Padede Mom Problems

20 28
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

My breastfeeding journey initially didn’t go as I had imagined it to be but nonetheless, as I recall the start and how I am doing right now, I am glad that I pursued and now, I am surely enjoying its benefits.

But I am also a believer that in everything, there’s a good and bad side and for breastfeeding, whilst there are a lot of things that are on the good side, there are also problems that come with it.

These problems can easily be remedied of course but today, I’d just like to share what I had experienced so far breastfeeding for 18 months which until today is still a challenge I had to face. The good thing is that this doesn’t happen every day.

Leaking Boobies

Back when I was still starting to get used to breastfeeding, after dealing with the pain and the engorgement, I decided to wear breast pads. This enabled me to continue breastfeeding without the need to keep a towel or a Hakaa in my other boob. This is also good when I am out of the house.

As the months went by, I noticed that my breasts are not any more full as how it used to and it isn’t leaking too so I decided to stop using the pads.

I don’t know about other breastfeeding mommies but I find it a hassle to wear a bra when I know my toddler would be asking for my milk now and then. So keeping the bra and the breast pad away was a good idea.

But then one morning, I woke up to find myself soaking wet in breastmilk. I can’t believe it! After months, it is leaking again! 

Twiddling Toddler

My mother told me that when her children were breastfeeding, we would attempt to twiddle but she would always slap our hands plus we were only breastfed until 11 months. There’s a notion in the community back then that babies are supposed to only be breastfed until 11 months else if others would be breastfed for more than that, the community would raise their eyebrows. Now, I found out that breastmilk is definitely beneficial to the child even after two years old and I have decided to let my baby be breastfed until he weans from it himself.

The problem though is that my baby had developed twiddling and although this is normal, it is also discomfort on my part. He used to just touch the other nipple until he started holding it, and now twiddle it.

If I would try to keep his hands out of the nipple, he’d go cray about it. He also doesn’t like it when I cover them with a shirt or any cloth. I don’t know why but he would shoo away anything that would cover up my nipple.

Perhaps these things are also the reason why mothers prefer to wean their baby off the breast before they develop these habits especially if the mother is a working mom or if she has to be out of the house always.

Karate Baby

I thought my breastfeeding moment with my baby would all be a calm and peaceful time with him, holding him in my arms while he look into my eyes.

But when my baby turned eight months, everything changed. What used to be a relaxing moment became a fight scene or a karate session because he would be very active, he would try to stand while on the breast, he’d turn around, pull, kick my face, reach out to everywhere away from my breast, return to lying, then he’d do it all over again.

Side lying was once his favorite position but not anymore today. I don’t know what kind of breastfeeding position is this but that’s how he likes it.

Public Display

While breastfeeding advocates would fight for the normalization of public breastfeeding, I believe that in our country, people are still finding it weird for a mother to show her breasts out while feeding her baby.

People would stare, men and women alike. I don’t know why they have to, our breasts are made for feeding our babies, that’s its purpose and I just hope that every single person on earth understands that. This is its primary purpose just like how animals would go on display feeding their little ones, human must understand that too.

One of the worst experiences I had back when we went to a mall was feeding my baby inside a cubicle. I almost cried seeing my baby look at the corners of the cubicle and fed only for two minutes then said all done because he was not comfortable with the tight space.

Lactating stations are scarce and public breastfeeding is being shamed on, it’s pretty understandable why cover-ups are being encouraged. I tried to use that too but my baby doesn’t like to be covered.

Imagine eating with a mask on, just imagine how suffocating that would be, that’s probably how our babies feel when they are fed and we cover them.

So, I realized not to care about staring eyes. They can think all they want but what’s important to me is I get to feed my baby.


How about you? What are the things that you find hard while breastfeeding? How’s your breastfeeding journey so far?


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

9
$ 4.14
$ 4.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Wow you really a good mother🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganto rin nararanasan nung tita ko tapos yung baby mapanaket hahaha. Dunno I never had a baby pa eh haha. I don't know why people laugh when they see a woman breastfeeding their babies in public.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi pa po ako nagpa breastfeed ng baby ahaha 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women really go through a lot especially during breast feeding period. You're a hero.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced karate baby with my third baby ksi the first two were bottle fed at 5 months dhil very little to no milk production aq. Ayaw nila ng my cover ksi nkakasoffocate kya pabayaan n lng... Bkit ksi ung iba d nila maintindihan na kakain ang baby kya magdedede wherever and whenever he needs to..?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many struggles to face of being a mother. Kaya ko ba yan?😅

Pero dpende nmn sa mother sis nuh pero recommended tlaga ang breast feed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

relate ako jan sis. pero di ako relate nung more than a year na padede kasi baby ko nag stopped na dumede sakin nung 11 months sya. ang sakit na kasi nya mangagat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate to this sis, lalo na yun magpadede sa public place. Wala kang choice eh. Before pa naman wala pa nursing room sa mga groceries or department store kaya nakakahiya but kesa naman magutom ang baby mo kaya padede na lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I breastfeed my son for 3 years. Kakawean nya lang last month hehe and relate ako sa lahat ng sinabi mo hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

i feel bad for you and matti.. Some people pa din talaga kasi mga malisyoso.. Now I am preparing myself to fight sa mga taong kokontra sken magpabreastfeed sa labas, pasalamat sila may pandemya ngayon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mukhang makakatikim sila ng hagupit mo momsh kung ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap talaga pala maging ina noh? Kasi dapat mo mapapafeed yong anak mo at hirap pa sa ating bansa ay di liberated sa ganyan pag nagpapasuso ka in public, parang naiilang payung ibah. Hayss

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes ganun na nga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy Yung nag breastfeeding yung cousin ko ma'am. Tinuruan pa siya ng mom niya kasi hindi siya marunong. It was her first time to be a mom. Hindi pa siya sanay. Ang cute ng baby niyo po.🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas mabuti nga na merong nagtuturo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ma'am. First time niya pa kasi maging mom kaya ganun nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung pinsan ko po ayaw magpa breastfeed kasi masakt raw. Tsaka wala din syang gatas eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Depende talaga sa mother sis . If she prefers bottle feeding, that's okay. Maybe need nya ng help from breastfeeding consultants para makahelp sa low supply nya. As for me kasi i have seen the benefits of breastfeeding for my baby and for me.. masakit talaga pag first time.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katong naa mi sa Spain I can breastfeed in public beach. Wa may paki didto kay pwede ra jud mag nude. Hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mau pa didto rox hehe lahi ras pinas

$ 0.00
2 years ago