Our Home's Favorites

37 43
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Greetings read friends! I would like to share with you some of the food that we love here in our family in Bohol. These are just five but I have more to share in the future. For now, I have only seen these in my mobile photo gallery so I thought it would be best to share it with you before I could delete these photographs. Oh, I realized, I don't delete images, I archive them instead!

First on the list is the famous and favorites of every Filipino household.

"Chicken Adobo"

Except that this one is a native chicken. My father has a little backyard farm where he has native chickens which he loves dearly because, in a few months, they become our viand. I personally have never tried culling a chicken and I have no plans of doing so in the near future. I felt bad for the chicken so I pass on that task instead to other members of the family.

My father's chicken adobo is my favorite. An adobo is a recipe with simple ingredients, soy sauce, vinegar, pepper, calamansi, salt, and sometimes sugar. I always love adobo with less sauce and a little oily.

This is how our family makes our adobo, dry and oily. Oh we also put rice on the oil left on the pan and mix it, instant adobo rice!

"Ginataang Manok"

My father usually culls male chickens and then prepares a part of it for Adobo and the other part as ginataan which means a dish done with coconut milk. This is always a good recipe. Anything that has gata or coconut milk is a sure win. Plus, we add moringa leaves in it to make it even nutritious.

Most of the time if we have this for lunch or dinner, I would be eating tons of rice with it. Super tasty indeed!

Next is the very basic viand called...

"Kinilaw"

Kinilaw or Ceviche is another dish that is part of my favorites, or should I say our family's favorite. I guess everything that my father prepares is our favorite. He is very good with cooking which unfortunately, I wasn't able to inherit that skill. It was actually the grandmother who's a good cook. Back when we were younger and she used to cook for the family, our neighbors would usually pass by our house and call out how they could smell the food's fragrance!

Anyway, the kinilaw is made of fresh fish meat, deboned and then cooked in native vinegar. This native vinegar is colored red! There are also spices added into it and chilis would be a perfect part of the dish to add a kick to it.

This one is a quick kinilaw while if we have a lot of time, we'd usually add gata or coconut milk in it, it's much more tasty!

Fried Chicken

You might say, oh that chicken is very thin! That is because this is a native chicken and these types of chicken do not usually have a thick body structure. They are free ranged too so that explains why they didn't grow much meat.

This is pretty simple, after cleaning and cutting the parts, we just season it and then deep fry. This is still very tasty and we could again eat tons of rice, it is best to be paired with some hot sauce too!

Now, let's go to a snack:

Puto Maya and Sikwate

My mother influenced me to love Puto Maya and Sikwate. Puto Maya is a sticky rice and I don't have an idea how it is cooked though but it is really a good pair with a hot chocolate or sikwate. We locally sourced our tableya and they are definitely great!

I miss eating Puto Maya as we have not gone to the market lately due to the pandemic restrictions. I guess I will have to request my husband to buy some for me tomorrow.

That's it. I will share more in the following days.

Thanks for reading!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

15
$ 4.17
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Looking at the food makes me crave for glutinous rice... Ung sa kinilaw, niluluto b xa or gnun na tlga?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now this is some real good food that got my mouth watering just thinking about it, I'll love to try out the puto Maye and Sikwate some day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang sarap lahat ma'am. Yung kinilaw talaga nagutom ako lalo kasi ang tagal ko ng hindi nakakain niyan maam. Ang sarap nga po niyan pag may gata. Sobrang pinaka favorite ko po yan. Tuwing may outing laging may kinilaw po talaga.

Sarap din ng adobo kapag native chicken. Lagi kami nagluluto niyan maam kasi may mga manokan kami sa probinsya. Sobrang sarap niyan maam. First time ko na encounter yung ginataang manok ma'am. Gusto kong tikman.🤤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i hope makakain ka soon.hehe super sarap pag may gata!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang tanda ko na but seriously, di pa ako nakakatikim ng puto maya. Alam ko lang ang puto maya dahil nung bata tayo kapag mang-aasar. "Nye, nye, nye! Gaya-gaya puto maya pag laki buwaya". 🤣 akala ko may maya lang dahil para rhyme so may pagkain pala talagang puto maya. Puto lang kasi alam ko.

Filipino dishes ang hindi ko pa talaga nappractice ng bongga. Pero igoal ko nga yan. Hehe. Nakakapagluto ako once pero wala akong signature Filipino dish. Ang bad ko. Hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uy igoal mo talaga yan uy..hehe

iba din kasi meaning ng puto maya sa ibang provinces

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Ginataang Manok" From the picture,it looks like some dish we also love in our household but with a different name,ours is called chicken pepper soup.....as the name implies is sometimes spicy soup with chicken mostly boiled

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that sounds like the same thing as this can also be spicy! sometimes we skip that specially that we have kids and toddlers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah spices are not too good for toddlers,we skip it too when my cousins come visiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems your father is a very good chef. We can't deny that males are best in cooking than females that's what I learned from my father. He makes has more taste in his hand than my mother 😅 I'm not familiar with those foods but it looks delicious and mouth watering.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hey I agree.. although my father got it from his mother.. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister sometimes uses pineapple instead of sugar hihihi. Me drooling already

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah sweet din si pineapple..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww kinilaw is the best. I can't remember the last time I had one..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

may story ako..ung pinaka the best kinilaw talaga na natry ko was ung gawa ng ex bf ko.hehe lage nya ako ginagawan ng kinilaw pag nakauwi ng bohol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakoo. Hahaha. Paano na yan. Wala ng masarap na kinilaw ngayon haha. Nasaan na yung ex at ng baka mautusan mo gawan ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chicken Adobo looks lovely, never tasted it before but hoping to any time soon. Just yesterday I was craving chicken...lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

where are you based dear?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria...why?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit saan ako dalhin, wala paring papalit sa aking adobong pinakapaborito sa lahaaaaat. Nakakatakam lahat ng foods huhu

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes adobo ftw..tagal din nasisira yang food na yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap naman niyan lahat, lalo na yang chicken adobo na medyo dry ang pagkaluto, yum, yum, yum

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganyan talga fave ko na pagkaluto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This set of food is unfamiliar to me except from adobo and fried chicken hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

where are you from dear? hehe i love adobo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Central Luzon hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Woww I think all of it sis was my favorite too. I feel hungry as of now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lami gyud ang native chickens sis bah. Lahi ra gyud ang iyang lami kaysa sa broilers. Ginataang manok is the best. No wonder daghan paka ug milk sis,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ginalutoan jd ko ani nila para sa milk..hehe lately wala na mi ka gata kay lisod ug kudkud hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your house became my favorite. Seeing the cooking, i wants to eat. You have liked every dish very much. It looks very nice. please give me dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ooks very nice. pl

i wish i can send some to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, sis Jean!!!! I'm drooling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kain na sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like these typical dishes, especially those cooked with coconut.
I missed how they use Moringa for food, here we use it as medicine. I love cooking, thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

y use M

yes we use it for food. we have moringa daily in soups

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasarap nung gata! 🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

makagutom!

$ 0.00
2 years ago