a fear from my imagination and overthinking

29 34
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

11162021

Bumping into my highschool teacher last saturday reminded me of the sad thing about being a teacher. I find it sad for the teacher's part when his students would finally complete a course and graduate. I mean, more or less, a teacher spends four years with the same set of students. During these four long years, a lot can happen. There would be a lot of activities that the teacher and the students would be participating in and there would be lot of days that they can count to be together.

Seeing the same faces all day,five times a week would spark friendship. If not friendship, I'm sure there would be a connection or a relationship that will eventually sprout and will keep on budding and growing as the years go by.

A teacher could be goofy and strict but it is certain that they think of their students' common good. When we are still holding classes in brick and mortar classrooms, the teachers and students can easily build relationship and close gaps within each other. No matter how strict or reserve a teacher is, he/she will still be friends with her/his students in the long run. It is not mandatory but it just unconciously unfolds.

Everyday, when a teacher conducts classes and spearheads activities, the bond will be slowly formed. Respect will be given and earned and trust with each other will be visible. It is essential because at school, the teacher is the parent. He/she acts as the parent. Some teachers don't act. It comes out naturally. They care genuinely. That's when the students will love them most.

Back when we were in highschool, we are close with our teachers especially during the fourth year. All of us had establish a good relationship with our teachers and we were all in good terms with them. They come in different characteristics but all of them showed concern and love towards us. That is why they have a special place in our hearts.

The most difficult time for a teacher may be the last days of the students in school. While they might be happy of their students' achievements, it is inevitable that they can also feel sadness as the same set of students that stayed with them for yours will be moving on to the next chapter.

At least for me that is the most difficult time. I'm not being selfish and possessive but when I imagine that my students will now move on from the four walls of classroom and explore life, I would think of that time as bittersweet. I would be happy for their achievements but sadness will also fills the atmosphere with their absence.

A teacher will be left in the same classroom for years while the students would learn from her/him and eventually move on to the next chapter of life. It is so sad that the students will now have all of their time to explore the world and life at their heart's content while the teacher does the same thing every year, confined in the four walls. The worst part is when you bumped into your students and they wouldn't be able to greet you or even notice you at all.

Imagine the pain of teaching a student for years and then years later when he/she will cross paths with yours, she will never be able to recognize you like before. That is what I fear the most.

I don't want to feel those in the future. I don't want to feel stuck in the classroom. I would give time for myself to explore and do different things that would break monotony. I would be happy when my students would learn from me and eventually spread their wings and fly. I would not take it personally if they wouldn't be able to recognize me in the long run but I will settle myself in the idea that I have shared some parts of me with them in one way or another.

Happy Tuesday read-fam! Just another senti realization and imagination just because I bumped into my old high school teacher. She still looks the same and it has been seven years or six? Haha. Goodnight and thank you for reading! Until then.

P.S. Thank you to my new sponsor @foryoubtc09 . Thanks you for your generosity and for believing in me. God will bless you a thousand folds.

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com

13
$ 9.20
$ 8.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

I teased some of our teachers back then but the teacher-student relationship stopped after I graduated. I do not know any updates about our past teachers but I wish them well. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is the 3rd and 4th year of highschool were student get too closed to their teachers. Like in my case, I get too closed to all my teachers and have this bond with them, sharing laugh and lunch. Is what we're doing we're like people with the same age but when the discussion starts we know our places. My teacher In research once told me, it is painful to see their students graduate in their campus but knowing that we will gonna do great in future from their lessons and advices put them at peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Seee. Finally, someone who can relate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember me being close with my teachers. Lol. And I don't regret it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have a saying here. Those you can't work, lecture. Those who can't lecture, teach. Teachers deserve credit but yes the same thing over and over again would be repetitive to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's inevitable that some will not recognize us especially if we don't have constant communication or interaction with them. I did attend some alumni events in our school and my teachers then who were still teaching would have to be reminded who we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that's the reality LOL, But students who see a teacher will good heart and be free to talk surely we won't forget. I honestly choices to ignore the teacher who had a bad image for me LOL. My teacher in Elem mostly those are the ones who cannot recognize their student eh after the schooling haha. Of course, who could expect that students evolved in that? But anyways I also wanted to be a teacher though. I will take Educ Unit this next year hopefully could participate in the LET too. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can't blame teachers too because they have plenty of students every year and we changed a lot in a year, physically. Anyway, God bless you on your plans of becoming a teacher.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overthinking is also often associated with mental health issues like depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress and borderline personality disorder.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oww. I see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It has made me nostalgic to remember my old life teachers. Many have passed away and others I never saw again. I lost sight of them and to think that they are gone is sad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really sad my friend especially when the teacher is kind and helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haay ana jud ang maestra, been there. Pero nkaka proud pud bya makita nato atong students already professionals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, doc Lyk. Somehow makaaamze makita siguro na naka impart ug share kag knowledge nila and at the same time learn from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear works a lot in me. Sometimes it is more than imagination and overthinking. I can't go out at night because of fear. Many nights I wake up scared.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We need to do a lot of meditation and breathing exercise for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Despite the intervening decades, I still do not forget my primary school teacher because it was not limited to school only. He used to play an educational and instructive role in every problem we experienced. It was an important example that teaching is not limited to the roof of the school.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes friend. We all have that one teacher that does things differently. They are unforgettable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree with this mamsh. As a teacher you have memories with those students who became part in your life. You create happiest memories, a lot of activities, celebrations with the students. It is so sad when it's time for graduation.

After the days passed, you accidentally met those students then they didn't even greet you even one word. It's really painful mamsh.🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sige ra maamsh. Let us just do our best to share and impart knowledge to them and let us be contented seeing them successful from afar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes mamsh. No matter what happens we should still support and guide them. Be happy for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilang teacher nga kaya ang nakakaramdam ng ganyan ano. Yong kala natin wala lang sa kanila but deep inside lungkot na lungkot sila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang break up every year sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano major mo?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

English sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ning greet kas imong teacher? 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wapod lage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha makagaba kuno na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aseennnn. Bitsin

$ 0.00
2 years ago