Why People Tend to Ignore an Introvert?

37 61
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, People

Introvert - a person whose personality is characterized by introversion : a typically reserved or quiet person who tends to be introspective and enjoys spending time alone.

I just have to start with the definition in order to avoid confusion that being an introvert is normal. We have them in the society, they can be our friend, classmate, sibling, colleague, boss, etc. However, they are often misinterpreted as snobbish, picky, killjoy, shy, and at worst some bullies would tag them as autistics. Imagine?! Of which, I would strongly disagree. Being a Physiotherapist, I once worked with Occupational Therapists in a Community-Based Rehabilitation setting and witnessed that autism is a behavioral condition or disorder, and children diagnosed with autism are seriously hard to deal with. It is something that should be dealt with medically and psychologically. So, NO, whichever case, no one should be bullied for being unique and special.

Why did this topic come to light?

Well, it’s Sunday and I got free time in the afternoon. My 2 hours in the morning were spent with a patient, so I won’t call this day my off duty, sigh. Anyway, it was a day well spent with the family in the afternoon so, all good.

My sister watched the episode she missed in the TV show Pinoy Big Brother (Philippines), and while watching some segments of the show I was taken aback with the intimidating reality that being an  introvert person means less useful. Would you agree with that?

This poor teen has been struggling being misunderstood by the housemates, and apart from that was a family history that he felt the same way from his very own family. He felt that he became a burden to everyone with his personality and actions in dealing with the people around him.

Moreover, it’s heartbreaking to see kids having a hard time expressing themselves and would resort to being alone, misunderstood. On top of that are his unfinished baggage of misunderstandings from his own family, and the inconvenient fact that he can’t talk to them at the moment to settle the issue. Sigh. 

Though I find myself ambivert most of the time, I can still relate how it is to be introverted because somehow I tend to be acting likewise in big crowds. There is nothing wrong with that, I think we always have a choice. 

Introverts, some call them timid, should not be rationalized as less useful because, for me, our lives, as unique as we are, have meaning and purpose in the world that we live in. There should be no sense of inferiority, our worth and identity does not come from our personality.

So, when people ignore you for being introvert and timid, don’t look down on yourself. We all have our value and significance. The confident and the extroverted can neither judge you and exalt themselves as the best in the flock.

“Be yourself, but always your better self.”  - Karl G. Maeser


Photos from Pixabay: Lead Image, Article Photo

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

04/03/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me on Twitter and Telegram @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard


19
$ 8.26
$ 7.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.06 from @Dreamboy
+ 14
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, People

Comments

because they don't think like us, doctora! People find it difficult to understand introverts like us since we don't express ourselves very vocally. Introversion is more often a label given first by outside people. We don't know who we are until others are around.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is really true madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

at first I misunderstood being called an introvert person because I interact but the same as others, I have friends that I can count only on fingers so why are they calling me an introvert. And then I came to realize now why and i'm fine with it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yah who cares dba, it's normal to have our own space and with small friends..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are all unique and we have to respect each other in that way, I totally agree with you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true and thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If people ignore me and are introverts, I don't care about them, as long as wala akong ginawa sa kanila, I pray ko nalang, na sana mataohan sila sa mga ginagawa nila, proven ko na yan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan, and the less we talk the less we hurt people so all good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Your right sis LykeLyca, ignore natin ang ganyang mga tao,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I been an ambivert too, for quite awhile. and I have this friend way back in college that is introverted. It takes time to understand him since he's quiet most of the time. But I felt happy when we became friends eventually and that I can finally throw jokes at him sometimes haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww that is really nice that you reach out to him and became his friend, not all people understands them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May close akong introvert ate nakakaamaze yung thinking at everything namagsasalita talaga nakikinig ako kasi bihira lang naman.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay uu mga genius halos introverts, we learn a lot from them talaga..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my case Sis kasi daw mukhang mataray o snobber hahha at of course killjoy. Di nila alam reason ko bakit di ako makapunta, minsan di rin ako comfortable.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We don't need to explain everything to people, minsan mas okay deadma hahah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I couldn't agree more, doc. I also have a friend who is an introvert and never in my life that I misinterpret her actions as being silent most of the time. I love her the way she is. ❤

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nahayssssuuu, I'm an introvert at wala na talaga akong pake sa iba if anong sabihin nila sakin. I enjoy my own company and kiber ko ba sa kanila, chorrr haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ikaw na! Hahah! Pero totoo yan madam minsan mas okay na e deadma nlng ung mga opinion ng ibang tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me as an introvert person I find introvert people more interesting than extrovert because when they share about themselves they are the most interesting people with different views over the topics and world. And it's fun to get to know them and push their buttons haha. There are lots of different types of people and we shouldn't oppress any other types and think that only one is the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lovely article sis.. i have many introvert friends, we must indeed respect their space and indeed, no one should be bullied because of uniqueness

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's totally depend on our self, what we like to stay in introvert or extrovert. If some one ignore us for be introvert then it's not our problem. Its their problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Personally, naiilang ako sa kanila ate. Kasi nahihirapan akong kapain kung anong dapat unang sabihin ganun.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo rin yan, pero minsan mas admirable if masimulan mo sila kausapin kc di mo alam kelangan din nila pala ng kausap...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to be an introvert but became an extrovert but I can also be both. hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako pud sis, nung younger years ko intro din ako, pero nung ma aware na ako about myself I try to open up sometimes..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sa college na pod ko nka feel og freedom hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am an introvert though my extroverted attitude comes out sometimes. I so love my privacy, the peace and quiet makes my day and there's nothing wrong with that. Being an introvert is not a sin neither is it a crime or disease. Every introverted being is unique. Everyone is unique in their own way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is really true. I guess we all have those moments that we enjoy our own personal space, it's healthy actually!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This article seem to be bringing out a certain anger in me. It's really quite shameful that in the 21st century, people still judge other people on the basis of outward appearance and inclinations. Introverts are some of the best people you can ever meet on the face of this planet, if you will just take your time to know them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh! I think the Millenials are worst too in keeping up with the different types of personality... Indeed, you're right introverts can be silent but a gem!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for bringing this topic to the consciousness of readers through this article. Such a situation is really saddening tho. As an introvert myself, I do feel and understand how hard it must have been and the dire need to mitigate the stigma that surrounds to this kind of personality. I just wish that one day, the world would see life with respect regardless of how one's self-expression was like.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True, it's disturbing that teens have to deal with it, being judged is the worst..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Introverts are get bullied by various voracious animals in our society. In a one sentence " when bad times has ended, a new one has come ".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a cycle...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw poor kid. :( Tough situation specially it is very hard for introverts to express themselves or open up even. When the world demands an answer it pins us pressured and we know that sometimes how we think and see things is not normally how most would agree with. So apart from him feeling, the thought of expressing is also already very tiring. Hard.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dba nkaka sad talaga, kaya it's kinda disturbing for me kc ang hirap sa part nya na secluded in a house with all mixed up personalities tapos sya pa may issue... hirap nga..

$ 0.00
1 year ago