Fear - It Holds Back.

53 113
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

We live in a world that is constantly putting fear in our hearts. We turn to every corner and you have every reason to be scared. Fear would stare at you in the face and sometimes backed up into a corner. We act strong but we can't deny the obvious.

We all have the things that get to us. We all have what triggers us as well as the things that give us panic. That's the human aspect to us... We feel and fear is a feeling too.

If you live in Nigeria, you get to experience both anger and fear. You get angry with the state of things and you are scared for your own life because you are just not sure what would trigger one happy cop or anyone else. The road is a constant threat to your life, enough for you to get scared of going anywhere. One of the major reasons I am appreciating my indoor kind of person is because I won't have to be out there all the time. It's a scary world to live in.

Do we have to stop living because we are scared? Does that mean everything must be on hold just because of the fear we feel? We can live with losing a good fight but we cannot live with not fighting that fight. It doesn't matter whether we win or lose, there are some things we just have to go through in life. Nothing good comes easy and that's why they coined the phrase: "Do it afraid."

Naturally, many things would like to get your attention just to frustrate you. Many people would want to instil fear in you by the kind of news they give to you. There is nothing you can do, we live in fear and uncertainty. I don't bother watching the news not because I don't want to know what's happening around me, somehow I still manage to know, but they tell you a good evening and then proceed to give you the news that suggested otherwise. I like protecting my mental space. I only have one life to live and don't want to constantly live it in fear even though we can't help it.

A lot of people try to deceive themselves and wouldn't even want to acknowledge that they are scared. The problem is not about the fear but what you do about the fear. Courage they say isn't the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet your will and desire go on. It means you still feel that fear but you allow your desire to be greater than the fear so you wouldn't have to be limited from your goals.

Image Source.

Fear is real and it exists and the first step to overcoming fear is to acknowledge it and then think of what to do about it. Fear can mess up your head and knock you off your stride. It's capable of infusing you with doubts - about yourself, your goals or plans and even hope to come. It has rendered the best of intelligent minds incapable. It won't only mess the present up but take away the joy of what's to come. The good thing is that fear is only as powerful as we allowed it.

I've been scared many times. I've had to run away from many things due to fear and the ones I didn't run away from, the moment I took the step, fear dissipated.

It's okay to be scared. I know we all get worried about what's to come and we are not sure about so many things. I know your country frustrates you even more and make the fear more real to you than ever but you've got this. This is not the end but the beginning of the new.

It's all in your head no matter how real you think it is. The moment you take that step and decide to do it afraid, that voice reduces and for every step you take the voice keeps reducing till you attain that success when it disappears only to appear in another form and the step you took to get to where you are, you just have to repeat it with every bold step you take. You don't have to see the whole staircase just take it one step at a time and things start unfolding.

When I watched the documentary about Mohammed Ali, I noticed the brilliant tactic he used in dealing with his opponents. Of course, he was exceptional and a real fighter but he knew how to strike that fear into his opponent and then live up to it. He would whitewash you in the press conference, jump up and down, praise himself and then make you believe you have no chance and every time it worked for him because he knew fear is real but it's only as powerful as we allowed it. Does that mean Ali wasn't scared to face any opponent? Of course, he was, but he allowed his confidence to override whatever fear might creep out.

The moment you have lost the battle of your mind, then victory becomes hard. Once you allow fear to set in then it's hard to muster the courage to move on. Fear exists in the mind and we have the power to push it out. It's not always easy or pretty but what choice do we have? It's either victory or defeat depending on how bad we want what we want. It's not going to be easy but you have to give it your all because your life and future depends on it.

What do you fear? What are you scared of? What is holding you back? Maybe when you talk about it, we can deal with it together. No one knows it all and we need one another.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

28
$ 5.41
$ 4.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 25
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Nicely written and very true, we ought not allow the fear to dominate ourselves. Um, there is one place in particular you need to fix a word, that is " the moment I took the step, dear dissipated." I think you meant "fear dissipated" lol. Excellent work on sourcing as well. Obtained this post through Dreemport @ https://staging.dreemport.com .

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh shoot! I missed that and didn't even notice. Thank you so much for this. Deeply appreciated. Good to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never heard the term "Do it afraid" but it makes sense I used to tell my kids Brave is not someone who is not scared but someone who is scared and does it anyway

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a really inspiring write up. Especially the part where it said that fear is not real, it only exists in your head. My dad use to tell me that the thing that you fear, fears you too. This is because you were created by God and he has given you the power to be anything and to do anything. Fear is only a trick by the devil in making you feel that you are inadequate or not good enough. With this kind of mindset, one might end up losing opportunities or not moving forward as a result of this devil's trick. . I always remember this advice during my school days when its time for exam.I tell my self that the exam I am afraid of is even more afraid of me, because the exam knows that by the time I have blasted and crushed it, I would never come to it again I would have defeated it forever, Lol. With this kind of thinking, I gain more confidence in myself and do my possible best to pass .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed what we are afraid of is also afraid of us. That is so true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is one huge factor that can end plans, dreams and can even make one dream face away so easily. We won't stop living or trying to be a better person because of the fear that's roaming about in the society.

We just have to face our fear and achieve whatever it is we want.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God bless you my brother. Absolutely... We just have to face it, regardless...that's the only way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear stops !e from doing things i love. Fear also decline my chance to show myself. That was ma a girl year ago, eaten by fear. But I've learned. I need to fight my own fear so my world will never be limited. I myself can only help me so i need take action for myself to avoid failures and have the life that i wanted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love this, my friend. We need to fight our fears and allow ourselves to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear that's usually the reason why I don't explore things in life. The what if's that keeps ringing in my mind. I always look for the future like I know this is what exactly happen. It hinder be to grow, to be matured. I wish it's easy to fight this one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dad used to say, what you are scared is also scared of you. This has been a great motivation for me. Whenever I think about this words, fears disappears

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true, I must say. Dad is wise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never easy but we have to do it afraid. It hinders us and limits our growth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fears is good in other way arounf because through fear we become more dependent to God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I think you are right, and when we become God-conscious, we love more

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God above all...very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agreed with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. God all the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you, it's okay to be scared. If it's about ghosts or our future, I'm okay with both cases. But not everyone accepts that nor the society. Thanks for the awareness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha he said ghosts hahaha. Uncertainties sometimes bring fear too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fear of God is the beginning of wisdom. Fear is necessary but must not allowed to take over one's Life. Fear allows for planning ahead for epic battle of life. If fear is shown for something the final outcome is always successful. However, fear can devastate if allowed to spread it's ugly tentacles. Am aligned to your submission that fear is present everywhere in our midst. May God rescue us from fear. Thanks greatly for sharing this with us. Keep it up. Stay blessed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, fear has the ability to hinder us and that's why the Bible asked us not to fear. Fear has this hold on us that would not make us do the things we are expected to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is something that can't be skipped in a lifetime, there'll be times when it seems over and start panicking but I've noticed that fear doesn't solve a lot of problems, it actually slows the solution down

$ 0.02
2 years ago

exactly, if we fear too much. Life would pass us by. And later in life, when we remember what we had been afraid of, we would then realize how ridiculous and unnecessary that fear was

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's spot on...when we look back we would see how unnecessary that fear was.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear has never solved any problem, that's true. It slows us down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, it's mostly fear of the unknown. What if something happens unexpectedly? What if I did not see it coming? I am scared I'll be faced with something I don't know... And stuffs similar to that.

Unknown is scary, because I still have no way to assess its difficulty. I am kind of a risk-averse person, so you can say, I ca fear lots of specific things.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally understand you, my friend and I have been there too. We worry about what if things didn't work out the the thing is what if it does? Nothing is ever certain in life and we just have to do them. Risk is part of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I currently have a lot of fear.. And I worry more if I'm thinking about them. Hays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's totally fine, Janey. It's part of being human but we don't have to allow it stop us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talking about fear's, I have so many, but since it's only us who can help us to conquer the kind of fear we were afraid of, we should try atleast to do some action for our growth and if we won't experience failure we won't experience success either.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so good. Indeed, if we don't experience failure then we won't have success either so fear should spur us on to desire to achieve something greater than us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is there as a way to safeguard us from falling into danger or harming ourselves, but while doing that it also tend to hold us back from achieving greatness

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I love this. It goes both ways depending on how we take it. Spot on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I believe fear is a natural thing that everyone feel My own fear is plenty o and am happy that I was able to over some of it even though am still scared of some but am sure if I didn't back out I will definitely over come it all

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gradually, as you walk towards taking steps to overcome this, you will see those fear dissipating. Glad you are overcoming them my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is in every bit of our lives just like you mentioned, the fear of going out, the fear of not winning... They once taught in s sermon that fear is the greatest tool of the devil, he can use it to get anyone down, if you want to beat devil/failure, fight the fear and see your success at hand. If we decide not to engage in a tasks at all because of "what if I fail", that's a failure already. Nice article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly...when we entertain defeat mentality, then failure is imminent. We just have to fight our fear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have mentioned in a few articles on fear, I had a fear of heights from years ago. Acknowledging this, I received support and suggested that I go over my fear somehow increasing the rating each time. I did what you said, and as a result, I got over my fear and I'm doing my job by climbing high loads and high trees and it's okay. I'm not an expert on this subject, but if the fear experienced has started to have an overpowering effect in our lives, support should definitely be sought.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right...we need to seek for support and take it one step at a time. I am glad you had to face your fear and work on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is real but with courage, we act as though we are never afraid of anything. If there is anything I fear most in life is the fear of failure. I dread failure so much that I will always give extra effort to achieve my goals. One thing I do always is to bring my fears to God in prayers always.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You have mentioned the best way in dealing with fear...on God. 2 Timothy 1:7 says it all. We just need to keep going...and trust God... He knows how to calm our fears

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how well written 👏 Our only weapon against fear is to look it in the eye.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes...look it in the eye and deal with it head on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is an unpleasant emotion caused by been aware of danger. Well fear is one of greatest enemy but meant to be faced. When you become afraid of a situation then you allow your enemy (fear) happy again. You have full charge over every situation you are into.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Confronting our fears allow us to take charge of the situation... absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear, the utmost thing of this world. This one is so powerful. The one who possess the power to make it feel to others is the master of control. That's how the political parties gain power on public. Why? Because it has a direct impact on our mind. We remain abstain from that we get scared.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true... They attack the mind and once we lose the battle of the mind, it's so hard to get back up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice Ali story!!! That guy is truly one of the greatest of all times... The battle of the mind of very important... Nice write up!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Really appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're highly welcome!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago