Spam is Good But Only as Food: My Take on noise.cash's Recent Update

12 73
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

I'm sorry, I'm just trying to be witty with my title. But in case you have been active in noise.cash lately, the admin and moderators have released a new update which turned the whole system into an uproar. Perhaps it's an exaggeration but you get my point. It is about the issue of eligibility. 

Two days ago, noise.cash "noised" about users who post low-quality content. 

Screenshot from noise.cash official account

Note: I believe we should normalize saying "noised" to mean posted in noise.cash platform; it is basically the same as posted, tweeted, or 'grammed in other social media sites. 

They even qualified what low-quality content means. A portion of their lengthy noise reads:

Screenshot from noise.cash official account

I used to be a one-line "noiser", and sometimes I even post quotes on the Quotes chamber. Fortunately, I am not a fan of Giveaways and sub-to-sub or tip-to-tip schemes so I can safely say I am not guilty of that. However, the recent announcement made me assess the quality of my posts. "Am I giving value?" "Am I writing quality content?" Perhaps I have relied mostly on the noise aspect of the platform and I presumed I can just noise whatever "noise" I have in mind. 

I love this noise from a certain user SnowUnderSun, that BCH platforms such as noise and read were intended to increase the number of transactions significantly and increase awareness of people about Bitcoin Cash which will affect the BCH price positively.

He also pointed out that while we are all happy with the FreeTips we receive, the platform has to meet its objectives. 

Giving out FreeTips in exchange for spammy posts and stolen pictures or emojis or as the technical term says, "low-quality posts" is NOT a sustainable business model, as SnowUnderSun remarked. The platform has to spend massive BCH without any income in addition to the salaries of the IT personnel, maintenance of the servers on top of the FreeTips distributed to users. 

Eligibility

So when the update was rolled out, users were eventually labeled as either:

  • Eligible - after assessing the account, the account qualifies to receive FreeTips from the system because the contents are deemed satisfactory, good, or excellent 

  • Eligible (not reviewed yet) - special status for older accounts that have been receiving FreeTips, but still for further review and might change to another status once reviewed.

  • Eligible (low quality, at risk) - means that the account will receive FreeTips, but only until some other accounts with better contents are found 

  • Not eligible - it means that the system has found the account lacking in substance and they don't want to sponsor the account anymore

  • Not reviewed yet - the account is relatively new and the system has not yet decided whether it will be given FreeTips or not.

But even with the roll-out, some accounts were mislabelled. Of which noise.cash has to say:

Screenshot from noise.cash official account

What are my thoughts on this update?

  1. I am thankful that at least spammers will be dealt with and will now be discouraged to post nonsense. Users who post random emojis or "s back" or "done" hijacking posts will be minimized, if not at all eliminated.

  2. Users with quality and sensible content will be given the platform. Crypto enthusiasts and newbies who want to learn more about BCH will be given the chance to get noticed. 

  3. The noise.cash platform will gear towards what it is supposed to be - a vibrant and healthy social media community, where inputs are rewarded and thoughts are encouraged.

  4. More people will become interested in Bitcoin Cash and ideas on how to onboard people, how to effectively spread awareness will be promoted well in the platform.

  5. Of course, FreeTips for quality content creators. This is both a challenge and a reminder. We are part of the BCH movement. We have to give back. 

Perhaps in the next few days, the spammers will be minimized, if not weeded out. It's not that noise.cash is being selective of its users. It's not that they are being selfish with the platform. Think of it as their home, and we are mere visitors. They want to clean their abode so we can fully enjoy their hospitality. They are very much willing to give us the best treatment they could offer. But if we vandalize their property or violate their house rules, then that gives them the right to keep us out else we'll cause more damage. 

Quality Content

As I end, I'd like to share noise.cash's description of quality content: 

Screenshot from noise.cash official account

Actually, I have written a similar post about that:

What is a Quality Content?
When it adds value. Quality content means you don't just take your readers for a ride. You give them something in return. Just like when you enter a restaurant, you expect to get your share of their delicious menu, and the best customer service they can provide. You want value for your money. You do not give out your hard-earned money in exchange for nothing. 

So whenever you write a post, make sure it is worth your readers' time. 

Remember, Spam is good, but only for food.

Sorry if you don't eat SPAM. :) 

My Other Ruminations On Bitcoin Cash:

Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people. 

11
$ 8.29
$ 8.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.02 from @Amnaaa
+ 2
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This is good in every way, we already have a lot of sheetz flying around there need to be some sorta quality and content control and I am a true believer of free speech but just copy pasting others work is no good for anyone. Nice article by the way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words bud. Yes, noise has no censorship and everyone is free to post whatever their thoughts are. It's just sad that most users I see there posts stolen pictures instead

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Hopefully the low quality posts and unrelated posts in noise chambers will be reduced.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. I hope so too. But actually, after a day since the update, the quality of the posts and comments have improved :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

S 🔙

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's so hard to compete with low content spammers everywhere. Our website has this problem a lot too, MintDice.com, with our free rewards. But crime usually doesn't pay there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's sad but they think that as long as they register to a given platform, they deserve to be rewarded.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

we will only be spam when we have gone too far in copying and pasting the details

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I agree. And there are lots who literally have gone too far which led to the update

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the way u write it ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just as I thought, as I went through your article. "hmm this one seems like a writer", and you really are an experienced blogger!

As for my take on the new update, I just hope that they fix their system about mislabeled accounts, soon. I understand that noise is still new and still has a lot to improve, and so are we.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, I feel sad for my friends who were mislabeled. But I'm pretty sure the legit ones will stay and will be rightfully rewarded hehe. Thanks for the kind words, bud. Appreciate it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago