The essence of life is to live to affect others positively. Though, such good people don't last as we all hope for, their legacies lives after them. Accept my hearty condolences and be a pillar of support for your darling wife in a time like this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true...the legacy lives on... Thank you so much, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And it's never how long but how well you live your life is the main thing. Your mother in law lives her life not just "exist". She left a legacy and is remembered for that.

My deepest and sincere condolences again my friend, to your wife and the whole family.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so true, momma... She lived and didn't just exist. She left lasting impacts on every life she came across. Thank you so much, momma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death is indeed inevitable. We have to live our lives like we might never see the next day. We never knew how we came to life and so can’t know when to leave. Take heart bro And I pray God continue to be with you and your families

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beautiful words, bro and true too. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ola for this great question that one must ponder upon... and prayers to your family...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleasure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My condolences. I can only wonder and imagine the emotions you've got going on right now. The now may be gloomy, but the future does promise to be bright.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. That's so true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My deepest and sincere condolences to you and to your wife in particular, may she receive grace to bear the loss. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much, Queen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live to provide for the needs of others.
I write to inspire my readers even though sometimes I can't inspire myself, lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are giving yourself and even when you don't feel like, you still inspire others. That's selfless, Janey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her life was a life well spent...rest on ma!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's touching, my mom would say the best event to attend in life is burial because it will remind you of the last day when we won't be able to lift our hands or reply to people.

I am sure she is a good woman, we all must always remember the last day. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true, bro. She was an amazing woman. I miss her already. Thank you so much, always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to live what the God want to me, because the life so short ,, it's better To do be good to others, because we don't know what's tomorrow's bring

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly... No one knows what tomorrow brings... Thanks a lot, Jay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live my life in accordance the will of God. Accepting all the trials that comes my way with a humble heart, and rejoice and thanking God when in the peak of success. Today's pandemic affected me greatly but I never waiver my faith in Him, with a humble heart and great faith I believe this will come to pass. God bless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true because this will pass. We just have to hold on strong and stay in faith.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Accept my sincere condolence. I'm short of words on reading this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My condolence. As like my father said "Live a good legacy that people could remember when they haeard your name". Touching and inspiring someone life is never be forgotten.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smart man, he is. Leaving a good legacy can never be forgotten in a heartbeat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Again my dear friend my condolences. Living our lives means touching the lives of others I always believe what goes around comes around. So always do good to others in such a way it will create a ripple of kindness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very well, my life. Doing good to inspire others is good and should be encouraged. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans due to inherent nature of survival tend to be very inconsiderate in their actions, whereas with a little kindness and consideration of one another, we will all not just survive but thrive

$ 0.00
2 years ago