Those were the days, my friends

7 53

My childhood was very memorable. It has lots of good and bad memories. Whenever I feel stressed, I just reminisce a certain experience from the past to help me feel calm or at least relieved.


“Growing apart doesn't change the fact that for a long time we grew side by side; our roots will always be tangled. I'm glad for that.” ― Ally Condie


Via Unsplash

Playing 31

It's a game wherein one of us will count 1-31 among us. Whoever got 31 will be the one who will chase the rest of the players. When he catches one, that player will also catch other players until everyone is caught. Whoever gets caught first will be the one who will chase again the other players.

It was such a nice game. If you are slow in running, you'll get caught very fast. My trick here before is that I will run away from them then find a way to enter our house. After that, I will wait for some minutes before appearing to them.

Slipped on a pond in a farm

This is not a good experience, but I still want to share it. I slipped before in a pond. The way is muddy because it was raining at that time. Then, I stepped in the wrong place that causes me to almost get drowned. Honestly, I have drunk a bit of water from the mud, but it was the least of my concern. Luckily, I have my other brothers and friends at that time. They laugh at me, but it's okay. When we went home, I said to my mom, and as expected, I was scolded. The fun thing there is that I was anxious if I have taken in some "bayyet" or tadpoles. Anyways, that is in the past already.

At primary school, there are lots of experiences too.

It includes teasing each other, hiding the pencil of my seatmate, and so on and so forth. We also got to play a lot of games before even the chinese garter, lol. I have a classmate before who jumps higher than the girls. His team always wins, and sometimes, when they are playing, I will do a tumbling right before their turn, then run afterward because they, for sure, will shout at me.

When having our math subject before, each one from the three rows has a representative, and I always volunteer myself. Our teacher will ask a question, and the three of us have to answer it. The first who can get it right will move one step forward. Whoever gets to the finish line first is the winner. I was very competitive in that kind of game, so I always win.

Those were the days, my friend. We thought they'd never end. We'd sing and dance forever and a day. We'd live the life we choose. We'd fight and never lose. For we were young and sure to have our way.

“When we are children we seldom think of the future. This innocence leaves us free to enjoy ourselves as few adults can. The day we fret about the future is the day we leave our childhood behind.” ― Patrick Rothfuss

Our childhood memories may be distinct from everyone else, but what matters the most is we enjoyed them. It made us feel like the world is not on our shoulders. Just kids who think that playing is the best thing and that making memories with friends, whether good or bad, is such a wonderful experience.


Recommended readings from the articles I have published:

Special Notes:

All Other Images used in this article (without watermark) are Copyright Free Images from Pixabay and Unsplash.

This is original content.

6
$ 7.39
$ 7.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Sequoia
+ 2
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Parang bitin ang When I was a Kid article mo. Haha. We want some more. Charrr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood memories were really the best 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa totoo lang nakakamiss talaga maging bata :). Nakakamiss yung mga araw na wala tayong iniisip kundi puro lang laro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo haha. Ang sarap maging bata. Kay gandang balik-balikan ang nakaraan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just too nostalgic. I can feel how you enjoyed your childhood. The game 31 and annoying my friends with chinese garter, I tried that too. It was such a nice feeling to be child. No more problem that much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tanging problema lang ay kung paano matatakasan si nanay para makapaglaro kapag hapon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha so true. Palo ang abot pag uwi eh. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago