Taxi Drivers In My City

28 58
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Taxi, Driving, Road, Traffic

Lately I have been on the road having to run some errands with my dad. When driving what surprises me is the way other people drive particularly the taxi drivers or as we called them in Ibadan Micra. They got that name from the brand of car that is commonly used by them. Infact all of them use it. It has become a kind of identity for them. A person will think twice before entering a cab that isn't Micra.

They don't have the taxi sign that is normally placed on top of the car but there is a sticker that is pasted on the windshield and also a particular color that the car is painted with. All of this help in identifying taxis. Each state have their own color. For mine it is maroon and red.

Back to the article. The taxi drivers in my city are crazy and I will explain why. They drive anyhow with no care at all. They drive their vehicles as if they are the only ones on the road and do not have respect for any other driver at all. It is only their fellow taxi driver that they respect and show a little sanity for.

They move their vehicles with reckless abandon and are at a high risk of causing an accident or being involved in one. Most times it is fatal taking their life and that of their passenger. They barely look before entering the road or turning into a junction. It's as if they are always in a haste and have to get to their destination quickly but most times they don't have to. I think it is in their blood to behave like that. That's just their natural setting. Their blood is always hot and they can never seem to calm down.

When they are now in trouble that's when you see their calm side. After hitting the vehicle of an important person or a military personnel you will see them on their knees begging for mercy since they know that they can't pay for the damages. If the car is very expensive that just makes matters worse. If the owner of the car is not kind or does not have the fear of God in him/her that taxi driver will sleep in a police cell and will remain there until he can fix the car.

I used the pronoun he because all of them that drive recklessly are men. You wouldn't see a woman driving a taxi talkless of driving recklessly. I don't think they have that in their blood. Always driving with so much calm and patience, taking their time much to the annoyance of fellow drivers. I am starting to wonder why it is only men that behave like this. Is it the environment that is having an effect on them?

I have had many experiences with taxi drivers in my city too numerous to mention. Most of them are not pleasant but I least I survived. I have nearly been hit by their vehicles and sometimes embarrassed by them. No manners at all. They don't care about pedestrians on the road. When they see you crossing that's when they press the gas pedal. It is quite unfortunate.

I just think that all of them should go for a psychiatric evaluation because they are certainly not okay upstairs and that's me being kind with my use of words. The government also needs to step in and do something about this urgently because it is quickly getting out of hand. Lives and properties are lost on daily basis because of their reckless driving. People are scared of crossing the road because they are afraid that they will become another victim of a hit and run, just another statistics.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 1.49
$ 1.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 4
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Taxi, Driving, Road, Traffic

Comments

I've seen lots of these but the ones that shocked me most were the aboki in the west, those ones that drives bike, them no send at all and I wonder if they have spare life they kept at home before leaving

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 honestly guy. Them dey do pass Vin diesel for fast and furious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂, reminds me of a typical Danfo driver. All those yellow buses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 those ones are on a whole different level of madness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

they thinks that they're the kings on the road haha.. but if accident happen I'm sure they will cry.hard for that.. ThanK God taxi driver here in.Philippines are responsibles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 you're lucky my friend. The ones here are truly crazy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha yeah right .. 😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The taxi drivers here are also mentally ill. They drive like monsters. Also, they are very ready to fight. I was relieved that the taxi drivers in another country were also barbarians :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 those are strong words. They have balls Oh! 🤣 . Honestly they are everywhere 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand your pain bro. I stay in Benin and their driving there is just on another crazy level. Anyways, I have learnt to be calm and take my leave if they try to cause trouble with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 some times you need to fight madness with madness and treat any disrespect on the spot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo I tried it once but their werey pass my own, so I learnt how to solo for them I'm too young to die 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 werey get levels

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nor be lie sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And if you must observe them, they are those who drink dry gins or alcohol that behaves that way. The weirdest part of them is not looking at the road before jumping on the road with their taxi and you will start hearing a lot of insults and abuses being showered on them. They lack respect and treat everyone anyhow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Likee 😂 that stuff is like pure water for them. Only God knows the number of curses that follow them home 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have yellow and black colour for taxi. Careless and rash driving is not good. Not for only passengers but also for drivers and people who are on road. We should take care of ourselves as well as other. Drive carefully.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah we definitely should

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard to see a normal driver these days, all of them dey drink fearless

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dfkm 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't experienced it though because Uber and other bolt apps are there to serve their purpose with lesser fee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sinzu spending 💰💰😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Be whining yourself, it's more affordable than a taxi. It saves money so I wonder where the sinzu money comes from.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How does bolt and Uber save money fgs 😮 In this Nigeria??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

DYOR and prove me wrong

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Sir 😅 but in Ibadan or Lagos you're wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In which area I also want Junis a transport car driver. Type of car L-300. No one who drives for this type of car must be speeding.

Is it because you're used to it, work demands or something else?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I honestly don't know 😪

$ 0.00
1 year ago