Why do you need it? Don't let your desires take over you

31 138
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 19th December 2021

Hello everyone! How are you doing today? I hope you are having a fantastic week and staying hydrated. Six days remain until we reach Christmas and Twelve till we enter 2022; The countdown is here again.

Do you know the difference between your wants and need? I am sure most of us can answer this question, but let me explain further.

Your wants are luxuries; they may or may not benefit your life, but they would surely satisfy your desires, and sometimes they can lead us to temptation, especially when you allow them to take control over you.

Your needs are things you need to live, and without them, you may not be able to have an everyday, peaceful life; your needs include money, clothing, housing, and food.

As you can see, needs are the necessities that allow us to live everyday life. Can you imagine living without food? If you try to do this, you will regret it because you will die.

You may wonder why I am talking about such a fundamental subject as "Needs and Wants," well, this brings me to a short story that I hope you enjoy.

George was a freshman in the university, and like any other person his age, he wanted to live as a free person. 

He tried to fit in with the students, and he found himself doing several things that he wouldn't have been doing before.

He received pocket money from his family every once in a while, but this wasn't some enormous amount of money; it was only for his basic needs.

Looking at his account, George felt terrible about himself because he saw others buying all they wanted and living an extravagant life.

He was the only guy that didn't have a car in his class, and he often got mocked for this.

Some time passed, and George was fed up with his mediocre lifestyle; he finally got the resolve to start stealing from others, and at night he would sneak into university labs and take valuable goods and sell them.

George wasn't a pro thief, and he had never done anything like this before, and he eventually got caught by the security and was taken to prison.

Now let me ask you a question, "What did George do wrong."

Well, I am guessing your answer is that he wasn't content with what his parents gave him, which led him to do such an act.

If that was your answer, you are correct because what led George to do something like that was because he allowed his wants/desires to take control of him, neglecting that his family provided his necessities for him.

Nowadays, I see a lot of George in society; these people always allow their wants/desires to take control of them and are willing to do anything to get what they want.

Some of these people can kill another human to get luxuries and satisfy themselves.

I asked a friend how he buys so much stuff when his job isn't even paying him so much, and his answer was basically, "I borrow." 

It is not like I am against borrowing, but the problem here is the purpose of his borrowing.

He borrows money to buy luxuries that won't reap any benefits or appreciate; he isn't buying assets but increasing his liabilities. 

Living above his wages, soon he would be swimming in debt and wonder where it all went wrong.

I hope he doesn't get to that point, but he is not the only one who does this; I see many people who have lost control over their desires, leading them to live a deceitful life.

From the outside, these people would look happy with all their fancy clothes, jewelry, and accessories, but deep down inside them, they feel sad and empty because they live fake lives.

If you ever find yourself in a situation where your desires are taking control over you, you should ask yourself, "Why do I need it," "Would this stuff benefit my life."

If you can't answer these questions or find a negative answer, I see no point in buying it because if something doesn't benefit you, why are you buying it?

Learn to control your desires/wants because when you do this, you will achieve pure happiness that doesn't come from materials but from within.

Thank you for reading!

27
$ 9.34
$ 8.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
+ 22
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This Christmas period, its really difficult for me to decide between my wants amd my needs. I don't even care at this point since all I want is to enjoy myself without holding back. I've I've depriving myself of goodies for too long but not anymore.

I'd priotize my needs over my wants after Christmas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol, don't spend more than you can normal!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand. Anyway I'm still trying to understand this platform and just wrote another article about an hour ago. I'd be glad to receive advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its all about being contented and we should stop comparing ourselves with others we don't know how they come up with all those things they have.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly, Seni!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Negative remarks from classmates always bothered me. So, I avoided all of them except when they showed positive again. The world is worsening because negative people encouraged more people to be negative! But the reverse doesn't happen often.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm in total agreement with you 💯. Needs and wants are never the same. We should learn to manage whatever we have instead of borrowing except there is no other option.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Contentment is a virtue and we should all learn from George story. It is good to be satisfied with what we have.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

well yes I'm also against borrowing which increases your liabilities rather than creation of assets. and of course no matter what my desires are even if they are beyond my pocket I'll think about it rationally I'll work smarter and harder to pursue that and if at any how i couldn't pursue, its never gonna happen that i compromise with my morale.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this is a nice comment from you Gogo! Instead of borrowing, we should work harder/smarter so we can afford what we want!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s not everything in life that should be hungered for all at once, everything has its season.. it will take time but we must not have these mindset of want all the time… even as a student, what we aeee sometimes have an impact…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, everything has its own time; we shouldn't rush it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep.. have to know what you need and what you want because most of the time we give in to those wants and then later on regretting that we bought it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly, Eylz! Happy Sunday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of young folks try hard on "keeping up with the Jones" not knowing that the Jones are also trying to keep up them. Believe me there are a lot of spendthrifts who really admire modest people but they can't just be like them because they are already used to that kind of life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, I know many people who try to leave that life, but they are already too deep that they can't leave anymore. It is best not to enter that life because you may not come out once you have started.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like there is thin line between being zealous and over ambitious most people just want what they want they don’t care

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, they don't even care about the consequences1

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not only the goal that should be considered, but also the dream. We often fantasize about what others already have: a new car, trips abroad, a successful career - all this we observe in social networks? Yes! And because of this feeling of fear, insecurity, depressed state and the feeling that we are not what we want also. Is it because of envy that we fantasize? Dreams don't work that way!!!!! Because your brain understands that you're thinking about someone else's! Which means it's not worth the effort.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There is no end to human desires. When one wish is fulfilled, another comes and knocks on the door. And again and again people run after these wishes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, our wants/desires are unlimited so much that we can never be satisfied even when we have the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been there.... I had been there in that situation before, shamelessly agreeing myself and when I look back now, those are some disgusting memories to hold.. I did not understand just because I cannot buy something, means I don't have to cry about it...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad you overcame that because you might have entered severe depression if you didn't! Our desires can be overwhelming, so it is essential to learn to control them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We tend to not able to separate our needs from our want especially when we have the means to meet both. There's a time for everything

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, there is time of everything we should learn to be patient and content with what we have!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Contentment is the key. I was surprised when a celebrity said that they sometimes borrow money to impress the public. I mean, how far can people go just to show off? Live within your means and don't be influenced by the lives others live. You might be doing better than a good number of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, that is so true, we may be doing so much better than them because we are not trying to live fake lives, but they are swimming in debt!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, wants vs needs.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I grant people’s desires. I know how they want more and more. Desires are limitless for them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol, I guess you, of all people, should understand this topic!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago