The Avatar Travels - Book 2: Water

12 20

09.09.22

I felt like I needed to break this into two parts because it was getting a little bit longer, which I didn't expect. I've shared my first Out-of-Luzon travel or my first airplane experience, Air and Water Bender pt 1, now I am about to share my first sea travel experience too.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I just realized that this is another day and night travel.

Why did we decide to ride a ship/barko? Due to our financial situation regarding my MIL's condition, we needed to save money. We can't afford another airfare anymore. We cannot book a flight ahead of time because the husband's schedule is not that definite and even if he is on his days off, he might need to pass by somewhere for work.

Let's get this story started!

August 17

Tacloban to Ormoc to Cebu

We went to Ormoc because Daddy needed to pass by somewhere as a part of his job. While we wait for him, I let Lil B roam around at the seaside. It was quite hot that day but she can at least see what lies beyond our home.

We had lunch at DimSum Break and ordered fried rice not knowing that it had shrimp. Good thing I was able to feel my lower lip getting sore and numb then checked the rice. My husband asked if they have other food on the menu that doesn't have shrimp but unfortunately, there was none. I asked my husband if we can get donuts instead as I might be hungry again.

Look at that girl holding on to my donuts!

After we had lunch and Daddy is done with his work, we went to the ticketing office. We were there a bit early but we just checked the rates, my husband didn't buy the tickets yet as we needed to decide which one to take. As soon as we decided, we went back to the ticketing office but suddenly the only available slots were for non-Airconditioned bunk beds from Lite Ferries. He wanted us especially Lil B to be comfortable when we sleep because he knows how sweaty we can get. We have no other option so I told him to take it and AC or non-AC beds are good with me.

We initially planned to take the car with us to Cebu but upon knowing the price, we can't afford it. So we decided to leave the car at his sister's place in Ormoc instead. Kuya Philip (SIL's husband), let us visit their eatery. It's actually near the market, but I am not sure if it's in Seguinon or in Albuera hahaha!

If ever you get to pass by Seguinon, you may visit my sister-in-law's eatery hihi.

It was also a coincidence that my SIL was about to arrive at the port at 8 pm and we were about to board at 9 pm. So Kuya Philip just basically took us to the port and at the same time pick up his wife.

It was a bit windy because it was nighttime. When we got on board, I asked him to ask the staff if there was a chance that someone might not come in so we can fill in their spots. It was possible and they asked him to write his name, we were 8th on the line and are trying to get a spot on the AC beds.

Unfortunately, there was only one bed left and I don't want my husband to be separated from us.

It took 8 hours from Ormoc to Cebu port. We got in Cebu at 6 am .

I told my husband that it was a nice decision that he chose the bigger ship. We didn't even feel the waves even during the night.

I just had a hard time putting Lil B to sleep and waking up every now and then just to check if she's feeling hot and sweaty hahaha!

August 21

Cebu to Ormoc to Tacloban

We originally planned to book a ticket from Supercat Ferries but I think my husband was a bit late when he came into the ticketing office. No seats were available. He went to a different shipping line instead and booked a ticket from OceanJet.

Travel time from Supercat and OceanJet were just the same, 3 hours.

We left the house in Cebu at 8 am and we got to the port just exactly on time for boarding.

I wore the wrong outfit. I didn't bring a jacket with me. I needed to hug her little so she can stay warm because the AC was too cold.

Good morning Ormoc!

My sister-in-law and her husband decided to bring the car to the port and have it delivered to us so we can go home.

We went to Robinson's Ormoc for lunch.

After we had lunch, I asked my husband if he wants me to drive first so we can take turns. It's a 3-hour travel time so he can rest for a bit in driving too.

I drove for more than an hour and just in time for switching driving seats, Lil B was getting a bit fuzzy and we are already at the bituka ng manok part.

Thoughts?

I did enjoy both night and day sea travel. I'd still prefer the big ship when traveling via sea because we didn't feel the waves at all. I was kind of scared about that at first but I loved how I can feel the sea breeze pass by my skin. I love cold, fresh air. We had a safe ride and good thing that it wasn't raining too. I can't imagine traveling via ship when it's raining. I have yet to experience that, it might be scarier.

You may check out my other related articles here:

The Avatar Travels - Book 1: Air

The positive

Maayong Adlaw Cebu!!!

lead image edited from Canva.

closing image edited from toonme.com

pictures posted are mine unless stated.

all original content. Micontingsabit

5
$ 1.02
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

That sounds altogether nice and not to much issues to deal with. I hope every travel is like that :D I have yet to try traveling by ship.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes i really hope that it's always like that kahit sa road trips. I usually get nauseous pag long drive ts nasa passenger seat sa likod

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have not yet tried sea travel. Allergic rin po ako sa shrimp thats why I always bring antihistamine.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako me too. Pero nagttake lang ako kapag mejo malala na or bahing na ko ng bahing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Allergy ka pala sa shrimp sis. 8 hours pala biyahe sis nuh malayo layo compare sa Hilongos kasi 4 hours lang. Ang saya lang mag biyahe din sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May port sa hilongos sis? 4hours kpag day time ba or gabi din? Papatignan ko nga sa asawa ko hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron sis. Diyan ako sumasakay sis nung nagtatrabaho pa ako sa Cebu sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe enjoy na enjoy at sulit talaga ang pagod anywhere you go basta you're with fam, wahh kung ako siguro yan puro suka lang ginawa ko hahaha di ko tapaga kaya mga sea travel hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako sis nakakapagod hahaha. Pero para sa bebe go lang! Mas ganda magbarko kapag di maulan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit ano pagod sis basta complete family lang kasama mo worth it parin!😀walang katumbas na saya basta kasama yung mga taong mahal na mahal mo.enjoy sis sa byahe at sa bonding,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Buti nga hindi maalon baka masukasuka ako nyan siguro HAHAHAHAHa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Twice lang ako nakasakay ng barko nung pumunta kami sa Manila tas balik dre sa Cebu grabe ka nindot jud na experience hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago