Crypto Money Bought My Mother's Money Cake

20 50
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Three days ago specifically on the 10th, my mother celebrated her 61st birthday. She is already advanced in her years but if you look at her, she's looking younger than her age. I gave her a cake as a gift and it's not a normal cake, let me share with you why.

Since it's her 61st birthday and I want to surprise her, I thought of two options, either I give her a bouquet filled with money like those that I see on social media or I'll give her a money cake.

After two hours of contemplation, I decided to give her the money cake instead because first, we can eat it, and second, it won't give her a hint that something's within the cake.

And so, I looked for the best bakeshop option within our area which can cater to my request. The truth is, there are a limited number of bakeries here in our town and the first one which came to my mind was Stickybuns. I ordered several times from this bakeshop before and looking at their Facebook page, I found that they make red velvet flavored cake so I messaged them immediately, that was 9 AM on the 10th of August, just a day before the birthday.

Contacting Stickybuns

Stickybun's social media manager takes quite some time to reply to inquiries and I know that already so I made sure that on my request, I mentioned everything necessary, the cake flavor, the money cake, and the amount that has to be placed inside the cake as well as the date and time that it will be picked up from the bakeshop.

By noon, perhaps it was the business owner who manages their social media page as well and that's their break, a reply was sent from their end and told me about the pricing. It's 1500 for a red velvet money cake and it's size 8x6 inches, I guess it was just reasonable and so I agreed but I also added some requests such as adding some white roses on the top sides of the cake, a Cricut with the greeting "Happy Birthday Mama Vicky" and candles too that has 61 in it.

Everything was confirmed and I was asked to deposit the amount, actually, they require half of the cake price to be deposited to their GCash account and half of the amount can be paid during pick up but I decided to pay the full amount. It would be a total of Php 5,000.

I went ahead and checked my Steemit account's wallet. I could easily just cash out my BCH amount from the Bitcoin wallet but I decided not to because if I would need to spend that amount, it would be for my baby's policy. Also, I have to make sure that I reach the 1BC first before I could take any amount from what I am hodling.

So, as for my steem balance, it showed 337 and it was worth $0.5 something for one steem which means, I can get around almost 9k pesos for the amount of steem available. I transferred the amount to Binance and sent it to Coins.ph in XRP. From there, I transferred the required Php 5000 to the GCash account of the bakeshop.

By the afternoon, the bakeshop replied and confirmed my order, they also sent me a picture of the candle and a sample of the Cricut to which I reacted with a heart which means it was what I was expecting.

The Birthday

On the 10th, I just acted as if I was not thinking of any gift for my mother. She was busy that day, getting our house cleaned, preparing for the needed things for the dinner as she invited some of our relatives, only a few people headed to the dinner invitation, we also just invited those who are near us because there's the pandemic.

Our house helper prepared some puto cheese, sweet chili buttered shrimps, my father cooked humbang baboy and prepared Ceviche too which are both my favorites, I on the other hand made tuna carbonara and my sister in law prepared desserts in the morning so to make sure it would be cold by dinner time.

We also ordered a food package which included bola-bola, pancit, lumpiang Shanghai, chicken cordon bleu, Buffalo flavored pork ribs, shrimps, and a five-kilo lechon belly. My brother was assigned for that and the order came by almost six in the evening, just at the right time when our relatives arrived.

Surprise Money Cake

My mother was so happy seeing the cake as it was very pretty. I agree with her and I took photos. She was out of the idea that something is waiting for her inside the cake.

Everyone gathered around the table and my cousin prayed over the food and thank God as well for giving my mother a new year for her life. We all sang happy birthday and I told my mom to pull the Cricut. She was laughing as she thought I was just pranking her. I told her its true and so she started smiling and was giggly.

She pulled the Cricut and the money started popping out. It started with some 50 peso bills, then 100s, then 200s, then 500. Everyone was shouting and cheering and my mother's face shows it all. She was very happy and she was surprised! My cousin asked her if she was surprised at all and she nodded!

Alright, my surprise worked and I am glad she was happy, it's her birthday after all.

I love to surprise her because her reaction is just priceless as always. I guess next year, I will have to level it up and think of another way. I am glad as well for Steem and Steemit that I have a means of being able to pay for the surprise cake without asking my husband as I am on extended maternity leave for now.

That's all for this article. Have you tried surprising your mother?


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

10
$ 7.22
$ 6.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 9
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Happy birthday, how delicious your mum's cake looks, I hope God grants her a lot of health.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to your momshie 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd never heard of money cakes until a few weeks ago that someone from the Philippines published that she had bought one for her grandmother, but I don't remember who it was. I find it very creative and fun. It's nice that you were able to give that surprise to your mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis nasayo pala ang nawawala na cordon bleu sa food package ni cebu seller ha! hahah! kita ka sa viral na live video ato? nga naabot na sila ni Tulfo!

Anyways, happy birthday sa imo mama! Lipay kaau sya as in mkalingaw iyang smiles jud!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May money cake si mommy. Ang galing at ang saya naman. Belated Happy birthday poo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun o! May money cake si mader!!! haha~ Belated sa mom m. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh, belated Happy Birthday to your Mom madsm. Bakas na bakas sa kanyang mga labi ang labis na saya πŸ€©πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰. Maganda talaga yang money cake sana, try ko sana yan kina Mommy noon kaso wala pa akong gaanong ipon noon ee saduuu.

Anyway madam, nasa steemit kapanrin ba? May account ako dun ee. Di lang me active.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya naman! Belated happy birthday to your mom! That cake really looks delicious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it was indeed good! and it was heavy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's an amazing surprise! Ang saya nya❀ You definitely made her day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes na try naming e surprise nanay namin nung birthday nya ,payong na may pera ,sobrang happy niya ..sarap sa pakiramdam pag napasaya natin magulang natinπŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doble yung saya na mafefeel kapag nakita mong masaya magulang mo sa surprise mo. Ang sarap sana esurprise ng parents, if only buhay pa sila. Anyways, Belated happy birthday po sa mama mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always give something to my mom everytime it is her birthday. I have seen in social media about money cake too, and it was so fun. Someday I also want to give it to my parents. By God's grace and help of bch. Aja!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy birthday to your mom! Saya nang mama mo. One day gagawin ko din yan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations momma I pray next year will be much better than this, crypto as really be help to a lot of people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You're mother's reaction is so priceless. Nakakataba talaga ng puso pag nakkita mo masaya sila sa nagawa mo. Congratulations ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katas ng crypto ang kasipagan nyo po. Ang sweet naman. Happy birthday mommy! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So priceless ang happiness ng mommy mo sis.😊 I am also planning to have a birthday surprise for my nanay next month. I hope I can accumulate more blessings para may panggasto.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sweet. Thank you, bch hehe. Happy birthday po, mommy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago