Problems With Polythene Bags

40 73
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago
Date: October 21, 2021
Thursday 

Sorry, sorry, I am late today. Good afternoon people. How's your day going on? Probably well. I hope so. But I haven't enjoyed a little bit of the beginning of it. I will explain it. But before that tell me one thing. What do you do with those plastic bags that are wrapped with your necessary items? Just throw away here and there or in a dustbin? Answer me later but let me take you today's topic which is based on an incident happened a few moments ago. This topic is based on plastic bag/polythene. I had a personal loss. So I think I should explain it to my family.

Topic: Problems With Polythene Bags

When I woke up in the morning, everything was ok. My mother served me a cup of coffee and we began to talk about our daily life. After half an hour, my mother's phone kept ringing. This was weird. Because no one calls my mother or me in such an early time. She took the call & I saw that her face was turning into anger point. What was the matter?

The Incident

My mother put down the phone. I asked her the reason. She told me that one of our neighbour was throwing polythene bags in the drainage system backyard of our house regularly. For that reason, somehow it was blocked today and the dirty water raised and now necessary things kept backyard were drowned. I rushed the spot immediately. Some of my unused furnitures, my bike other things got those water. We rarely come here. Because we knew it is a safe place. But for now, it is completely devastating. I saw my that neighbour. He was looking right at me. He knew my anger issues. I was about to lose my control but I saw his little girl holding a flower in hand. Oh dear! I controlled myself somehow. He came closer & started apologising. What could I do then? Well, the main reason of all these things are polythene bags! They just blocked the regular flow of water.

Problems With Polythene

Come on. We all know about it. Polythene is such a material which can't be destroyed easily. If burnt, it will release carbon dioxide gas along with some other harmful gases which is so risky for humans & environment. If it is buried, it will not mix with the soil. Perhaps, it will remain intake for about hundreds of years or even more. It can't be thrown to water either. Why? Because it will block the regular flow of water and you can see what happened to me today. It pollutes air, water & soil. Every element is getting harmed by it.

What Should We Do Then?

The world is running on it. Plastic industry has made our life more comfortable with it. This invention has changed the face. Almost everything is made of it. It is randomly taking place of iron and other materials. Why? Because of it's low cost, flexibility and durability. Even if broken, it can be replaced easily. We feel comfortable using polythene bags to carry out our necessary things. Just imagine, billions of people using polythene bags daily. How many of those bags are reused? A huge quantity of them are burnt or thrown away here and there. It is creating pollution. Now to get rid of it, we need to use paper bags or bags made of jute or clothes. This will reduce a huge quantity of that pollution. The governments of many countries have already banned it. But we are still using it. Isn't that a shameful act?

Well, we all are aware of it. Let's stop using it or if used please ensure not to throw here and there. Use the dustbin. Better suggestion if we can make a way to recycle the polythene. It will help both you and the environment. You know the way, you know the risk now it's your duty to take action on it.

  • All the pictures are clicked and edited by me.

Thanks for staying with me.

©Lucifer01

18
$ 11.05
$ 10.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JuanyChelme
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 12
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago

Comments

Love your ecological post mentioning one of your experiences. Here in my country, Chile, polyethylene bags were banned in commerce. But there are still some people who still use them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A friend from Chile. Thanks dear. And yes, people are still using polythene. We are destroying our nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every responsible government should ban it, howbeit, with reasonable alternative provided

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agreed with you. But people still use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Recycling it, is the best idea and maybe they can destroy it with something that won't cause any harm..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. Recycling will be the best option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The use of the bags is one thing.. throwing them in the drainage system is an odd way of getting rid of trash. Even if it is not in a polythene bag, why throw things in the drainage system?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For these reasons, after heavy rain the drainage system doesn't work and we have a suffering day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's only us humans who could save crying mother earth!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But we are ignoring our duties. We need to rethink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt bad about this actually, because this also happened on us months ago. Luckily my father saw a paper with name in the plastics then we found out who are throwing there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really it made me upset. And look, you already had that experience. Such irresponsible neighbours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's do our part in saving the Earth, let's reuse and recycle!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the only hope to survive for future. Let's see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed polyethylene bags are not easily degradable, they can stay in the environment for the longest time, not used, not recycled just causing waste. So your suggestion should be implemented, it would help the environment more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Completely agree with this point. And still we are using it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have that kind of neighbor, so irresponsible they just thrown away their garbage out of nowhere!

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

We are actually destroying our future. Bad luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah bro, In the end, we are the ones who suffer

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

It's just sad that some people doesn't know the consequences of their action. I mean, why not throw ot in the garbage and let the trash collector collect it. Out Mother Earth is now crying for sure

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are destroying it. And hence we are not feeling guilty for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the most reason why we always had flashfloods and clogged drainage, I hate it when people are so irresponsible of desposing that plastic, I mean it's not bad to use it but can we people learn how to properly dispose it, so that mother nature will not be affected.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are actually irresponsible. I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have here plastic people. Char! I also thought that they banned it but still many our using it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Paper bags can be used. But we feel uneasy with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are not bio-degradable and very dangerous to river bodies...

By the way, all our Asian households will have one big bag that holds all the other bags lol.. it's funny how similar we all are

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz... You reminded me something else. We, asian are creative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we indeed are, we are creative because we save a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very bad neighbours, they shouldn’t throw it in the drainage if your backyard, it was banned several times but people can't find yet the best alternative to it unfortunately.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People are unwilling to use those other options. That's the reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yas, that is the reason why canals and drainage are clogged and the water cannot flow. Also, when they make its way to the sea, the sea creatures will get in trouble. We should really lessen the use of those bags.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly brother. Necessary steps should be taken immediately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Polythene bags are a very bad thing where they ruin the fertility of the soil. So we need to be aware of this. It should be thrown where it belongs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. Don't use it too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here on Philippines plastic is still used despite of laws that reducing the use of plastics, we have alternatives like bioplastics however people still use polyethylene due to its low cost and one way use.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So the humans are guilty for this. We are unwilling to use bioplastics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We just collect and reuse it if were going somewhere to carry things easily as must as possible we dont thrown it or burn it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Such a good person you are! Everyone should follow your steps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago