Let's Be Safe and Sound - pt1

18 55

050922

Learning how to drive is not my priority but it's a skill that I think I should learn.

My former boyfriend, now husband, asked me to get a driver's license. Let me share how I got mine.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Why? Because he always travel for work and he used to leave his car here in Manila. There were times that we will ask favor from someone who can drive or to pick him up from the airport and I want to avoid that. I don't feel comfortable asking a friend everything he comes home here to pick him up from the airport, that'll look like we have a driver.

Now, he actually brought back the car in the province cause he needs it for work too.

But let me share my attempt to learn how to drive.

Getting a student driver's permit

I already had one before the pandemic/lockdown happened. Literally just before it happened. My husband was here that time and we were still dating. He was with me when I got my first student driver's permit.

Did you see that date? It was also before LTO implemented new policies in applying for student driver's permit and driver's license. I thought, I was actually lucky that i was able to get one before they added a policy that applicants should take Theoretical Driving Course.

My husband started to teach me how to drive. We went to UP because we can go around there and not much public vehicles passing by.

I think it was also the same day when they announced that a lockdown will happen on March 15. He still left his car here in Manila and asked a friend to take care of it while the country's in lockdown.

After 6 months he got to go back in Manila again. He brought his car back in the office after he stayed here but of course, he still continued to teach me how to drive.

The hard part is you need to practice driving. It is a skill that needs muscle memory. I was just doing fine for a beginner, well since I also play car racing games like Need for Speed which kind of helped too. I just need to be familiar with the controls, space management on the road and parking.

Well after he stayed here and went back to the province, we found out that I was pregnant a month later. I wanted to driving lessons while I was pregnant too however, due to the restrictions, no driving school were open that time. When the restrictions were loosened, they still didn't allow me to enroll in driving school because I am pregnant. Plus, I can't go to LTO because I was one of the people restricted to a gov't office due to COVID. I was trying to get a driver's license before my student permit expires.

We actually found a driving school which can allow me to do my Practical Driving lesson but I will need to go to Valenzuela to take the exam. Uhm, I can't that time because I was pregnant hahahha! So yeah, I let my student permit expire.

Re-newed my student driver's permit

Since my first student permit expired on March 2021, I will need to go get another one but they have already implemented a different process and requirements.

Here are the requirements and how:

  1. You must be at least 16 y/o and above.

  2. You will need to submit an application form (which can be downloaded online)

  3. Submit an original and

    photocopy of PSA birth certificate; marriage contract for married women.

  4. Present and submit a photocopy of one valid ID with photo and signature.

  5. Theoretical Driving Course certificate.

  6. Medical cert from an accredited clinic

Theoretical Driving Course TDC

I took my Theoretical Driving Course from one of the driving schools who offers the the lowest rate. That time it was the lowest rate that I can could find and they are one of the few driving schools who has an online or self-paced learning.

I enrolled in the self-paced module because I can't afford to go out of the house for a long time. 2hours is my maximum time for me to at least go out. Padede mom problems.

It was a 15hour course that you will need to attend for at least a week or 3 days? However, I took a bit longer because there are quizzes at the end of every module. My husband also helped me answering my module while I nurse Lil B.

I took longer than the usual and finished it within less than a month but more than 2 weeks hehehehe.

Now my adventure to get my TDC certificate and medical certificate. I didn't have to pay for my medical certificate because it was already included in the package.

Getting my Student Driver's Permit

I went to LTO office twice for the trouble of my name but anyways, I was able to get one yesterday.

I needed to wait in line as usual. It didn't take me long to get my permit the first time. However, this time it took some time for some reason.

Let me also share how much we spent in acquiring a student driver's permit.

  • Theoretical Driving Course with medical cert - 1,850 pesos

  • Student driver's permit - 250 pesos

I was surprised to see that the fee was lowered to 250 pesos and they needed to take my picture. The permit simply looks like a driver's license but printed in bond paper HAHAHAHA! If you noticed on the picture above, it was 317 pesos.

Now I can start my driving lesson in Manual transmission. My husband asked me to take manual transmission driving because he can only drive an automatic transmission vehicle. Just in case that we needed to get a manual car if we rent or buy one in the future. Plus, manual transmission driving lessons are cheaper than automatic. Same goes if you buy one.

I have already enrolled in driving school and it costs 3300 pesos for M/T driving. It is an 8hr driving lessons and 2hrs per session, that's for 4days which will start on June 1. There are no more slots for this month so I will take the soonest schedule available.

Then after a month I can already apply for a driver's license. Maybe I'll get my driver's license in Leyte because we will go there soon.

I'll share what happened on my practical driving course next month. I am not excited but more like I am concerned to leave Lil B for this. Oh I just realized that after I take my driving lessons I can go ahead and get a driver's license. Huehue P. U. P. , Pila Ulit Pila. Hahahahha!

For drivers out there, do you already have a 10 year valid DL?

Do you have any driving tips for me too?

Share share share is care care care!!!

10
$ 10.86
$ 10.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 2
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

congrats momsh..ako baka di talaga ako matototo magdrive kasi parang ung eyesight ko pangmotor lang..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got my license before the LTO imposed the new restrictions. I was forced to buy an old, manual car and paid someone to teach me. But it's a different thing when there is someone with you inside the car watching you make decision. I decided to drive my car on my own after two days. I am happy to learn one survival skill. I am so proud of this skill. Now, with my second hand, automatic vehicle, I feel the joy of driving even more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am getting excited to take my driving lessons next month. My husband taught me how to drive an automatic vehicle and I feel that I just need to get the hang of driving and be familiar with the road.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations sis, drive safe. Sana magkalicense din ako kahit walang motor o di masyadong marunong pang valid ID lang HAHA 🤣 kidding motor lang alam kong edrive pero takot ako. Kaya di ako mumabyahe sa highway na

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako goooo! Yung id mo automatic 10 years na yun kahit di ka magdrive! Hahahs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po Kasi pinahaba pa ni President Duterte yung years sa license.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right I still don't have that kind of license but I still striving on how to drive first cause I'll be planning in getting it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If you have the means to get one, go ahead! It's a useful skill too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got my driver's license but still has a fear of the road. Kahit gano pa ikaw kaingat kung hindi maingat yung iba, madidisgrasya talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan sis. Kami noon muntikan na maipit ng 2 bus nakamotor lang kami ts sumulpot yung bus sa gilid. Scary, pero habol ko talaga Id hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My advice? it is important for you to learn about busy roads, traffic jams and uphill roads. But, I don't feel that I'm an expert, that's just come from my experience.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I also believe that practice is the key. However I can't practice my driving skills yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming prosesong pagdadaanan din talaga eh noh. Kaya yung iba eh lumalapit sa mga fixer..

Btw, gusto ko din matuto magdrive ng 4 wheels, motor lang kaya ko eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako di worth it bayad sa fixer. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba, hahaha.. Nagpafixer ako nun kumuha ako ng tin id, juako andmi kaai hinhingi eh wala ako nun, bayad ako pipti for 20 petot tin id😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag sa driver's license nasa 5k mahigit eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dami talagang pagdadaanan pag kumuha Ng drivers license mas mahirap pa Ngayon kaysa dati eh. Well congrats Po sa Inyo at drive safe Po

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank youuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago