The Mysterious Daytime Robbery

28 39
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

My nephew yesterday evening noticed that his Samsung Tablet was missing. And after half an hour search in the house, my mom discovered that her necklace was gone too!

I think we were robbed!

I had my day off from work yesterday, but I never got a chance for some "ME" time. My day was jam-packed with errands here, there and everywhere. After breakfast, I accompanied my mom to town for grocery, my nephew was in the neighborhood for his module tutorial, and my sister left the house too to buy garden soil, everyone left leaving the front door locked but the kitchen door opened. We arrived past lunch time, my sister first after she fetch my nephew. In between those hours, someone entered inside from our kitchen door and robbed us!

Grrr! This is really so annoying! We never expected this to happen. We've been living peacefully in this house and in this neighborhood for like 20 years and this never happened even once!

In front of our house, there's a renovation going on. We have this commercial space for rent, and for a couple of days now a renovation team from the new tenant is currently working. I suspected that someone from the laborers got inside and robbed us, since they can access the kitchen from the shop! Now, we don't have any idea what else this heartless crap got, it seems he was able to freely shop some valuables in my mom’s house!

The local authorities in the barangay helped us to interrogate the renovation team working in our commercial space today, as expected no one admitted the crime, so, unfortunately nothing was recovered. We are advised to submit blotter police report just to make them aware that we haven't taken this case lightly. This morning I went to the nearest police station and thank God it was fast and easy, I was able to finish it before their lunch break and avoided the anxiety of going back and forth.

My dad considered putting up CCTV camera but installing and maintaining it is costly, my suggestion is to completely close the kitchen door from the tenants, so maybe we really need to provide a new toilet for them, which will take time to plan and work on, and of course, the budget is a headache to think about.

Going back to the theft update, I presume no justice for us from this untoward incident, but God is on our side, and He is just. Justice will be served for anyone responsible.

P.S.

I had this article published few years back on another writing site. It resurfaced while I was checking on my old phone's notepad, I also find some of the poems I made, aww that got me nostalgic, lol! Anyway, I shared this article back here because there has been an update on that mysterious daytime robbery.

Last month while my brother and I went jogging in the neighborhood, we stumbled upon a 'Winnie the Pooh' Samsung tablet casing in a pile of trash from the outside of a neighbors apartment, I think they have it disposed and waiting for the garbage truck to pick it up that early morning. At the back of our mind, we were so confident that the Pooh tablet casing belongs to my nephew, it still has the stubborn ketchup stain on the rubber edges of it. No matter how old it has gone missing, we can never go wrong about it. Coincidentally, one of the renters of this apartment is the carpenter who also worked with the renovation team, and later we find out that he got bedridden because of Stroke or Cerebrovascular accident.

This is the irony. We got so mad about it that day it happened, we even brought this up to the barangay and the police. Now, with the twist of fate our lives went through, no matter how certain we are, we can never go and confront someone of his fault (or his crime) - not on his recent state of being out of shape, bitten up on life and in agony about his disease.

So, in the end, we choose not to be certain and we choose to forget about it.

Would you opt to do the same?

__________________

Some recent articles from this author:

Gossips and How to End it?

Are You a Fan of Food Fads?

Hakuna Matata: No Worries - Why Worry?

My Family's Traditional All Saint's/ Soul's Day

___________________

Photos from Pixabay (free to use)

______________________

Write your world and earn Bitcoin Cash! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

______________________

#DaytimeRobbery #Irony #JusticeServed

18
$ 5.36
$ 5.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

interesting twist of events...sorry for the brevity...deadlines...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No worries! Same here, I'm out for 2 days, got caught up busy in real life. Catching up in a bit :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great i have subscribed you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Robbery is not good thing, if someone want to robber something big, he must need to be very experienced person. Otherwise if you caught, you life is dishmish

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know, he must have done it already and not get caught to have the guts to do it again in our house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I was robbed in a way, they took 300 euros from me, I wrote about it, but unfortunately no one can help me, not even the police.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that's really bad.. The police can't help without proof or evidence, a sad reality in our case.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry for the loss friend. You've been living peaceful in that area for more than twenty years without such issue. I'll advice you be more security conscious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Thank you. Unfortunately, nothing is constant in the neighborhood, people come and go especially now our place is a bit crowded already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Karma caught up with him. Nor everyone would have done same. Maybe I would have but I can never be so sure till I'm faced in that situation which I pray not to be. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He must be so lucky, I hope no one will follow his suit..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's called karma.. If I were in your shoe..maybe I will get mad at the robbery...but of course not the time he is already bedridden, But if it's my mom, she will forgive and forget 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Karma indeed! and I think he already got his punishment that's what my mom said.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Poverty is what makes other people do bad things. .. But i guess it is not a valid reason..there areany good ways to achieve or buy something we like..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

just amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago