A Writer's Struggle: Being Underrated

5 50

That feeling of giving out your best yet still feeling like others don't appreciate your work is such a bad feeling. I know it 'cause I've been there a lot of times, but my edge against the others is that I am still here and still writing because this is what I want, and I have a strong passion for it.

So if you are at the edge of asking yourself whether you should still continue it despite being underrated, you should still give it another shot. You know yourself better, and though others hardly recognize how actually good you are, do not relinquish. Instead, do what makes you happy and continue improving because one day, you will soon gain your spotlight.

Let's say it makes you feel demotivated. To address it, reflect and detect what has caused it. Is it because of low engagement? If yes, then try to interact more. Engage with your audience and reply to them as much as possible. Suppose, in reality, you are very timid that you can't even talk nor look at the eyes of someone else you are talking to. In that case, you may at least feel a bit comfortable in the virtual world because, just like here, it's a community of friendly individuals.

You have the option too to choose your desired username or picture without actually revealing who you are. With that, it could be easier for you to connect with other people here, and soon, as you continue doing it, you may even build up confidence, and most importantly, you will surely see the difference. Others will begin to discover your articles, and with that, you will for sure feel happy.

If you feel like you are being overshadowed by more popular writers, do not feel bad. Everyone here has been on that stage, too, and giving up early should not be an option. I understand if you feel like you are just being ignored by others. But to overcome it, reflect and assess your work. Look for some parts you can improve and from there, start exerting more effort to ameliorate them.

Suppose you are having a hard time composing an article in English because it is not your first language. In that case, you may either make use of online tools that can actually help you translate your words or sentences and correct your grammar or write using the language you are most comfortable with. Besides, it is not on the rule that you have to always write in English. Though it has its own cons if you write using this language, it is not bad to write in other languages as well.

While many reasons and instances make you underrated, there are more reasons and possible actions you can take to overcome these struggles. You just have to be patient and persistent in learning, reading, and improving because if you are doing these three things, the more that you make your articles better. With this, more people will discover you and interact with you.

Just keep in mind that though giving up can be an option, it should be the last option you should choose if and only if you think there is no more chance. But again, as I always say, applying these things is what we need. You cannot actually see a difference without taking the initiative to be better.

I hope you get the point and feel inspired in one way or another. Thank you!


Meet the writer behind this article:

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash 


If you are enjoying it, feel free to check these out too:

The lead image is from Unsplash.

© 2022 McJulez. All Rights Reserved.

9
$ 6.46
$ 6.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 4
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I was sad about this yesterday, I felt writers on this platform don't like my work but I won't give up, I'll hold on, thanks for this write-up. I'm trying my best to interact more and more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm new on read.cash and new to the blogging world in general but my key to not feel underrated is 1. I learn to appreciate good write up 2. I learn from the style of the writer that I appreciate 3. I don't focus on the earnings of big writers, rather I use them to estimate the earning potentials of the platform. 4. I focus on only what I can control which is to Learn and to Create. Thank you McJulez.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, we should keep the faith alive and believe it will get better for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are facing a robot that doesn't have a feeling and only acts according to its system. So many here are underrated. But I guess engaging is really necessary if you don't want to be underrated. In reality, well that's another challenge to face and only you could conquer it. No room for giving up here. 🙂 just keep writing and inspiring others. Interact as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The bes thing I've read so far. Everyone should really keep from writing and engaging because there is no secret towards becoming instant popular all at once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago