Movie Recommendation: Hustle

16 34
Avatar for Micontingsabit
1 year ago

062222

I am sure that there are basketball fans out there. Have you watched this movie titled Hustle?

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I am not a basketball fan. I only know a few moves in basketball that inwe discussed in highschool. Even if I don't watch basketball, I still find it cool to watch basketball games.

I also got a chance to work with a sports apparel, I should at least know a few players too.

Basketball players that I know

Don't laugh, I only know the ones who made it on the mainstream.

  • Michael Jordan

  • Shaquille O'Neal

  • LeBron James

  • Stephen Curry

  • Kobe Bryant

  • Kevin Durant

  • Paul George

  • Kyrie Irving

I basically know these basketball players just by their names. Why? I used to be a customer service representative in one of the BPOs here in Metro Manila, I was assigned in Nike. So obviously, Nike sponsors Jordan, LeBron, Kyrie, PG, Kobe, etc.

How about local basketball players?

Hmmm how about Benjie Paras, Robert Jaworski, Alvin Patrimonio? Too old school? Sorry, I don't know anyone, even local basketbal teams.

Alright going back to the movie. I am just here to share how good this movie can be for basketball and non-basketball lovers.

Here's the trailer so you can take a peek.

Let me just tell you that I am an Adam Sandler fan. I love his movies from 50 first dates, Blended, Pixels, Grown ups, The Wedding Singer, Click, Just Go With It, etc. I love RomComs and I love the way he acts in such type of movies.

Now let's break it!

Plot

Stanley Sugerman, an international basketball scout for 76ers, NBA continues to look for another basketball talent despite of his dreams to be a coach and enjoy his time near his daughter and wife. He lived his life travelling searching for the next basketball star.

Just in time when he was promoted as a coach thinking he could spend more time with his family now, they put him again in charge of being a scout which made him hit the road again. He was then asked to find the missing piece of the basketball tem 76ers.

He went to Spain searching and and found Bo Cruz, playing on the streets. Bo Cruz is a construction worker and was on a hustle for money, while playing with other basketball players on the streets. He do bets on court for money as a hustle for his family. Oh did I mention that he was just wearing boots while playing? Yes, he did and that's when Stanley noticed his talent.

He followed and asked Bo Cruz to go back to him in US to be trained and introduce him to his boss as he considered Bo as the missing of the team. While his boss, Vince, already had his eye on a different player he refused to see Bo play. Stanley still did find a way to let Vince see Bo play to change his mind, fortunately he did but Vince still didn't want Bo on the team. This made Stanley quit the company, started paying Bo with his own money so he can have something for this family back in Spain and trained him.

Due to some issues on Bo's records, he had a criminal assault which Vince didn't know about. For that reason, Bo didn't make it to the combine...

What did they do next?

I think it's time for you to watch the movie now. HHAHAHAHA.

Cast

Adam Sandler as Stanley Sugerman

Queen Latifah as Teresa 'T' Sugerman, Stanley's wife

Ben Foster as Vince Merrick, Stanley's boss

Juancho Hernangomez as Bo Cruz, the new basketball talent

Kenny Smith as Leon Rich a sports agent and Stanley's long time friend

Here are the other NBA players who appeared in the movie:

Thoughts

I loved it, even if I am not a basketball fan. I remember the next day my sister and his husband came over to our house and he is a basketball fan. I asked him if he already watched the movie, he hasn't and he said that there are real basketball players there and if I'd notice that the main character Bo Cruz wasn't that good in acting but it was already good enough for him to play the role.

Honestly, I didn't know that he was a real basketball player but his acting skills are just okay. You won't even notice that he's not a real actor maybe because of Adam Sandler. I don't know hahaha!

But for a non-basketball lover, I totally recommend this movie. I am not sure though if basketball fans would love the story.

Rating/Recommendation

I give it an 8 out of 10 rating. Why? Because I got hooked on the movie even if I am not a basketball fan. Just like any other Adam Sandler movie, this may really happen in real life.

If you don't have a Netflix account, perhaps you can check it out on Loklok. :)

It's been a few months since I've watched movies and write an article about it. Lil B's getting more active and walks and runs and climbs like crazy and I can't just take off my eyes of her that long, unless we are playing on her playpen while I am watching.

I actually watched this to put her to sleep which actually worked. Lil B woke up just when the movie was about to end and she watched it with me too.

Perhaps she might like playing basketball soon too.

Anyway, have a lovely day sporties!

Check out my other related articles here:

Pan de Salawal

In the Heights

3 in 1 - Third is my first

The Guilty

Acions speak louder than words : Mute

Disney movies moves adults too: Encanto

7
$ 1.85
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @itsmeCguro
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Micontingsabit
1 year ago

Comments

Uy ma try ko nga sa tingin maging maganda to Kasi I'm fan with those old and new NBA players

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go go go! Add na sa watchlist. Mas bet ko pa nga to kesa sa SpaceJam 2

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napanood ko half nito ate pero di ko tinapos. Hahaha. Hindi ko talaga kaya manood ng basketball movies. Ewan ko medyo allergic ako dyan wahahaha. Mas gusto ko pa mga sayawan like step up.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Si adam sandler lang talaga habol ko jan hahaha. Since nabanggit mo ang mga dance movies, napanuod mo na yung Honey?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You wrote it pretty well ate nabitin ako at gusto ko tuloy panuorin haha I'm an Adam Sandler fan too! Grabe lahat na napanuod ko! Dream guy ko lagi mga roles in Adam kasi funny and witty. Anyway, I saw this several times na on Netflix pero iniignore ko kasi di romcom eh madalas na movies nya ganun. Sign na to watch this siguro. Not a fan of basketball too pero I play it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako ako dn, nakalimutan ko na nga yung iba. Try mo panuorin ok naman dn sya kahit di romcom, infairness dn sa mga basketball players dn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My boyfriend also watched this already! Maganda nga raw po ate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang galing nga eh buti mga totoong basketball players kinuha nila mas naging makatotohanan ang aksyon sa court

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakikita ko yung movie na to sa trending list sa netflix pero di ko pa natry panoorin haha, but upon reading the plot mukang interesting kaya ilagay ko na sa movie watch list ko ;)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sakto nga release nila ng movie sa NBA season ata. Watch na kapag nasa mood ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have read a review of that movie here too and now I'm intrigued. I love the storyline.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go go gooooo! Watch it naaaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow it really shows how you love basketball, I also love basketball but only those famous ones, tulad nung nabanggit mo nung una, pero nawalan na ng time simula nung mag asawa ako hehehe.. pero gusto kong tingnan ko, pinanood ko yung buong trailer at nakaka excite panoodin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Di ako mahilig sa basketball sis, mahilig lang ako manuod ng movies hahahahaa. Volleyball kasi ako mahilig

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy oo nga sis, haha nasa taas nga pala "I am not a basketball fan. I only know a few moves in basketball that inwe discussed in highschool" haha.. sorry nadala kasi ako sa trailer ng movie 😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako SpaceJam lang HAHAHAHAHHAHAA.

$ 0.00
1 year ago