Use of Different Sketching Materials

18 68
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Sketching is a form of art appreciation and self development. It can be your hobby, no need to be a perfect artist just to relax and feel free to draw what you want. If you finally enjoy sketching you probably want to try some tools to improve your piece. So for today, I would like to share those common materials in a Sketching Set.


Pencil

Both pencil and ballpen are the basic tools for sketching, but as a newbie or an artist who wants to create a beautiful artwork then we prefer to use pencil. There are two kinds of pencil use for sketching;

Blue pencils(Graphite) | Black pencils(Charcoal)

Graphite Pencil

With graphite powder, artists can produce beautiful effects. Aside from this is commonly use by artists as it consist different shades, this is also easy to erase while giving a dark pigment. Just like what I bought online, a set of graphite pencils, 12 shades from B-5H; B is my favorite shade btw.

Charcoal Pencil

There are two types of charcoal pencil; with wood and woodless. I first bought a woodless but since its texture is like a glass then all of it broke into halves. So I recommend to avoid woodless especially when you order online. Charcoal is more darker, so after you make an outline using graphite you can darken it using charcoal. But if you want to use charcoal only, then no need to wood because you can buy soft, medium and hard shade of it.

Eraser

Vinyl Eraser

This kind of eraser is usually rectangular in shape and white color, we can have rubber eraser for sketching but what's good about vinyl eraser is that it can completely erase the writings and leave your paper clean and smooth. If you bought a high quality vinyl eraser then you can use it too to erase ink.

Kneaded Eraser

It is like a clay that you can mold into shapes and figures, so that's mean that this is the best eraser to use in erasing fine details and create highlights. It is soft that you can easily erase pencil marks in your painting or a piece using markers without destroying your output.

For more info, you can check this video;

Paper Blending Stump

Is used for blending. Before, when I'm starting this hobby of sketching, I only use my fingertips to blend. Using fingertips helps me to control, blend the pencil well and make a smooth texture. It's okay when I'm just blending a minimal subject, but if not, it always gives me a rough and hot feeling in my fingertips because of too much rubbing(friction). But thanks to this paper blending stump that I can perfectly blend my piece without damaging my skin.

This is just an example on how to blend using paper blending stump; all you need to do in to shade the area which you want to have a more darker side(upper-left photo), and blend it to area where you want to have a light shade(upper-right photo). And chada! You have the result.

Sand Paper Block

This is the partner of paper blending stump(pbs) or pencil, and can be used in three ways;

First, used as a sharpener or cleaner of pbs. Just rub/scratch the dirty area of your pbs to the sand paper block, and it will make your pbs new and ready to blend again.

Second, used for making a sand texture. Using your pencil, you can scratch it in sand paper block and because of it's rough texture, it easily powderize your pencil tip and produce sandy texture.

Third, used as an optional sharpener. Just like sharpening blade use to sharpen a knife, you can do the same process with this sand paper block and pencil.

Other Materials;

Sharpener - used to sharpen materials especially pencil.

Cutter - used to cut paper or an optional sharpener

Ruler - used to align or make measurements

Sketch pad - a paper medium used for sketching, painting, drawing, calligraphy, etc.

Pencil Extender - use to connect your small pencil and make its handle long.


Sketching is one of my stress reliever, but also a stress provider everytime I end up nothing to draw. Lol

Btw, I create an account in noise.app earlier, you can check it here. See you there!


My appreciation to all my subscribers, upvoters, commenters and sponsor. GOD Bless!


September 29, 2022

-Ling01

19
$ 1.88
$ 1.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 17
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I came. Here to see what you post on read.cash and im amazed 😍♥️ much needed information for the beginner artists i still am a bit rookie level at inking how ever i love pencils and blending stumps are a life saver

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I first encountered kneaded eraser from a friend while he was working on his drawings back then :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iam not so good at drawing. But infact I do little bit of pencil drawing. But my daughter is an artist. So few of the mentioned things I have seen in her hand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since she start at the young age for sure she will be a great artist soon, if it's really her passion :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She finish her education and is working as an Animator for past 1 year. She kept apart her engineering degree and is into drawing and animation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi bff, kumusta naman! You are Still good doing arts japon ba hehhe. Sana all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woyy bff mag chat unta ko sa imo ba haha mangutana if naa ka sa noise.app, okay raman laban haha, ikaw?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang uninstall biya ko ug TG bff kay dako kaayo ug GB sa storage hehehe. Okay lang bff laban lang japon sa life 🥳

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm interested in art but I didn't have to practice. Thanks for this, I'll add this to my ideas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just do it during your vacant time Sis, when you're in the mood to practice because in my case even I want to practice but my mind says, "No", still I can't hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sketch pad, pencils and eraser are part of my drawing. I love to make different views near to sea side.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would love to see it Sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello Ling01 how have you been?😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello Sis, nice to see your name again, I became busy in my personal life, now still busy but I miss being here:D How about you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good to hear, I am fine thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you nito sis kasi yung iba di ko talaga familiar at dahil sa article mo may natunan ako. Mahilig ka din pala sa art sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati Sis na attract lang talaga ako sa cuteness ng mga artmat hanggang naging hobby ko nadin gamitin:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Share naman ng mga sample mo na gawa sis. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago