Documentary Film Review: Pagpag The Leftover Foods.

18 3841

So yesterday, while I was making a module for the documentary film I watched about what’s going on here in the Philippines I watched “Pagpag: The Leftover Foods” on YouTube.

So I thought, I'm going to make this a topic because nowadays our eyes should be open, especially for children.

So what do they call 'Pagpag'?

Pagpag is a leftover foods from fast-food restaurants we eat at such as Jollibee, McDonalds, KFC or any kind of fast-food chain.

At the end of this article I will put the link, for those who want to watch about 'Pagpag.

Now, after watching the film, I just thought that we are lucky because we can eat three times a day. We eat in enough time, sometimes we don't think, "It's okay to throw it away, there's more." On the other hand many are hungry, and longing for something good to eat.

For them, this meal is already a blessing. It doesn't matter if it's dirty, or leftovers as long as they can still eat. So in this Documentary I just said:

  • ‘I was lucky because I could buy the foods I wanted.

  • 'I'm lucky because I can support myself.

  • 'I'm lucky because I can eat delicious food.

  • ‘I’m lucky because I have money to buy clean food and can cook clean as well.

So what can we learn from this film? Many, we can see how poor some of our neighbors are almost sometimes even the government despises them.

I was just wondering, why is the world unfair? We eat good food, we get what we want, we get an education, we have our own house, we have good food, fancy cars, fancy things, neat clothes. While the others are just looking at what we have.

The pain is too much in the heart and it hurts to think that there are even more of our compatriots who are poor, and then the government is blindsided when it comes to such things.

I remember when I was in Grade 9, I had a classmate who grew up in poverty. He's a man, I just can't remember his name. Her father was picking up garbage so they could have something to eat and then her mother, just a laundress.

So, since childhood, I know the feeling of being bullied. When my classmates tease him or make fun of him, I feel sorry for him, I just think that I have nothing to fight with them and I don't know how to comfort him because I'm afraid that my classmates might even stay away from me.

I never thought, 'Maybe it needs someone to tell, it might be a friend and maybe it needs someone to listen to.

Up to one time, while I was shopping for vegetables and meat at the wet market I saw him. He was picking up trash next to the wet market and carrying plastic. At that time, I really felt sad, and pity. I'm sorry I never stood up to protect him.

When I saw him, I remembered that I had some vegetables and meat with me, at that time I had an extra 1500, I approached him and called him. He was surprised then looked at me, he was supposed to leave but I chased after him.

I talked to him, I apologized to him, and then handed him the vegetables and meat I brought, I added 500, extra help for when he needed it. At that time he cried, he didn't want to accept but I didn't take it. I told him, don't think about me because I'll just buy again. Take that, and feed it to your family.

He just cried then, he just cried because he didn't expect me to help and give him something like that. He thought that like everyone else, he would be ignored.

When Monday came, I brought an extra lunch. I remember that he always had nothing to eat at lunch and was always in the corner. When I arrived at school I saw him, I called him and then told him that we would have lunch together.

My classmate even raised an eyebrow at me because of what I did, they said I was very close to our classmate, they said there was nothing to be gained.

I was angry, I said karma would take care of them. At lunch he was with me, we ate together. He thanked me and told me not to think about it. I learned that they were six siblings, and he was the eldest. Since then, we have become close to each other.

but when I was in grade 10, I didn't see him. And maybe that has stopped. I was sad then because I looked at him almost like a brother.


Many children are spoiled today, accustomed to getting everything they want even if it is too much. some parents train their children in such things, and others correct their children when they see that they are losing control of everything.

So I'm proud, of the parents who, even if they can afford it, will still do the right thing to realize how difficult our world really is.

I only learned one thing and I realized one thing, let's not be stingy. When we have, let us give and do what is right. Because in the end, they are also the ones who helped us when the right time came.


Documentary Film To Watch:


Latest Articles:

Also Thank you @mommykim , @Ruffa , @Jane for upvoting my last article :). Lovelotes!

Also @Ruffa , @mommykim , @Leymar012201 , @Jane, @Loveleng18, and @JRamona20 For keeping me entertain at the comment section. May god bless you all :).

Advance happy birthday @Loveleng18 ! May God fill your day with love and joy. Lovelots!


Publish Date: 07-07-21
Originally By: OfficialGamboaLikeUs

10
$ 9.19
$ 8.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 5
Sponsors of OfficialGamboaLikeUs
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Yes, many children today feel very privileged and do not realize there are so many who are already so grateful for scraps because their tummy would not go rumbling.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

some parents are kept spoiling their child so that others are not aware of reality

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun ang ayaw ko.. mga spoiled na bata.. Kaya mat kapatid ako nnanaspoil.. lage ko tlga pinapagalitan.. mag away kmi sa bahay 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yung anak ng ate ko sa side ni dad, naspoil kasi sya ni ate na kung ano gusto ibibigay e dito sa bahay di ganon. Juskoooo, pag napagbabawalan at di napapayagan nagmamaktol saka nagsisisisgaw napakasakit sa ulooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your article. I learned a lot. You are right, many children have been spoiled by their parents, they are lucky because their parents give them what they want to buy ..I was actually born poor when I was a child I couldn't buy what I wanted because we didn't have enough money. I am proud that I have been poor and I am thankful to our lord because I have lived many challenges in life. So now we are still not rich but somehow we can eat delicious foods once in a while. I want to help my fellow poor so when I see someone on the road who is a beggar I give him what I can .. It's not bad to give because the more you blessings the more you received ..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

opo ate, ung iba kasi masyadong lumalaki ulo kasi nakukuha yung gusto saka pagnakaranas ng hirap nagmamaktol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

.Whats matters is that we should is what we have and be thankful everyday that we are provided with our daily needs especially with foods. We should to be content of what we have in the table everyday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

pamahiin saan ate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even I'm experiencing the setbacks of life..I'm still lucky that I'm not experiencing something like this one.. Many children now are indeed spoiled by their parents ..and later on it will become a problem to the parents..Kaya may consequences din pag masiyadong spoiled ang mga bata. It's better to give without expecting in return..let the rewarder of life do its thing😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oo, yung iba kasi halos lahat nakukuha e, parang nakasanayn talaga nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You make me proud to you Langga with this article. You're such a good person and a kindhearted. Continue to help others Langga even in a little amount it makes them happy na especially those who needed the most. We should share our blessings to others. I know God will bless you more. 😇🙏

More blessings to you Langga. You make me proud.❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

salamat ta, more blessing man ta <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Langga. Continue who you are. ❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are wonderfully raise to be this kind hearted langga...in a world where people mostly never mind about the left overs there were still people who can't even buy food to sfeed their family...may mga nag babanat nang buto may maiuwi lang sa pamilya samantalang yung iba winwalang bahala lang ang mga tira nila..God Bless you langga

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oo ate yung iba pandidirihanpa sila saka itataboy, nakonsensya rin ako sa inact ko na halos di ako tumayo para sakaniya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is this for real you really greet me a happy birthday? Im shy at same time happy, totoo po, i have goosebumps right now im so touch. Thankyou po! You really a good person dati palang kudos to your parents for they raised a child like you who knows how to value people equally. Your friends also are lucky to have such a good friend like you. Your story about your classmates and how you treat him melt my heart. There still such a good person in the world like you, hoping you’ll not change. About the pagpag, i also have knowledge about that because we topic that when i was in highschool. Also my neighbors used to get leftover foods in the restaurants and bring home then they will cook it for them to have a food. We are still lucky we are able to eat atleast three time s a day. But sometimes we eat heavy food like rice 2 times a day since we didnt have breakfast direcho lunch na hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

ay oo kami rin HAHAHAHA wala nang bfast lunch agad HAHAHAHA. btw, malapit na bday mo, araw-araw kitang babatiin pero kelan nga ule?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Late na kase mga nagsisigising mga kapatid ko hehez. Kayanga e, tinignan ko pa kung anong araw haha halatang di excited e. Char july 14 po 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago