Office Tips for Office Peeps: How To Be More Productive in The Workplace

2 41
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

If you come to the office regularly whether as a boss, a supervisor, or just a regular employee like me, you will benefit the most from this article. However, the things I will mention here may also be suitable to anyone who wants to increase their productivity. 

A brief background

I've seen posts in social media discouraging employees to give their best shot at work because no matter what happens, the company they are working for will never be theirs. They are not heirs of the company, so why work hard? While this is supposed to be a joke, I'd like to be the first to burst the bubble. Our attitude towards work reveals much about ourselves. Plus, I believe that to be entrusted with greater things, we need to be trustworthy with smaller things. If we cannot be excellent with what we have now, how are we going to do better when we have the bigger things we've been longing to have?

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

This list is not comprehensive, but let me share a few office productivity hacks that I find helpful. 

Come in early. 

If you can, try to arrive at the office before everyone else. This not only gives you the feeling of calmness and serenity, but it also gives you the chance to get more work done before the others arrive. If you give yourself ample time to come earlier than usual, you'll be able to prepare yourself for the tasks ahead. Coming in early also allows you to ease into your day rather than having to hit the ground running at full speed.

Hide your phone during the workday. 

This is slightly difficult but very helpful. When you get into the office, keep your phone in a desk or bag and leave it there until lunch or breaktime. Having your phone nearby will only tempt you to check your social media accounts. Also, don't cheat yourself by using social media or surfing the internet for non-work-related sites on your laptop or desktop. Focus on your work. You'll see how many tasks you'll accomplish if you can keep your phone on silent and out of sight. Remember, out of sight, out of mind. 

Don't be afraid to delegate. 

I have this tendency to do some tasks solo because I think having others helping me will only slow me down. But this is not always plausible. You can focus more on the bigger "chunks" if you will delegate the smaller ones to others. Don't wear yourself out if you can seek help from others. If there are portions of the project that can be completed by someone else, don't be afraid to ask another person to handle them like photocopies or filing documents.

Keep noise-canceling headphones or earbuds on your desk. 

I often do this especially when I am balancing figures on my financial reports. Sometimes our chatty workmates will distract us or some unnecessary noise will take our attention away from what we do. Not only will headphones help you drown everyone out, but having them on also sends a silent message to others that you'd rather not be disturbed unless it's necessary. 

PRO TIP: Wear your headphones even when there is no music on as a "do not disturb" sign. 

Admit when you don't understand or know how to do something.

It doesn't hurt to admit when you are not knowledgeable on a certain topic or process. Claiming to understand what you don't understand can severely hurt your productivity and integrity. When you don't know, say so. In this way, the asker might look for others who are knowledgeable about the topic at hand, and you will be spared from unnecessary trouble. But if you want, you can try to learn the ropes so the next time you'll be asked, you will know what to do. 

Don't be a multitasker. 

study by Stanford researchers found that people who multitasked were more distracted and had a harder time remembering what they were doing than those who didn't multitask. You get it right - multitasking is not real. Instead of helping you do more, it slows you down instead. So next time, do one task and then move on to the next. Don't do two or more things simultaneously. By giving each task your complete focus, you'll do a better job and get everything done faster. 

Before I conclude this post, I'd like to emphasize that it is not about being productive for the sake of being productive. It is about giving your best shot at work because the quality of your work greatly reflects you as a person. 

Do you have other tips in mind to add to the list? Feel free to share in the comments below!

Read my other blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock! 

4
$ 15.76
$ 15.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I found most of this true and effective. I’m usually at work one hour before the designated time because I don’t like rushing myself 😂 and I can never bring myself to multitask, it slows me down more 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe the calm before the storm! I also love it when I'm the only person in the office. Very relaxing 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago