Gossips and How to End it?

5 30
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Do you ever gossip?

I think, we all do.. at some point in time.

Photo from Pixabay

Gossip is as universal as eating and sleeping. We might deny that we never indulge ourselves in gossiping about our colleague and neighbor, but we do talk about politics and how you hate the protagonists of your ideals, and how about our favorite TV/ movie stars and why they ended up with better or worst lives, those are still considered gossiping.

Whenever we gossip, and no matter what motive impels us, we are really seeking just one goal: something to boost our self egos. How many times do we mask our guilt feelings with this self- righteous thought “Well, I’m not so bad – look what he/ she did!” Now, does that ring a bell on you? Making comparisons and ending up starting a groundless rumor about someone.

And as most people said that usually the kind of gossip we indulge in is a mirror of our inner selves. If you tell stories of your friends infidelities, you might be expressing possibly from your own unconscious desire to be unfaithful. If you gossip about racial or religious prejudice,you may be seeking a scapegoat of your own social insecurity. Almost any personal anxiety will serve gossip’s purpose.

Photo from Pixabay

Now that we know that gossiping reveals our inner woman – or man, are you busy to swap information about other people?

Is there still a chance to end gossiping? Yes, and it always depends on us.

So, how can we control our tongue and put an end on it?

1. Don’t be afraid to ask for evidence to support a rumor passed on to you. Whatever it is, let the story end with you.

2. Consider whether or not the gossip you are about to relate reveals any of your own unconscious desire to meddle with.

3. Distrust all gossip that reflects a current social madness, whether racial, political or just a bitter fight between friends.

4. Learn your own weakness, you don’t need a scapegoat of your insecurities.

Just some few tips in how to mind our own business, I’m sure you got a lot of intelligent ways to stop it.

Lastly, just want to highlight this verse from the Bible.

P.S. I got this article in writing after watching one single episode of the Gossip Girl on Netflix, the enhanced quarantine procedure in our city for a month really dragged me on that series,lol! Just one episode though). Way back 2010, I have friends in the department so engrossed about it, but I never got a chance to join the bandwagon might be because I don't like the title and/ or Dr. Grey (the American medical drama series) kept me busy hahah! Anyway, I don't want to be biased commenting about the Gossip Girl show and jotting my review because I haven't watched the entire thing. A glimpse of it was enough to move me in sharing my thoughts that gossiping is pretty common in life, and its commonality is destructive in a lot of ways.

Thanks for reading!

______________________

Some of my recent articles that might interest you :

What Causes Back Pain

Have You Tried Bidding Items Online?

The Mirror's Reflection of You

Help Your Child Excel With Online Classes

Dream Interpretation: Wedding

______________________

Write your world and earn bitcoin cash! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

______________________

Photos from Pixabay

Photo with watermark is MINE

______________________

#Gossip #

4
$ 0.59
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

I always like to learn about it and now i learned

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will never forget the last time I confronted someone talking behind my back gossiping about the business I didn't know existed. Don't let anyone make a fool out of you. We should know when to keep our mouth shut and when to speak. And as for me, lay out your cards let me see if you've got an ace cause I've got 4 of them. That shuts her up and from that day on never bother me again. I don't like gossiping, I like stating a fact. If I have nothing good to say I shut up my mouth but still depends if you're letting me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

if you do not care, people who do this is loose their interest to do this, just ignore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there will always be gossip no matter how hard you try not to gossip, unconsciously or consciously.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Especially if we are around people inclined to it.. we can always listen and just stop it from there. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago