Level Up Your Productivity Through Relationships

2 26
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I had it rough today in the office. My officemate gave me the silent treatment for no apparent reason. She became sulky and irritated. I don't know if it's "the time of the month", or she's just having a bad day or she's just not in the mood to work. All I know is I don't want to encounter her bad side. 

Her attitude made me realize what my greatest pet peeve is: short-fused people. Knowing myself, I can be patient with people especially when I see them needing EGR: Extra Grace Required. But when people would lash out at me, I should at least know why!

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

The workplace can be a breeding ground for relational friction and disagreements. Since people come from different families, different backgrounds, and different preferences, conflicts are inevitable. But how can we level up our productivity through professional relationships?

Be open-minded

Just because something has "always" been done a certain way in your office doesn't mean that it's the right way. Expand your horizon. Get out of the box. If you see a way to streamline something that's already being done in your office and make it better, speak up. Don't be afraid to recommend new ideas and processes. Too often we get stuck in the way things are done and don't think about how those ways can be improved. 

I experienced this in one of my previous employments. The higher-ups were mostly old men and women who prefer to stick with their traditional styles. Technology and social media posed a steep learning curve to them. When the leaders welcomed a new breed of thinkers, the organization opened new doors of opportunities. Perhaps the next million-dollar idea is already within the organization, just waiting to be heard. 

Find a mentor. 

It's easy to get stagnant in a position, losing the motivation or know-how to move yourself to the next level. The solution to this is to find someone a few steps above you on your desired career path and ask that person to be a mentor. A mentor can help make suggestions on what you should do next so you're not wasting time doing things that don't get you to your ultimate goal.

Finding a mentor can be taxing but it is rewarding. You cannot just ask someone to be your mentor - at least there must be qualifications. The first thing you need to consider is his integrity. You don't want to be associated with someone who lives in duplicity. Another quality is excellence. You want to learn from the best. Consider his work ethic, his techniques, his best practices. What makes him outstanding. Lastly, check his values. Be sure to get the best learning from someone who shares your deepest values in life. 

Learn from your colleagues. 

If you know someone in the office who can get similar tasks done much faster, ask the person how he does it. Try to learn the strategies employed. You can either imitate the technique, improve it or come up with a new way to work that is all your own. The bottom line is not to think of your colleagues as competitors, but as partners for professional growth. As the saying goes, iron sharpens iron. 

In the previous workplaces I've been to, I learned that some works best while eating snacks, others while listening to music, others after drinking their cup of black coffee, while others prefer silence, and others take down important notes as they work. Different strokes for different folks. 

These are just some of the ideas I can think of how to boost your productivity through your relationships. It is not only applicable with office set-up but in other areas where you need to be in constant connection with people. 

Do you have other tips to add? Share in the comments below. 

Read my other blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock! 

6
$ 14.85
$ 14.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The tips are helpful, indeed having a mentor helps as well as learning from other people through their experiences. This will save us from failing !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, indeed!

BTW I saw your YouTube vids, your Bullet Journals :) I love the creativity and the passion you exert in every spread of your journal :) Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago