Is God's Timing Perfect or Is It Wu Wei?

27 90
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Ooops we're getting a bit philosophical now. Why not when I was able to visit a Taoist temple and learned about a Chinese deity. I wouldn't have thought of going there if not for trying to follow some kind of travel schedule.

In my previous travel article, I shared with you some interesting religious and historical details of the place. Now let's go back to my story on the trip home to Quezon City. 😄

 Back to NCR (Metro Manila) We Go!

While waiting for the van service to arrive I just kept taking pictures of the Oriental structures. What else was I to do in a temple I should not enter? 😂

Around 4 pm on Friday I got a call and the driver said they were finally at the parking area of Ma-Cho Temple. Well finally! Haha and it was a black van this time. So I went down the temple stairs took some last shots of the place and hopped on the van.

At last we were on the way back to NCR! Woohooo! They picked up some passengers along the way and that was it.

Glad I was able to enjoy the scenery and the roadside views from the moving vehicle. Look I even saw a small part of a rainbow and enjoyed the sunset!

Hello little rainbow!

If I had left in the evening I wouldn't have seen the wonders of nature in the great outdoors. This is why going on a day trip is also a good experience.

What a sunset view!

Seeing all those things, I wondered... Perhaps the van arrived at just the right moment. If they had arrived earlier I wouldn't have seen those two things and more!

 Oh Let's Get Philosophical For a Bit

You see, most of the time we prefer to control things so we can manage our expectations but the Lord (or perhaps the universe) thinks otherwise. When He has something better that's what can happen even when we don't expect it. The past 3 days were full of delays and guess what, everything turned out fine in the end. Thank you Jesus! 💕

We act and the Lord navigates. I did everything I could in terms of planning and pushing through with my travel plans. In the end, those that are good and possible were what happened.

Does not controlling things sound familiar? Apparently this kind of thinking is similar to the Taoism principle of Wu Wei (無為).

Remember what I wrote about Ma-Cho Temple? Well Ma-Cho (or Mazu) is a deity in Taoism, a Chinese religion or philosophy. Actually she can also be a Buddhism/Confucianism goddess depending on who you're talking to. (Syncretism, I mentioned that in my previous article.) And here we are, suddenly discussing one of the Taoist principles. Well it seems similar to what I said above. We must learn to let things happen on its own.

Wu wei is not easy to grasp but from what I read it seems like it's the art of letting go. It is about surrendering and not trying to control anything at all. It is inaction but never laziness. Interesting right? Maybe I will write something about it next time.

Somehow upon reflecting on everything that's happened lately, I suddenly feel lucky. 😅 Or maybe I am just choosing to see the silver lining in unfavorable situations. 🤔 Either way I am still happy I was able to get out of town and stay safe until I got home.

Do you believe in letting things happen or do you prefer to control things more often? Personally I think there should be a balance. I think that's what I do anyway. Or maybe not. Hahaha, I dunno, life can get crazy when we think too much. 😅

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image and balloon photo is from Unsplash. The rest of the images are all mine.

Related or other articles:

Not a member of read.cash yet? Come join us! Let's microblog on noise.cash too!

15
$ 7.33
$ 6.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

I remember one of my yoga practices where the yoga teacher mentions "let go, let be." It is more of the concept of Now where you need to let go of the things that does not serve you and just let be, live in the moment. This is the first thing that came in my mind when you mentioned about Wu Wei, though I really do not know what exactly it is. I look forward for your article on this. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I haven't been able to practice being in the moment other than when doing meditation. However when I get blissed out I... Wait maybe I should write an article on that too. Haha.

As for the wu wei I'm not sure when I will write abt it. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! ok lang, no pressure! mas maganda pag nasa kondisyon ka na isulat about wu wei. It got me intrigued kaya napa-google na rin ako hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe enjoy! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Control what you can control. That's my motto. We have to learn to accept that there is limit in what we can do and don't be stressed by that. Focus your energy in what you can do instead.

That is truly a cutie little rainbow :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow. Hehe good choice of motto then. Hehe.

Sayang nga di man lang buo, nun lang ako nakakita ng gnun kaiksing rainbow haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks naka capture ng rainbow... Oo nman minsan tlga yun nakatakda pa rin ang mangyayari hehehe..glad you're home safe🙏👍💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onga buti antagal bago nawala kasi malayo pa lang nakita ko na kaso di ko napicturan agad dahil nahaharangan ng mga puno or bldg. And then nung bandang mas lumapit na sa area na yan ayun napicturan ko na hahaha.

Yes nakauwi na and healthy pa rin. Haha. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm I think I am more into letting things go in their own natural course. I don't like controlling things because it's like defying destiny.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naksss. Haha fate and destiny nga naman. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga bagay talaga na kahit anong pilit natin, di talaga pwede. Kaya minsan mas better na mag let go nalang and let the fate do it's job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, minsan may mga bagay tlga n di para sa atin kasi may iba n mas better. hehehe. Ooops teka hindi hugot yun. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas okay talagang nakiki go with the floe lang, dahil siguradong okay. Kesa naman kontrahin natin ang nakatadhana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag lng sobra hehe. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that God's sovereign and whatever He plans to do with us, it will come to pass, regardless if we do much effort or not.. He controls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. He knows what's best for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in both. It depends actually in the situation.

Letting things happen means you won't exert extra effort to say like improve the result, etc. While controlling the situation is like you will decide and choose what do you think is better.

Parang ganito lang yan. Nakita mo na yung babasaging baso na alanganin ang tayo sa lamesa at isang galaw nalang eh babagsak na, pero hinayaan mo lang versus nakita mo na alanganin at tayo at nilipat mo sa mas safe na lugar.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Magandang example yan. 👍👍👍 Depends tlga sa sitwasyon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just letting things happen. It means stepping a lil bit backward or they say "patience is the key"! Doesn't mean you have to stop workin' toward whatever you're doing! Once you get over naman the things being not in our control, beautiful things come if you let it happen. Basta ganun, sis 😁 Chill lang ba. No pressure!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama! Mahirap kasi ipilit yung mga bagay-bagay. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are things you cannot control and it's best to let go :) If your intention is aligned with the Universe's purpose, things will go smoothly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. And when it happens oh it feels wonderful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Balance, diko hinahayaan na manyare yung mga bagay-bagay yet hindi ko rin hinahayaan na makontrol ko ung isang bagay. Kung ano yung nakikita kong diko gusto na resulta ayun yung iniiwasan ko at kinokontrol ko. Pero if maganda, nilelet ko nalang na mangyaye

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos. Haha. Mas mganda tlga balanse lng. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago