Don't Stop There.

48 117
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

It's easy sometimes to relax after a major achievement but that's when we should increase the effort because yesterday's achievement is tomorrow's mediocrity. We sometimes relax thinking we should enjoy the achievement we just had and the truth is the moment we ease up and we allow that to settle in, we start being comfortable with the average.

I can remember many years ago when I got a $100 on my post for wishing someone prominent a happy birthday on Steemit with my usual epistles, the next day I didn't feel like making a post and I said, "Let me just relax on this one" but I am glad I didn't allow it because I spoke to myself again that I won't ease up. Ease is a threat to work and if it were easy we would never have had all the prominent people we have in the world today that we are envying - in a good way. If it were easy then it shows anyone could do it and if anyone could do it, what's there to celebrate?

There are many days I woke up and said to myself I won't make a post today but as the clock keeps counting down I see myself going into my notes and ideas starts flowing and boom, I start putting down articles in my notes. We don't have to plateau on the last achievement we had because if everyone had that mentality I don't think we would have had so many people being consistent as we have seen in this world.

We keep talking about Ronaldo and Messi (Football players) how they have been consistent over the years and I am sure most people would agree with me that they forget the achievement of last season and always seek to recreate another in the new one. Football is not for the fainthearted, a tale that Mario Balotelli and Adriano (both footballers as well) can attest to as they were the opposite of consistent.

We need to come to terms that yesterday is gone and today is all that we have so we can set a better course for tomorrow. Today is the tomorrow you worried about yesterday and how quickly time flies. Anyone who wasted today worrying about yesterday would also waste tomorrow worrying about today. A stitch in time saves nine they say and that's why we don't need to be too comfortable. What you count as achievement yesterday would soon be a child's play tomorrow when someone leaves you and move ahead of what you think you have achieved. Everyone is evolving and seeking to be better and you should too.

Image Source.

As we know in life, people forget things easily. Someone you helped yesterday would turn against you if you are unable to help him or her today. Humans are quick to forget and that's why we should not forget that many people would only relate with us based on how relevant we are. They might respect us for our past achievements but it won't be the same. If you keep living in past glory then be ready to stay relegated in the minds of people that's why you see content creators dishing out different and new content over time because they want to stay relevant.

We need to seek to learn new ways of doing things and not be comfortable with how things are being done. We should seek to improve on the past achievements we've had and that's how life operates. We need to do more than we have done before...going a bit extra than the last length we pushed. Life doesn't wait for anyone and anyone that wants to wait for life would be left behind.

I watched a video many years ago and I was deeply touched by it and it made me know that people will remember who you were but if it is a sharp contrast to what they knew you to be in recent times then you can be sure that it's only pity you would get from them. A man was charged with a crime and right in the court there, the judge recognized him and made the man remember who she was. The judge said, "Wow. I know you. You were brilliant and really calm back when we were in school". The man couldn't help but cry because he could see how life left him behind. It might not be his choice as many would say but we are responsible for however we turn out no matter how we try to flip it.

Many people abuse the rich because they felt they have money already why are they still trying to get more. Whatever amount you think you have now, wait for inflation to hit it without you trying to invest then you will understand how the value of money goes by so quickly. The rich know what it feels like to have money and not to have it and who would want to relax rather than push further? This is why it breaks my heart when you see young people who got exposed to a bit of money and they start blowing it rather than for them to think ahead. Most people lack foresight which is why they are left behind and make terrible choices.

The hurdles we cross in life gives us the key to solving even bigger problems which is why we can't afford to relent. Life can never give you what you think you deserve but what you demand because as humans we should always place a demand on life. We need to keep the hunger to be better which would help us not to relax over every achievement. Celebrate every achievement but don't settle.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

26
$ 9.22
$ 8.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Maryjacy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 15
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Even the Bible go against such attitude according to the story of the rich man who thought he had worked enough and just have to relax and enjoy his riches. God took his life that night... So pitiful.

Achieving big means more work to do better and achieve even better. One can't stick to what he already know or what he had achieved, those things fade away... It needs to be renewed.

You have written well on this topic and I'm glad I was able to get to it through @dreemport

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much and I am so glad to read from you and even the spiritual dimension you gave to this. We need to be daily renewed even after every achievement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's my pleasure sir Thanks for your support šŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is natural thing and that's the way things are for an average person to relax when in plenty. A feeling of contentment and no dreams and aims for the bigger and wider road ahead, because being contented they are happy. The difference of a rich man who never sleeps, relaxation is to think on how to innovate the never ending evolution of the world, to cope with the changes of time in order not to be left behind, for them fame is happiness. For me to relax is to stop in a while to regain my strength and have more focus for a better result. That is why am not consistent for I am grappling of ideas and need to relax, and that is the way I am. The natural thing of me but it doesn't mean I will stop.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the whole point...not stopping. It's okay to relax a bit to gather momentum but we shouldn't plateau there and stop at the last achievement. This is brilliant, as always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it, when we stop we proceed to die. Maybe not physically but in other ways. Life is an endless lesson. Maybe one thing will not work but another. So roll on. Enjoyed your writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Roll on hahaha I love that. Thanks a lot for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the magic word there my friend. "Demand" and it is true. We should not beg life of what we want but demand from it and of course, let's work too and always be hungry to know/learrn more, to be more or to have more of the good things :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's key... Being hungry for more and more. This is brilliant, my friend. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why settling for Lemon when you can have lemonade? Yeah you might achieve something today and you decide to take a break and rest , that thing will be devalued if care is not taken. We should always be craving to achieve more, relaxing on our achievement will only bring nothing but laziness and backwardness. The results we get from what we do should fuel to do more in other for us to make a good record.

I'm a living example, when I joined the platform, it seems nothing is happening, since I began to see the results of my efforts, I don't relax, I began to double my efforts , I look for what I will do just to achieve more. Though sometimes it might be a tough moment for me, buy I don't dare to relax, I make use of even single space that I have, why relaxing while there are still many other things to achieve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly...why relax when there are other things to achieve...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This has similarities with the previous article of FarmGirl šŸ˜ We should not really stop suing and achieving new things. Coz life is a continuous process. And so as dreaming and learning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... We should not stop pursuing and achieving new things. It helps us in the grand scheme of things. Let me head off to Farm Girl's post now...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is talking directly to me šŸ˜† I had a goal of buying a new phone with my earnings from readcash and now that I have achieved that goal, I noticed I no longer have that zeal to write articles. But I solved it by coming up with another goal: buying a new laptop. I noticed that having a goal helps us to stay focused and continue moving forward

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is good. Goals indeed drives us to keep being on our toes. Congratulations on your phone once again... I believe the laptop would come and you can dream of other bigger things. Well done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir. We never stop dreaming šŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very inspirable messages to us. Thank you for this! Worth to read and save :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love your article my friend, you were right, we can't just stop after achieving one goal today, coz today's achievement is just a memory for tomorrow. Tomorrow is different, so we can't just relax and don't do anything.. consistency is the best to continue achieving more goals..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Consistency is indeed the primary key to achieving goals in life. Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you right, I agree with you,, we should be hunger to be better,and be consistent, thank you for sharing this,, God bless,, and you can follow me also in noise, En2x

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good to have you here. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those hurdles of life make us strong. The future success depends on those lessons.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely spot on...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your articles are really good you can learn a lesson from it so full of humor. Go for more don't stop yourself from exploring things. Make greater achievements after achievement. Hopefully one day when I wake up I will be able to write like that. Aim high for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it, my friend. I believe you can even be better... Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consistency and diligence are among the elixir of success, but once in a while, a break ( long or short ) is in order

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We shouldn't get too comfortable with the break... It's good to celebrate but we need to be consistent with what gave us the success in the first place as you have said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I have it in mind that yesterday achievement is only for you to fuel your tomorrow and not to relax or take a break. Once you are wining the keep wining . thanks for this one

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad it helped. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep winning and do not stop there. I think it was Farmgirl saying in her article that should we stop when our dreams have been achieved? Of course, no. Set a new one and keep going that way. When we achieve a milestone, we shouldn't relent. Let's create a new one and it continues that way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love the way you put it...let's create a new one... That helps...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ease is truly a threat to work. Ewu Igba iroorun in Yoruba. Thank God you made the decision to keep writing and not feel too pompous and relaxed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad too. Thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is regrettable to see young people spend their money on things they don't even need, instead of investing in their future. As you said, thinking of yesterday's achievements will only get you so far.

If you keep thinking of yesterday, then the future will be yesterday's achievements forever because you never achieved anything and relaxed after "Yesterday."

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... It stops us from achieving anything because we stopped by living on past achievements. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, the antidote of winning is to keep winning. If we persist despite the height we have attained, then we will continue to win. No matter what comes my way, win or lise, I keep doing what I need to do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Doing what we need to do...I like that. We just have to stay at it. Absolutely. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iā€™m inspired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have given up on read cash šŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much for this article, I'm really motivated,this is related tobmy daily life activities, I'm a type of guy that doesn't like to lose,once I win i get relaxed and then lose again and i get angry at myself then i win again.now with your article I think when I win I will never relax on it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad this helped. Yes, we should keep building on the success we have achieved before because the world keeps improving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is all about trying and getting better daily; irrespective of what we already have , we need to out in more effort to be better than the previous day. Reasons the rich will continue to be richer is because they do not dwell upon what they already have but try to be even better daily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true...

$ 0.00
2 years ago