Nothing wrong with a normal life!

31 82
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 7th March 2022

Happy Monday, Readers! How are you all doing today? I hope you had a nice weekend, and I hope you have a great/productive week ahead. 

It is a new week, which means we all have to return to our various jobs and activities. Sometimes I don’t particularly appreciate blinking during the weekends because it genuinely goes in a flash.

 I remember when I celebrated Friday, but now I am in a new week preparing for exams; life truly doesn’t wait for anyone.

I want to start this article with a story from when I was younger, this story goes way back to when I was in primary/grade school, but for some reason, I can remember it clearly, maybe because I have been asking myself the same question since then.

When we were all gathered in class, our teacher asked every student their future dreams, car, and all sorts of things associated. 

As usual, everyone, including myself, talked about big houses, the best cars, and the best life that we could ever imagine.

It reached the last student’s turn, and when they were asked, the teacher was shocked because their answer was different from the rest of us and not what you would expect from a child of that age.

“When I grow up, I want an average life, with a normal family, normal house, normal car, and everything else, that is my dream said the student.”

The teacher had to check if what they heard was true, and she asked the question again, but the student gave the teacher the same answer, and even further asked the teacher a question, 

“Teacher, what is wrong with being normal?

Our teacher stood there thinking of what they could tell the student, and for a minute, the class was silent.

We were thinking of what to say, and it got to a point where we wanted to know the answer.

“What is wrong with being Normal?

From a tender age, we are all taught that we should let our imaginations run wild and never settle for normal because normal is poor, but is that the truth?

I see no problem with individuals wanting to live an average/normal life because it is all up to them, and not everyone wants to live luxurious lives.

I don’t particularly appreciate how society pushes the idea that being a normal/average person means that you are garbage.

In the society that we live in.

 If a person isn’t living luxuriously or living the so-called best life, we would normally consider them not reaching their full potential or lazy people because they are unwilling to achieve more, but that shouldn’t be how things operate.

I have seen many people who have suffered from this societal problem because they spend all their time working and grinding to achieve this so-called “best life” that society has put on a pedestal. 

Sometimes these people even end up overworking themselves to death, all in the name of achieving it.

I don’t know how far we have come in this world to the point where having a normal car and normal life is considered bad; I understand it is good always to dream big. 

Still, you should know that having all those luxurious stuff doesn’t necessarily mean that you will live the best life.

“The Rich do Cry,” they say.

There are tons of rich/wealthy people who may seem like they have it all, but you would rather be yourself than be them because if they were to tell you what they were passing through, you wouldn’t even want to be rich anymore.

I am trying to say that it doesn’t matter if you want to live a luxurious or normal life; all that should matter to you is finding the place that you feel most comfortable in because, after all, you are more important. 

There is no point in killing yourself over something that won’t guarantee your happiness.

“Is there anything wrong with being Normal?

Thank you for reading!

28
$ 5.91
$ 5.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Jeansapphire39
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 19
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It's totally true! Many people lead us to want to sew really extraordinary when in reality we should enjoy what we are really passionate about even if it is something "normal" in society

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you, dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I just wanted to live normal... I don't want to push myself to the point that I am forgetting the true essence of living life. I just want to live free from stress or whatever it is that may trigger it. I want to enjoy life but letting myself go with the flow, as long as I am finding happiness in it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is absolutely nothing wrong with living that way, dear, if you find happiness in doing that then that should be your focus😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir Oikawa. I will focus myself to find happiness...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've demonstrated such important things in our society. We're learning this sick ecosystem from the beginning of our childhood. Our parents want to achieve more goals and make us more competitive. But in the end nothing matters

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I, myself also want a normal life. Where everything is is enjoyable and I wouldn't be pressured to become something that I'm not comfortable with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I wish to achieve that also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imagine me reading this so early in the morning. You opened my mind to see things differently. We all know that becoming rich or, living the best life, if not for ourselves but for our future generations, has been the major reason for living for most individuals. I, happen, to fall in the same bracket. However, one should come to understand that even when someone decides to live life on his own terms - whether averagely or extravagantly, he should not be subjected to harsh criticism and what-have-you's. There are many sides to life. Coming to terms with that would really do us a world of good. You words really made me think of every possibilities... Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said the basic truth. Most of us work, work, work and work just to be on the "rich" level. But life knows how to humble someone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sure does know how to humble people, I have witnessed it once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people lose themselves in approaching something which is not normal to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How mature that kid is.. if I was the teacher, I would have asked other students to clap for them...

At the same time, as a person who lived a "normal" life all these years, nah.. am good. I want a good life, a rich life, healthy life... I feel like I deserve it. At least when problem hits, money wouldn't be a reason to cry about

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing wrong with wanting a normal life. In fact it is the wisest step a man could ever take. Being contented is the first step towards happiness. We settle for less but we are happy with the less.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, contentment is key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm definitely happy with my normal life. Proper independence & no show off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you don't have to be super-rich to be happy, as long as you are happy where you are that is all that counts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living a normal life is the best. Being happy with what we have and the pleasure it can give to people living it is fabulous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing wrong with a normal life,the more we live simply ,the more we can appreciate and enjoy life as it is.

It's just a matter of contentment and being mindful with how you live your life,and with our perspective of what makes us happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is wrong in being normal, in fact, I preferred to be normal so that I can enjoy my money on a low without letting people the stuff I am made of

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, that would be a nice life.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really feels like the weekend lasts for 3 hours only. There's nothing wrong with living a normal life. It's just that we have already inculcated in our minds since from the very start that living normally is not enough. I'd rather live a normal life as well than be rich and gets to pay a big amount of taxes, have bigger problems, and have fewer friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, I see you also noticed how fast the weekends go😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like how fast the night changeeeees 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wealth is relative, being contented with what you have is one thing. Wealth is relative and we really do underrate having a roof over your head and food on your table even if you don't have billions in asset

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree, having food and a roof over our heads should be enough to make us happy, after all, 100 years ago they didn't have all this luxurious stuff and people still survived.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you said very nice, I completely agree with you, there is nothing wrong with being normal, and we can enjoy the same normal life much more than the rich. Basically, getting rich doesn't guarantee our happiness. I wish you success in your exams.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally agree with you Ellen, Thank you😊❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is funny, as a teacher I see most kids just want to be normal, but then when they grow up they feel like they have to be extraordinary. It seems to be the pressure that we as a society put on those kids...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, that is why I say it is sad because we are teaching kids that if they don't achieve extraordinary lives, they are mediocre or worthless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago