Know your worth! Don't follow others!

32 146
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Day: 15th December 2021

Hello everyone! How is everyone doing today? I hope you are having a fantastic week and staying hydrated. Ten days remain until we reach Christmas and Sixteen till we enter 2022; I am getting excited, only thinking about it.

Do you know that you are unique, and no one can ever replace you? If you know you are unique, why do you- Stay below or close to someone so that you would get their approval.

Stay in the crowd your whole life so you can get approval from everyone, even when you don't have to.

"You wanting to be another person is a waste of the person you already are." - Marilyn Monroe.

I am always confused when I see people force themselves to change to fit into a particular group or get approval from other people.

We need to understand that even if no one sees the unique aspect in you, never forget to see it in yourself because that is essential.

"If you don't see the good in yourself, then how do you expect others to see it?

You need to know your worth because if you don't, you will be treated like a doll passed around, and you will feel lost. 

A lot of people tend to cling to others, which is done mainly by young people looking for a place they can fit in, and that is why sometimes they get confused and end up doing a lot of illegal stuff.

If you fail to know your worth, you will only lose sight of who you are, and eventually, you will end up lost and confused, wandering life without knowing who you are anymore because you have allowed others to dictate who you are.

Anytime you seem to be losing sight of who you are, ask yourself this "Who am I," "Should I be doing this," "Am I proud of what I am doing now."

I feel like it is always important to ask ourselves this question because they would kick your senses back to the right place, and if they don't seem to be working, you can always slap yourself.

Do you want to let what another person says dictate your life, or do you want to live your life yourself? 

I think everyone would choose the latter answer, but it is not always so easy to do that because, as humans, we are social creatures and always crave other people's attention.

Research says most people are more likely to choose starvation over isolation, showing how much we crave attention.

We must never allow others to dictate what we say, do, or feel because when they start doing this, we may never be able to escape from their grasps.

You would only end up in an endless cycle of following orders from others without ever living life the way you want to.

Can you imagine not living the way you want to? Doing what you feel won't hurt others and living your life the way others want.

Most people tend to do this, and you see them participating in things they don't even want to. 

Back in school, this situation happened a lot, especially when we were asked to pick courses we wanted to study; we had to choose between Science, Art, and Business.

Most of us had been discussing it beforehand, and everyone had different choices, but when it came to a decision, most of them seemed to pick "Science."

When I asked them why they chose science, I was shocked to hear the same answer, "Well, my friend is there so I also have to go."

I was so confused because this decision somewhat decided their future, and they were not taking it seriously.

What would happen if that friend abandons you? What would happen when you fail?

I am sure these questions never came to their mind at that time because all they were thinking about was what their friends would think.

I pray they don't regret their decisions and end up sad in the end because most of them hated calculations, and they ended up doing a lot of calculations in science.

That scenario happens when you allow others' choices to decide what you do; you would only end up doing things you may not want to do and giving yourself problems.

Learn to know your worth, and don't let what others say to determine what your life would be like.

Even if they are not there, you would still be alive, so why cling to them like they are your life support. Live for yourself because you are all you need!

Thank you for reading

29
$ 9.24
$ 7.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 27
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Reading this made me think about the life I had before. I am someone who just got out of the shell, but I thought something else rather than to stand out or blend in with others. I changed myself to someone I am not just to be in a clique. It was late then I realized that I was just taken for granted and that I was not happy with the person I have become. So, then I walked away and let of what's needed to let clear out. I have learned my worth and I am planning to keep it for the rest of my life because I am done pretending.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I completely agree on you..we need to learn to stand on our own and do not depend on others..we should be the one deciding on what our future would be and not them!..we should be the architect of our lives and not them!..we are not robot so we should not let them manipulate our lives and take us for granted.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I always hate it when I see someone trying to imitate another person just they fit into a group, they always reek of desperation and it's very embarrassing to watch. We should know that our difference is what makes us unique and gives us worth, trying to be like someone else is going to reduce our worth. It's just like an Aston Martin trying to imitate a Ferrari

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Hehe, I can tell how much you hate it from reading your comment! I wonder why people never want to be themselves, but always want to be another person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's about God's faith.A person who believes in God is not subject to anyone.A person who respects God will respect himself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well dear, your contents on self respect are so inspirational. I am following your last few contents & those are worthy!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😊Thank you so much, Lucifer! I am glad you enjoy them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like I do say " be yourself " . Following others will not brings the special thing in us . We are special we must not follow others descisions . Why don't we carefully make ours . The better way of describing ourselves is by following the good things in our mind. I really appreciate you for coming up with a nice topic like these ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes true. Don't let yourself to be dependent to the others. Learn to decide your own self. Follow your wants. Don't use the others to lead your decisions in life. Be on yourself.

We have a rights. Learn to be brave to face with your own decision and that's the most important thing we must apply to. How will you improve yourself if your life connect to someone else's life. It's not good. Don't let yourself regrets at the end.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I genuinely wonder how life would be if we let others' decisions affect us; I am sure that would be a miserable life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It always best for one to decide his or future by their selves. You can seek advice but you shouldn't allow another person to steer you because they don't know how you feel inside of you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The more you believe in yourself, the more efficient and effective you will be in every aspect of your life. You have a positive self-esteem, recognize the differences you are making, clarify your values, and engage in more fulfilling activities.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If we already feel that we are not like others , like we don't fit the shoe of others, we should not get feeling down , we should lift ourselves in some other ways. You are unique, so we must love our self more , more than the others 🥰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😊Exactly, Melissa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it all balls down to self love….if we appreciate and love ourselves more we wouldn’t need other peoples approval to do stuffs or feel good

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with that, and I think Self-Love is essential for us to live the way we want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true... we can only be ourselves... everyone else is taken

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is nice to see you here, PVM😊I hope you have a great Christmas and New years!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you! Happy Holidays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good post. We must work out for ourselves not to depends to others. If they can, we can also.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thats right.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oikawa, It is such an inspiring topic and article. We need to be us. No imitation, but the original self is the best representation. We must respect ourselves. Self-respect and self-belief are the two most essential traits humans need every day for survival.

I admire Marylin Monroe for her work. She is an inspiration even after a mysterious death.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Self-respect, Self-belief, and Self-worth are essential in our lives, and without them we would end up lost in the journey of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the time we should do something with our own merits. When you follow someone else, you will not lose your qualifications. I'm just me. Unique all the time. It is not my job to follow others. Time must prove its worth.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, it is not our job to follow what others say; it is our job to live life the way we want without anyone dictating it for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you don't know your worth or accept that you're your best self, no one will

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with you on that, Talon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right... let's know our worth and don't try to copy others in whatever they are doing,we would just end up having problem if we follow them, let's live our life the way we want it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Living the way you want is the best option!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living the way you want is the best option!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we have known and learned to appreciate our worth, we don't need to seek for others approval. We can't beg people to like us but we can make ourselves likable and that's by knowing our blind spot and improving it by loving our own flaws. We are we, and we are special as we are unique.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

"We can't beg people to like us but we can make ourselves likable and that's by knowing our blind spot and improving it by loving our own flaws" I like and agree with you on that.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago