The Differences of Private and Public School Education

Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Have you watched Harry Potter? For sure you know about the various houses right? Well apparently that doesn't only happen in fictional magic schools set in the UK. How do I know? Well Thursday night last week (during my rest day) I saw a new YouTube documentary. It is about a school swap in the United Kingdom (UK) that happened back in 2015. Well of course I watched it because of the title. I mean come on, posh kids going to public school, what could happen indeed?

So I watched the first of two episodes and found out UK schools really do have houses and such like in Harry Potter (Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, etc). Wow. I didn't think that was real. I thought it only happened in Hogwarts. πŸ˜… I only knew the Britons have boarding schools, like you live in the school grounds as soon as you start education. Apparently kids as young as age 7 or 8 live away from their family or parents for the sake of getting educated in Britain's private schools.

Anyway based on the two episodes I was able to see the difference of education in private and public school in that country. In terms of general behavior I think it's the same here in the Philippines. Let me share with you the general differences and a few similarities of public and private schools here.

πŸ”Έ What's Different in Private and Public Schools in the Philippines?

Let me tell you what I know about education here in our country. This might be quite outdated now since I went to school before the K-12 education system was implemented (2013). Feel free to share more in the comment section if you have knowledge of the current differences. 😁

Not sure if I can call myself lucky for being able to get educated in both public and private schools. At least I was able to see the difference of being in either of the two. As young as 7 years old I saw the great contrast of private and public education. After being in nursery and kindergarten private schools I was enrolled in a public elementary school and wow I really noticed the stark difference.

Let's just say that if your family has enough or more than enough money then you can enjoy certain education privileges than those with lesser family income. What are the main differences I noticed in the two school types? Here's a short list:

  • Private schools have school buses/vehicles to bring kids to and from school. Public school pupils can take public transportation on their own.

  • Private school students are more behaved than their counterparts. Those from public schools are more prone to get rowdy/distracted due to the bigger number of students per class.

  • Private schools can offer more things or facilities for each student to use as opposed to being in public schools. For example, the former has an extensive library, a lost and found section, a clinic, open area or playground, etc.

  • Most private schoolchildren don't clean their classroom before going home. Public school students clean the room after the entire school period is over.

  • City pupils have field trips to various educational places. Rural students are taught how to prepare the soil and then plant, grow and harvest vegetables.

Comparing the above to what I watched, I can say the second and third bullets are similar to what goes on in Britain. In my case I even noticed a difference in both type of schools in the urban and rural setting.

πŸ”Έ What's Different in Urban and Rural Schools in the Philippines?

I've lived in the National Capital Region (a.k.a. Metro Manila which is composed of many cities) more than in provinces but I do know the stark difference when it comes to education. Whether it's a private/public or city/province school I can say there is really something different in each type of institution. My entire school life I've gone from one to four of the mentioned categories.

Now let me tell you about some of the differences I experienced in city and provincial schools. Let me compare the school categories based on location/setting.

1. PRIVATE Urban and Rural School Similarities and Differences

  • Urban schools have more things to offer than rural private schools. In my provincial private school, there was no library or clinic and such.

  • The number of students to teacher ratio is almost the same in both locations as opposed to public schools.

  • There are private schools in the provinces where designated pupils of the week clean their classroom once the school period is over. Urban ones don't have such (at least in my experience).

2. PUBLIC Urban and Rural School Similarities and Differences

  • In the city, there are times you can watch kiddie movies. Not sure why but I remember seeing some. In the province there's no such thing.

  • Both provincial and city public schools make students clean their own classroom from elementary to high school only.

  • Rural schools have provincial meets and/or interschool competitions whether sports or quiz bees, etc. The urban counterparts don't have such except in college (basketball, volleyball, etc.)

  • Provincial students are weighed to see if anybody is malnourished. If they are, bulgur wheat meal are fed to them. Those in the city are never checked of such nor given healthy food to help curb malnutrition.

Those are the main differences I can remember. If you have more to add feel free to comment below. 😊

How Does UK and Philippine Education Compare to Each Other?

Well as far as I know we don't have any boarding schools here in the Philippines. This is why students are also part of the bulk of commuters everyday before the pandemic happened. (We also have home schooling here and international schools.)

What's similar is the way public and private schools differ here and there. Generally it is not overly different as private education mostly trumps its public counterpart. But as you can see above there are certain things we do here that aren't being done in the UK (like planting veggies I think).

The confidence factor mentioned in the show is something I've never thought of before. Here in the Philippines, private school educated students only have an edge depending on the job or company one is applying for. Generally it only matters if someone is applying to top and famous companies. The university where one graduated from would really matter to the Human Resources department hiring for corporations and such. Also if the individual is considering to work abroad, small local universities/colleges are not recognised in other countries.

Other than that I think it all comes down to the behaviour and personality of the person. If they are driven to succeed no matter the kind of education they will still strive for success.

Would love to write about success stories but that may be a topic for another article. Do you have any examples of private and public educated individual success stories? Or how about in your country, is there much of a difference with schools and the education or no?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image and other images are via Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

12
$ 4.62
$ 4.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I wish all Schools and Universities would like Harry Potter schools. So magical and decorative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well we can all dream. What about the schools in your area now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's going so sharp. Everyone getting old good days once again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well... We have alchemy and basic spell casting here. And basic flying lessons...

Without an aircraft. 🀣🀣🀣🀣

There is one type of school here in the country that is similar to a boarding school... The seminaries. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yeah I guess so. Starting in high school for seminaries? πŸ€”

As for magic schools, baka mga manananggal atbp n schools hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mananangal, barang, at kulam school, at iba pa. Wahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My criteria is that all education should be totally free. So it is in my country. I even graduated from college and didn't have to pay a single penny in 18 years of study since I started in preschool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you're so lucky then. If all countries are like that then life would be easier maybe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Public school ako elementary coz it's the nearest from home. Private nong high school and college because of the same reason -- nearest schools from "home". May dormitories ang ibang private colleges iba ba yun sa boarding schools πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gnun n rin if may dorm. Pero usually di naman starting from elementary d b? πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here on our place being on public and private is the same but the quality of education is better in private...but as for me it is more fun on public school waha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it can be fun in public school indeed. More people to play and interact with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been in the profession for 3 years. I experienced teaching in a public school and a private school. You are right about all the differences you mentioned. That is why parents who really look up to their children's education, they would really want to send their children to private schools it's different from what the public schools are offering. I could name a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it might be easier to teach in private school as opposed to public ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing that is good about private schools is that they're advanced when it comes to education compared to the public. But what makes the public school awesome is that you're free whatever u want but shouldn't be against the school law. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe which one do you prefer more?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello! Newbie here.

You're correct but when it comes to the qualities of education they are almost the same because of the teachers. I studied in public schools and I taught in private schools. The only differences are the way of living (financially) of the students, but media to learn but they have the same curricula and the same problems. hehehe In public school here in my country, most of them are struggling financially, students in private schools, on the other hand, have a lot of problems, especially family problems. I have a lot of students that are suicidal because of family problems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hello. Welcome to read cash. Hehe. Well that's good to know as well. Which country are you from?

Indeed, those from public schools mainly have financial problems while those in private schools can focus more on family problems since money is not their problem. Haha. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am from Philippines. How about you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakupo kala ko nabasa mo buong article ko. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm referring to what specific place po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah sa Metro Manila. San b kayo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In educational qualities, I don't think there's huge difference between public and private schools. I've graduated from public school from Elementary to College but I believe, I am able to acquire the learnings needed to be where I am now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you won't notice the difference much having been in one sector only. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yepyep...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you have showed the actual differences. I agree with it. Country differs but this equation remains the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I thought there would be a lot of difference in another country but it seems it is quite the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago