Drops of Jupiter

39 45
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Tribute, People, Music

Nothing much to do on quarantine, so I'm in my YouTube and came across the videos/ songs in my "All Time Fave" playlist. I could no longer remember when I created this, but I'm sure that I did, because all the songs are indeed my favorites - songs that I would often come back listening.

"Drops of Jupiter" by Train, is in the playlist and of course I have plenty of time to even browse the comment section, lol! (Yah, that does not happen so often) I stumbled upon one comment that the song was inspired and written after Monahan's mom who passed away from Cancer. By the way, Monahan is the lead singer and songwriter of the band Train.

I insert the video here, you might like listening to it while reading.

However, this is not a review, I am writing this because while I listened to the song it brings back memories of departed loved ones.

August 28, the birthday of my great grandmother, Apong. Yes, you've read it right, my grandmother's mom was 100 years old when she died from old age I think. I was in 2nd year high school that time, thus I have vivid childhood memories of her. We used to play "sungka" while she would narrate stories of her youth, their life during World War II, and what was my grandma and my mom like when they're still little. I can picture her, perhaps adventurous and jolly in her youth. Thus, I wanted this line from the song for her;

"But tell me, did the wind sweep you off your feet?
Did you finally get the chance to dance along the light of day
And head back to the Milky Way?"

-Train

August 28, also the birthday of my cousin, Augustus, also the feast day of Saint Augustine, but his mom told me that he was named before the great leader Augustus Caesar. He passed away 2 years ago from suicide. I'm crying at this very moment of writing because his story was just so melancholic and surreal, yet I can only picture him as a deep soul with so much passion, energy and drive for life and his causes. He goes into marathons, run with friends, and picks up trash along the way cause he believed that we should "clean as we go". He was a political science professor and law student who never runs out of reason. A barangay councilor that inspires other people. Just ironic and unbelievable, that he runs out of purpose to continue living. Whatever scars and pain, this is my message for him from the line of this song;

"And tell me, did you fall for a shooting star
One without a permanent scar?
And did you miss me/ us while you were looking for yourself?"

- Train

Photo by Augustus, my cousin, on his Facebook.

Lastly, my two grandmothers so dear to me, Lola Nene and Mama Ying. "The Soul Sisters," that's what I call them now whenever I remember them chatting on their favorite spot on the patio. My Lola, Mama Ying loves to visit her sister Lola Nene that lives with us, among the siblings they're the ones close with each other. I can say that they shared a lot of memories together, even got hospitalized together in their last year on Earth. Lola Nene, the eldest died that year 2011, the following year Mama Ying passed away before her sister's death anniversary. I miss them both, and I love this line of the song for them;

"Now that she's back in the atmosphere
With drops of Jupiter in her hair, hey, hey, hey
She acts like summer and walks like rain
Reminds me that there's a time to change, hey, hey, hey
Since the return from her stay on the moon
She listens like spring and she talks like June."

- Train

Photo by me. Sent this image before the burial of Mama Ying, since I was overseas that time and it was impossible to go home. It was framed by my mom and now displayed in my grandma's mausoleum.

Just a little tribute to these beautiful souls, spreading love and drops of Jupiter with their memory.

Thanks for reading!

Love life and live loving... ❤️

P. S. Thank you @FarmGirl for renewing your sponsorship!


You might also like reading;

A Tribute to a Teacher Who Believed In Me

Love In Different Ways

Conversations

Simple Joys In Life


Lead Image/ Flower Photo by Me, from my Flickr account. All Rights Reserved.

1st Photo (Sunset Image) by Augustus Caezar, in Facebook.

Content is MINE. All Rights Reserved.


18
$ 7.56
$ 6.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 10
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Tribute, People, Music

Comments

It's really a nice song. I like old songs. They are usually nicer to listen. In the recent music, they add a lot of effects that are just noise. In old songs, every sound is good !

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You got it right! I still prefer old songs too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

September 1st, today, is my mom’s 3rd death anniversary. My mom is a Christmas celebration enthusiast. She has a lot of christmas decor collections as well. I remember her more during this season. There is this also this one song I liked and its her that i remember whenever i hear it. It’s called Christmas in Heaven by Scotty McCreery

https://youtu.be/LUtc_olEiRY

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, i know you're missing her now sis. Sending virtual hugs... ❤️

I remember Scotty McCreery way back his American Idol journey.. Checking this song.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m a scotty die hard fan. Will make an article about him and the day i met him face to face in Warrendale PA. Abang abang hihi 😍🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously?! Hala ang bongga nmn! I like him too but rooting for Jessica Sanchez that time sa idol... aabangan ko talaga yan gwapo nya rin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jessica Sanchez is the next batch after Scotty. She lost over Phillip Philips but I do understand your confusion since there is also a Filipino girl who made it to the top 10 during Scotty’s time. And yes bwelo lang po post ko talaga date ko with Scotty hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got emotional while reading this doc. Na mimiss ko tuloy yung lolo kong palangiti.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hugs sis.. I'm sure ga cge pa toh smile karon kay naa na sya sa langit... ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It saddens me for I remember my departed ones as well while reading this. They maybe left us but we must not forget them and the good deeds they brought to us. The memories will always remain in our hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed madam, they will forever be in our hearts.. xo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May their soul in God's loving arms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got emotional while reading this one po.. Namissed ko tuloy yung kapatid ni lolo ko. she used to make tamarind candy for us.. then pag may nga kasal nagtitinda siya ng candy then linilibre niya kami ng balot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sweet nmn ni Lolo, parang ganyan yata mga lolo at lola mas sweet sila sa mga apo nila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sad and I'm sorry for what happened ma'am.🥺 Sending prayers for them..🙏

I like sungka naglalaro din ako dati. Ingat ka lagi ma'am Lyca..❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. I like this game too kaso wala na kami nyan ngaun, di ko alam nasan na heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din maam. Tagal ko na din hindi nakapaglaro ng sungka... Excited ako lagi noon pag maglaro na kami..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that 😢 bigla ko tuloy naalala si lolo.dto 😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga kka miss sila madam 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's just amazing how songs can bring so much memories! sending virtual hugs!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nkaka emote talaga mga songs sis.. Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true yan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im teary-eyed right now. It flashbacks all the memories I had with the people I love. 💗 I love the song by the way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes! Dami magaganda songs ang Train.. Sendings virtual hugs sis ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A beautiful tribute❤ Your cousin's story is really sad but only he knows why he ended life that way... we can only pray that he is happy now, where ever he may be...🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed madam, nkapanghinayang lang. Meron sya iniwan na letter for his family, it was victory for him. Pero masakit pa rin eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly, sayang talaga. Pero siguro don talaga nakita yung fulfillment nya that he even left a letter of victory for his family to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It made me emotional.. I remember my grandparents 😞❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sending virtual hugs ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm crying at this very moment

hugs doc :( sad to hear about Augustus.

I like this song but never thought it was about a passing of the singer's mom. This is a heartwarming tribute to dearly parted ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ito nakukuha madam pag maraming oras pati comment section binabasa na heheh! Kinupirma ko na rin kay Google hahah! 😂

Yes, for him it was victory daw pero it was a sad ending for me. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is heart breaking talaga!.

Uu pero doc musta result ng test ni patient? Ay nag pa swab pa ba sha?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bukas pa swab nya, at 2-3 days after pa ang result. medyo matagalan pa ako mki bonding with the virtual world hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagal pa nga. Sana ok sya. At ikaw din! Haha .. in a way pang break din ng cycle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magaling ako sa sungka hehehe pero tgal na sobra nun last na nakapaglaro ako hahaha.. Take ur time sa pag quarantine..mapapatanong ka din tlaga bakit nag suicide yun cousin mong si augustus, nakkapuzzle professor, law stud at Councillor pa cia 😔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was also lucky to meet my great-grandmother. She passed when I was a teenager so I remember her well. It's so sad what happened to your cousin. But what a beautiful tribute that you remember them all with the beautiful lyrics of the song. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basahin ko ulet bukas, doctora. I was about to get off nakita kita. Save ko po muna. Xoxoxoxo. Pero gust ko pumunta jan sa Jupiter :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Ayaw mo sa Mars? Thanks and good night! Off to bed na rin, bukas na ako mag rounds.. sa read.cash hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masyadong malapit, doctora haha. Nytnyt!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago