Isa Pang Araw and More of My Writings

18 34
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Hey guys! I am really happy I was able to share some of my calligraphy pieces on the previous article I Miss Pointed Pen Calligraphy. So I hope you won't get tired seeing more of my works. Most of them were posted on my social media account and it's been ages since the last post so if you go check my page in Instagram : instagram.com/jbfwritings, you'd see the last post was January 2021 and it's about my bullet journal. I continued to bullet journal until early this year but I decided to stop sharing them on Instagram because I have no cute images to post.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Thanks lovies

Anyway, I'd like to share three of my creations, you'd know that there are so many creations which didn't pass the quality test and were all placed in the trashbin. These three passed and were posted.

Looking at them really makes me want to pick up a nib but I am sure they're all rusty right now. I will have to check them soon and perhaps buy a new set and some new inks too! And also, I have no nice papers to use as well so I have to get new pads as well.

Anyone here a fan of Sarah G? I am, I always admire her talent and how she transforms into a different person when on stage as she performs. Today, she is already married and I hope she's happy with her life.

One of the songs that have been running around my brain after watching her movie Miss Granny was "Isa Pang Araw". This song has a nice story behind it. It's a song written by Miguel Mendoza III dedicated to his father who passed away.

Isa pang araw mean one more day. The lyrics of the song is just heart melting and Sarah singing it made me even emotional just meditating on it. If you just read each line, it's just heart breaking, to put yourself on the shoes of the writer, asking for one more day to be with the loved one he misses.

One of the lines that really stuck is "pwede bang humiling is a pang araw?". A question which is stating the obvious of course but it can also be applied to couples who have somehow decided to end their relationship perhaps and the party who had been heart broken can ask if it is possible to have one more day with that person.

So, I spent time to write it in gold imitation ink from Winsor and Newton brand. I used some of my art materials to beautify this section of my table. Of course we all know the rest of the table was messy!


Here's another one which I really love the way I made the strokes. Sometimes, I am confused why I can't be consistent with my strokes. I guess I woke up that day feeling inspired that I was able to create this. I can't figure the nib type though after making this and keeping all the nibs in their containers. I guess I must take note and add that in the piece of calligraphy so the next time I try to remake the same kind of stroke, I know which nib is to use.

If you have not used a nib yet, you'll know that there are so many nibs available in the market and they have their own character, each single one of them!

Anyway, this piece I wrote because I was reading Genesis at that time and I watched some other commentaries and preaching regarding the creation part and what Pastor Toby Logsdon amazed me.

The resemblance between the universe and lay where in the creation, the universe was without form, and when God, like a potter started commanding, working, and molding each and every area, it became something “good”. It is also like a messed up person's life, it can be turned around the moment God works on the person's life.

God both caused and witnessed the Creations of the universe and with that, He is the only one who can speak of it authoritatively.

It even amazes me how the book displays what a God we have, a God of grace upon grace - that though Adam and Eve sinned against God, He showed grace with a sacrifice. He clothed them with animal skin which means shedding blood was there. This is a foreshadowing of what Christ did on the cross of Calvary!


Most of the time, I would make small pieces like the photo above. I turn those scratch papers into pieces of calligraphy and use them as bookmarks on my Bible or other books.

Speaking of books, I am really guilty of not being able to finish reading the books I purchased. I really need discipline in that part.

Going back, the above pieces show that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. This can be read in the Bible and it is a very popular verse.

Sometimes, our circumstances may give us doubts about our identity. Our experiences and past may sometimes haunt us, these are lies of the enemy. Remember that our salvation is not emotion-based. It is based on the truth of what Jesus did on the cross. Believe that He is the only one who can save us from the pit of hell and we will be saved. Once saved by faith and grace of our Lord, nothing can separate us from the love of God. We will be new creations, the heart of stone has been turned into a heart of flesh and we base this truth on what God says in His word.


Thanks for reading! Do check my previous articles as well:


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

8
$ 1.67
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

True super kahilak nang salidaha nga Miss Granny ay...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ako sad hilak sad ko hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to do calligraphy too. Nagstart ako sa watercolor brush pens tapos unti unti na rin bumili ng calligraphy pens. I miss doing this for fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow that's nice. i am glad to find someone who's into it too... please do share your work as well...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang pro yunb gumawa ate. I mean, pro ka naman talaga sa larangang itoo huhu. Sanaol talaga. Sobrang gnndaaaa. Paturo ateeee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

salamat sis! sa online din lang naman ako nagchecheck ng mga tutorials..tapos practice lang ng practice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pangmalakasan yung sulat ate, sana lahat ganyan po kaganda sulat haha. Pero honestly, I sang the part of Sarah G hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

salamat po! haha apir tayo jan napakanta ako while ginagawa yan!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah!😲 Galing galing naman nito.👏 Sana all, ang ganda nang sulat kamay mo sis.. When kaya ako matuto nang ganyan kaganda na sulat? (Sigh)..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naku kung sulat kamay ko talaga pangit hehe sa calligraphy kasi paslowly lang ung strokes kaya ganyan hehhehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing ate lakas maka Instagram ng penmanship mo. Sanaoil talaga magaganda sulat eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

salamat sis..hehe pero pangit talaga penmanship ko.. sa calligraphy kasi slow ung pagsusulat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And ganda! Sana magkaroon ako ng ganyang talent huhu.

Haven't heard if that song before. I will check on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

talaga? di mo pa narinig yan? sana napakinggan mo na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh I love Sarah G. , your works is quite amazing.. is.it hard to do that ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it requires practice and muscle memory.I had been practicing for a few years

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are great pieces of artwork! Checked the IG and it's nice browsing through those projects. Sarah G is also one of my favorites but I wasn't able to watch that movie. Maybe I need to search for it. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks sis! i saw that you followed me..thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago