How was Your Holy Week?

7 72
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

First of all, we are not celebrating holy week in our family because there is no such thing in our religion. Yet, so much respect and appreciation for those people who are doing such religious things during holy week because we see how hard and passionate they’re doing it. So much passion and faith they put into their thing every holy week. On the other hand, some are used to spending their holy week on vacation such as going to the beaches or parks with the family or spending their whole week reading and singing the usual religious songs I usually hear from the nearby church.

Indeed, holy week is somehow served as a rest for every Filipino. Especially, for a student like me because the universities and schools always give us 3 to 5 days of holy week vacation. Before the pandemic, we used to go to beaches with my family, may it be in nearby or a long ride to take. We used to have an outside vacation every holy week comes, but it all changed as we suffered from this chaotic and miserable challenge to this world comes. It’s been 3 years to be exact that we don’t have any trip every holy week because of that. I just missed taking photos and storing them in my gallery. I just missed the times that I don’t have to wear face masks. That’s why I am not used to going outside since we started and were mandated to use them. Therefore, being and staying at home isn’t bad after all. Maybe, I am just used to it, but having more than 8 hours of sleep becomes a dream for me during this pandemic. I always sleep every 3 am; maybe, because my body is used to it and becomes my body clock, but I stayed up that late for the activities I need to finish.

How are you this holy week? To me, this holy week is somehow a serve as rest because I managed to sleep more than 8 hours again. On Monday, after I wrote my article, An Open Letter to the Person Behind my Growth, I just noticed that the holy week is already happening. The energy I stored while waiting for the holy week just come out of the cage in me and just burst like I don’t even want to do anything but sleep as much as I can. Well, the inner spirit of being a student in me can’t agree with my plan and contradicts it all so I still wrote 2 articles this week, this article is the third. Well, it is also for good because my brother and I accumulating together for the month’s bill. There is no such a solid rest that must take into account this week; hence, I still managed some time to take time to play with some friends. Also, to reflect on some things I encountered these past few days. Indeed, they say this is the time to rest your mind, and I did that, to be honest. Yet, it feels new to me that I didn’t open my Google classroom to check my activities these past 2 days because I usually do that thing, I mean, every time. Long story short, I can probably say I am ready again for tomorrow’s hell schedule as we are expecting that there will be a bunch of activities to be added to our list of to-dos. Therefore, though I still cheat, and continue some parts of the essays I promised I will continue on Monday, I am happy that I was able to have some time for the things I used to do before. I just realized that some bonding time with myself or ‘me time’ I called it is the missing and forgotten part I didn’t take for a while. As of now, I am not engaging myself as much as I can with things I see on social media. Those could trigger me at some points so checking that media when needed, especially the Facebook Messenger when our professor chooses to check us out, is my choice as of now to keep myself calm. The rewarding system is back again to my goals. I intended it to be back to my things because that is the only factor I can push myself to continue to accumulate and that even push me to make my time more manageable because it boosts me.

Above all, happy Easter Sunday, and may we finally take the rest we deserve not only this holy week but also every day. Days are becoming harder and harder than we thought so we must be ready at all times.

Thank you for reading this article.

You can read my previous articles here:

Music is What Makes me Calm These Past Few Days.

Words That Used to be Hidden.

A Lonely Walk at the End of the Week.

A Help That is Also a Rest.

An Open Letter to the Person Behind my Growth.

12
$ 9.93
$ 9.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @WanderingMedStudent
+ 5
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

Comments

Holy weak.....are you talking about Easter??? Plzzz share some detail with me i really want to know about holy weak.....you know i always wait eagerly for Eid...but on the day of Eid i do the same as you.....sleep sleep and sleep hahahahahah Love to read your article .....have a great holy weak.....God bless you...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean, yes. There is a day called "Easter Sunday" that is part of the holy week. I don't know what names they call on the other days of that special week because I am not a member of the roman catholic, so I am not that familiar with it, but hearing that Eid, bro, it sounds like a holiday as well if it is in my country, maybe looks like what I mentioned in this article, but I know that it is a special event as well for you. On the other hand, I couldn't agree more with what you do during holidays, sleeping is a must! HAHAHA. I am grateful to meet you, bro. I am glad you loved my article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Holy week is a time for reflection. We stayed mostly at home. The Good Friday procession was supposed to remind us of the Passion of Christ. The floats show the different parts of that story, which we should reflect upon. As for Easter Sunday, we just went to the Church and then had some snacks. We never go to the beach on an Easter Sunday because of the crowd.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayy yung Holy week ko naabot pa sa modules HAHA walang pahingang pagsagot sa modules ng mga pinsan ko. Sana all nalang sa mga nakapag beach

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo mahaba ang pahinga namin since this week is holy week and next week is academic break. I have 7 days left to enjoy my vacation. Well, hindi naman kasi ako pala-labas basta may food sa bahay okay na. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang di kayo nakapagbeach. Yung mga catholic relatives namin nagyaya ng pangasinan eh. Ikukuwento ko yon sa next article ko haha. Nagpahinga lang rin ako nung holy week pero ngayon nag turn in ako ng mga activities na ginawa ko last week haha. At least nakapagpasa na hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never heard of a holy week as a celebration or week of rest. I assume it depends on where you live? In the country where I grew up/live the only free days are Eastern (Sunday and Monday) and some children are free off on Good Friday. People work, Christians included. 💖🍀

$ 0.00
2 years ago