Classical Movie Soundtracks and Kundimans To Enjoy

Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Kundiman and classical music are two of a kind. I enjoy listening to both as these bring relaxation and peace of mind. When you listen to any of the two you will feel like you are transported to somewhere better.

 Classical Music is Really Old

Screenshot from Wikipedia article on Classical Music

Apparently classical compositions began as a really ancient type of music. Haha. A quick check online says it started as early as the medieval ages! Whoa. How old is that? Well it goes back to the 6th century in Europe! 😮

In those days most of the music were for religious purposes. There were only two kinds created. One involves liturgical compositions as part of religious ceremonies/traditions the other is secular ones which are for everyday use and non-religious in nature.

The more popular ones we know and I listen to like Bach and Mozart are notably from the 18th century, Beethoven is known for his works in the 18th to 19th century, while Chopin is from the 19th century. Well hey we are already in the 21st century so I will share about something I recently discovered later on. Hehehe.

 What is a Kundiman?

The kundiman might have begun as Tagalog folk songs for serenading women (harana). This is said to have originated in Batangas province. However being the non-music expert that I am, I found out some people differentiate a kundiman from a harana song. You can read more in this blog/research by Chrystle Mactal. You can also find some example songs in it.

Basically she said a kundiman has "triple meter that starts in a minor key" while a harana "starts off in a minor key as well,... but in duple meter instead."

On Wikipedia it says the former is a musical genre popularized during the late 19th to early 20th century here in the Philippines. It is generally also known as the classical Filipino love songs dedicated to women, nature or even our country.

According to "the Father of Kundiman Art Song" Dr. Francisco Santiago, it's called such because the songs usually began with the words cundiman. In modern context that would mean "kung hindi man" or literally "if ever not."

Well now, all that sounds interesting eh? From Classical music we jump to Kundiman. From West to East, oh yeah!

 Above-Mentioned Music I Recently Discovered

On YouTube (YT) I listen to a lot of music for free. I'm really happy that we can all listen to free music anytime because of it. Yes I also hate the ads but since my sibling has a premium subscription well I can listen ad free! Hehehe. (No this article is not a sponsored post at all. Lol, if only. 😆)

I consider that website as one of our modern radios these days. Actually it is more of a radio and TV combo. Haha. Ah the perks of technology.

Anyway when I am at home, which is most of the time since the pandemic, I mostly have YT on. Why not when I use it to cover up any noise from outside and also for my enjoyment too! Truth be told I started playing the classical compositions whenever my uncouth neighbors would be noisy.

Not everyone likes classical music. Some people just hate it that's why I started playing it a lot. I suppose because this kind has a higher vibration/frequency thus the lower vibration ones shun hearing it. Haven't really checked if that's true but of course some people would not like listening to instruments alone. Others are too used to songs with human words and voices. That's normal and not outrageous at all.

Anyway I recently discovered a wonderful piece of classical music thanks to YouTube.

I've actually never heard it before until this morning, Sept 17. I just clicked on some classical piano and cello collection by Halidon Music and voila! Wow just the first few notes and I felt amazing! ❤️ It's like everything is all right with the world and that it's really wonderful everyday. I love this version and I hope you enjoy it too.

Today is finally quiet again and playing this song is just lovely. I can lie here all day and listen to how wonderful it is. For sure this is not a popular song. To those unaware like I was, this is a remake of a soundtrack from a Hollywood movie. It was released last year.

Let me share the original version by Ennio Morricone (1984).

I am not familiar with this person at all so I checked on him. On Wikipedia it says:

Ennio Morricone, OMRI was an Italian composer, orchestrator, conductor, and trumpeter who wrote music in a wide range of styles. With more than 400 scores for cinema and television, as well as more than 100 classical works, Morricone is widely considered one of the most prolific and greatest film composers of all time.

Indeed it shows in his work. Upon checking on the composition further, this was from the film Once Upon a Time in America (1984). I have never heard of this movie before so I checked the trailer. Heck maybe I'll just listen to the entire film soundtrack. Hehe. Might watch it soon or also Hateful Eight. 🤔

Personally I like the first one I shared above much better than the original. Below is an updated version by the same composer/conductor.

After listening to some of his works like this 2 hour collection of his soundtracks, I did not become a fan. 😂 Before him I only know of Hans Zimmer. Oh my gosh Prince of Egypt is one of the best animated movies with amazing soundtrack and songs! That's why I like Hans Zimmer.

Upon further research I seem to be mixing classical music with film scores so pardon me if that's the case. Haha. I like both! This is why I changed my original article title to what you see now to make it appropriate. 😊

To make it easier, the latter comes from the former. Most of us just categorize the two as the same because we're not music experts at all. 😅😆 For sure many of us are more familiar with movie soundtracks than classical ones because of the various movies we've watched.

Watch this for examples of what I call classical film scores:

As for Kundiman, I found a collection on YT two months ago. Oh wait... In the past I searched for such on YT but no result came up at all. A decade ago I used to listen to a Winamp channel that plays those kind of songs. And then when I changed jobs and career I stopped listening and haven't really thought much of it.

Fast forward to this year and voila! I suddenly found myself listening to a collection of Kundiman. Wow imagine my surprise, finally it's on YouTube! Haha. I love it. Have a listen to the one I found! It's a compilation of various kundiman.🎶

Ah doesn't it all sound so relaxing and makes you think of the good ol' days? I just love our old songs. 🎵 They're really great to listen to. ❤️ Sometimes it makes me think it would be nice to hear some harana (serenade) from someone playing these songs. Hahaha.

Anyway that's all I have to say about old music I love. What about you? Which classical songs do you like to listen to? Maybe you like Kundiman too? Hehe.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

P. S. For those waiting for my bad neighbor chronicles, no the kagawads did not come by today, afaik. Will probably call them again on Monday if the neighbors still don't remove those cages.

* * *

Lead Image from Unsplash.

Other articles you might like:

Music related articles:

Not a member of read.cash yet? Come join us!  Let's microblog on noise.cash too!

16
$ 7.00
$ 6.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 10
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I love music but I never learned about different types of music until I met my late husband. He introduced me to music from all around the world. But kundiman is brand new to me. You presented an excellent introduction.

As for Ennio Morricone (1928 - 2020)? He was magnificent! There will never be another composer like him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes kundiman is one of the music types in our country. :) I am also not well versed with music but thanks to the internet many people are able to discover various kinds.

It's nice to know that you had someone in your life who was able to share more music. For sure it was not as easy as today to get ahold of many types of music back in the day. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember playing whatever classical music playlist I could find on Spotify and directing the speaker on my belly when I was pregnant. Sabi kasi nila nakakatalino daw yung ng baby hahaha. Also accidentally saw a video on Facebook of Yo-Yo Ma playing the cello (of which specific classical music I forgot), and both baby (already out of the womb) and I loved it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha yes that's what they say. Classical music is usually played for babies or kids but we can still play them even for ourselves and other people. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember having a sleepover once in my colleagues' place and waking up to a classical music. It is very calming .. makes you feel like you are in a hotel lobby of some sort.

hehe i play classical music every once in a while. It has different feel. As for kundiman, not so much .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe sarap ng gising pag classical music. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, kundiman by SilentSanctuary lang alam ko hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan may bago na kayong alam ngayon. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So that was kundiman, akala ko nung una eh yung kanya ng silent sanctuary na kundiman, but while reading I realized na ang kundiman ay yung laging pinapatugtog ng nga tatay Dito sa amin. Ang ganda po ng mga kanta slow lang and suwabe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe true, slow and swabe nga. Sarap din pampatulog hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako mahilig sa kundiman, pero may classical music ako n gustong gusto. Canon and Fur Elise, tapos yung piece ni Yiruma. Maganda sa tenga lalo na pag mag eemote ka huehue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe so true. Ako di ko alam mga title basta pinapakinggan ko lng sa YT. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same same sa iba ung bigla nalang likitaw sa recommendation ano haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu haha basta dire-diretso patugtog lang hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a fan of kundiman kasi feel ko ang lungkot2 🥺😁 mas bet ko yung mga rnb, pop ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehehe, meron din mabibilis naman na kundiman. :) Yes if hindi tayo sanay siyempre dun tayo sa mas hilig natin. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

listening while reading at the same time, napapikit tuloy mata ko hahha inaantok ako, tas timing umuulan HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yun lang, nakaka-relax kasi eh. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not like folk music but I love classical music. Mozart and Rossini are my favorites.

Funny story. A 7/11 in Florida where I used to live used to have a lot of homeless men hanging outside drinking, sleeping and eating. The police got tired of chasing them away and jail did not dissuade them from loitering.

The solution was beautiful. Instead of piping elevator music outdoors on the speakers, the owner switched it to the local classical station. Wow! The hobos hauled tail to parts unknown and foot traffic increased greatly and with that so did sales.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha amazing what classical music can do. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was exposed to these back in school. I was part of a choir then that opens for another choir when they had a tour in our area. They have been going around the country then. I have heard kundiman before that but not that much back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow part ng choir. Singer pala. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am gonna save this one because I am planning ti listen to these songs later 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome. Hope you like them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first music to hear in the morning 😍 ang sarap sa ears. Thank you for sharing this one sis. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. You're welcome. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a classical musician I can tell you that it is sothing and therapeutic, due to the frecuencies and energy vibes it generates, makes the body resonate creating an armonic energy within you and around you. It's amazing. On the other hand, this---> "Some people just hate it that's why I started playing it a lot" made my day! We want to do that every time our neighbours start to play their reggaeton on high and disruptive volumes. And I'll bet, that if we play Mahler's 1rst Symphonie at high volume, we'll get at least one complaint from an angry neighbour LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh that's good to know then. Hehe.

For sure if your neighbors are real music lovers they will realize how beautiful classical music is too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di naman ako mahilig sa mga ganito pero try ko pakinggan😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige gowww. Pamparelax yan gagi. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu. I'm glad I saw your article now. I need this kind of song for my troubled mind. It's like a hug to my soul. Thanks for this Stephy <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww you're welcome. Happy to know it has helped you. 💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoy listening to classical music and setting my space with it, it's really relaxing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. What do you think of the one I shared here? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Remember that we live in different places with a different language and your authors are not known to me. Although if you like to listen to Beethoven, Clayderman, and other famous international composers they are listened to all over the world. My favorite instrumental music is not the same in your country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely, that's why I shared those videos as it's also not something I have heard before. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago