Surprisingly, It's Different from What I Know

30 97
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Tradition refers to a group of people's beliefs that are passed down from generation to generation.

I've always been fascinated by other cultures around the world. It's entertaining to watch videos on YouTube and observe vloggers touring other regions. Imagine learning about diverse cultures and beliefs from all around the world; you're not only getting knowledge, but also a family.

________________________

It was the other day when I read the article of @TheGuy in title "Dowry System Is A Disease."

I'm actually familiar about the tradition of using a dowry, because here in the Philippines our Muslim brothers ans sisters are practicing this.

I was in Highschool when I first heard the word "dowry", when me and one of my bestfriend who is a Muslim talks about the upcoming wedding of her cousin. According to her, her cousin who is the groom is going to marry the next few weeks, and because of that their family must provide something that they can offer to the family of the bride. I was surprised, yet it sounds interesting, she added that in the most cases, they give cows, goats, money and golden jewelry. I asked her wants the process, and she told me that there are two processes; One is to ask the parents of the bride, of what they want to received. By this, the gifts depends on the bride's parent's interest. While the second one, is the free-will of the groom, no matter what he can offer as long as it is okay to the side of the bride.

Unsplash - by Vaibhav Nagare

Back to TheGuy's article, I get confused because he is pointing to a woman who needs to give dowry to a man. I'm thinking that maybe I just misunderstood his explanation, so what I did is to leave a comment for clarification, and then got the answer when I saw his reply.

And yes, I read it right. Their tradition is different from what I know, although they have the same process but opposite to whom who take the responsibility of giving dowry. After reading his reply, I immediately remember the movie 3 Idiots. For those who haven't seen this, it's worth to watch.

In the movie, there are 3 main characters who are Rancho, Raju Rastogi and Farhan Qureshi. Raju came from a poor family and aim to have a good grades for the sake of his family's future. His father is already sick, while his mother is worried about their social status. Raju have a sister who cannot married yet because they are poor and don't have something to give for dowry.

What's the funny is, after this scene me and my mom was looking at each other confused what's happening. Then my mom said, "So it's the women who need to give dowry?" And I said yes, maybe it's their tradition.


Why I shared this topic is that it surprise me, it gives another learning, and lastly to share what I feel. I'm not against their tradition because I'm not in the shoe who experience it. We don't have this kind of dowry thing in Christian tradition, unless you're too rich and your parents ask money or property as an exchange of their blessings to approved the wedding.

Every culture has it's own history, and I think it's also good that we know and understand other's tradition. By this the discrimination or racism can be lessen, remember that those who likes to discriminate are those who have no knowledge.

By the way, these are just my reaction and opinion about what I learned. Do you also know some tradition which is almost the same from what you have? Or any tradition which surprise you? Love to know it!

________________________

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

March 23, 2022

-Ling

31
$ 8.61
$ 7.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 22
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Sa mga ilokano po kasi is lalaki and babae ang magtutulungan para may maihandog sa bawat isa. Pero mga Ifugao is yung lalaki dapat ang may maihahandog sa kaniyang aasawahin.. Magkakaiba man tayo ng mga tradisyon..yung respeto ay dapat naoobserve padin ..strictly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's make the terms clear."Dowry" is always property from the bride or bride's family handed over to the man, although it sometimes remains the formal property of the wife... being hers (before calculating inheritance) if the husband dies.

Property handed over from the man to the bride's family is either a bride price or a "dower" (never "dowry").

The Muslim"mahr" is often mistranslated to "dowry", but is not any dowry. However, belongings brought by the bride to her new family can be considered a dowry. While"mahr" is mandatory for a Muslim marriage, some Muslim societies have a dowry as well.

On the whole, internationally and historically, the practice with dowry, is and has been far more common than dower.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Narinig ko na din ata yang babae nga ang magbbgay ng dowry. Pero, kelangan ba talaga yon . Parang yung pag aasawa nila is isang transaction na matapos mabayaran sa iyo na yang anak namin blablablabla. Parang ang labas benenta lang ang anak 😅. But well tradition nga pala yun, so ganon na talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Recently i wrote an article on Dowry. It is true. Its quite common in our place where we have to give a huge amount as dowry to get our daughters married.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every countries tradition has some amazing things in it if you study or read a book about it. And some of this tradition has both the positive and negative in it.....i see no reason why the woman should be the one to pay the dowry, but the owners of this tradition are so comfortable with it....it's not fair though... I love my tradition as every other person loves theirs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really opposite in the tradition that most of our ancestors practice back in days even in some families right now. We are used to that men is the one offering things to the girl's family to prove that he have a sufficient or he can take care and of the girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time I'm knowing about this. This is a complete opposite of what's done in my country. I wish it's practiced here, it's gonna make a lot of sense as me will be relief from that buggy demand 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang to alam ah kasi same tayo ngvthoughy about dowry "na lalaki ang magbibigay" kasi yung sa kuya na kinasal sa Muslim we really give dowry and shoulder all the expenses during the wedding. Jusko, "All is well" sobrang favorite ko yang movie na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just also know it I had a friend also whos been in a fixed marriage she's a muslim, and she really hate it, she just said that her parents wants to do ut just for the dowry and I don't know where she is now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard about the family of the female paying bride price to the man's family. It's indian culture which I've seen ain't a lit of their movies. I first heard about it while I was in elementary school from one of our story books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I learnt about this, I was just as shocked, but on looking further at the way the Indians run their society, you will see they are deeply patriarchal and have little respect for the female gender. This might explain it, as they probably feel the woman is the one being done a favour and not the other way around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my gay Muslim schoolmate who was arranged for marriage-not sure what happened though. Some arranged marriages last but others don't. I guess it depends on the couple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You watched 3 idiots? Wow! Yes, That's an odd system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asking for a dowry (and material objects, such as cars, flats, etc.) is a crime in India. But, affluent girls' parents are happily obliging and getting a well-employed/settled groom for their daughters. When I married (it was an arranged marriage), my wife's parents enquired why I married without dowry and if I had any defects! The Dowry system depends on both sides of the parents. I knew one story *real). The bride was unhappy because her groom agreed to marry without a dowry. Later she blamed her father-in-law for being good and not demanding a dowry from her father! She considered it a loss!

So, this is the real side of the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know, it is practiced in India it would be very unwise of me not to mention that it is illegal according to dowry prohibition law 1961.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baliktad diri sa Atong country sis no? Kay ang lalaki man ang mag offer ug dowry sa pamilya sa babae. Four years nako diri sa Muslim area, ug naa ko naamiga mga iyang anak na babae ang gikasal. 100k ang dowry sa lalaki

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's way different to the tradition we knowm. Since I watched Amaya, an epic traditional series produced by GMA. I know dowry were given by a man as an offering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've watched the 3 idiots movies many times hut i never focused on the sister of raju but you were right, its the girl who will give the dowry.

Its another tradition that we don't yet know why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opposite pala sa kanila. Parang ako pa yata nagreport nito dati ate eh yung dowry. Ngayon ko lang din to nalaman, another learnings na naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3 idiots my all time favourite movie, glad it spread light on the topic. Every culture and traditions are different but many have sick flaws which feels too evil to me. No offense to anyone but some of our cultures have crazy tradition, I'm glad with literacy people are accepting the good ones and abolishing the bad ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is traditionally adopted by community otherwise demanding dowry is purely against the teachings of Islam. However it becomes part of our culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba-iba talaga yung mga traditions sis. Na explain din sakin ng partner ko yan about sa dowry in Muslim. Ganyang talaga tradition nila. Kung hindi dahil sa partner di ko rin malalaman na shocked ako pero sabotable naman kasi one of their traditions talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala Sis na attract ako sa "sabotable" mo hahha, ginagamit din namin yan, bisaya be like haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe oo sis. Mga bisaya talaga ganyan kahit teacher namin ginagamit yan. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I fully understand what you said. I also grew up in a Muslim society that has long believed that the dowry should be borne by the poor girl's family. But fortunately, in my modern-day society, this tradition is slowly becoming obsolete, and some of the dowry must be provided by the girl's family and some by the boy's family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, so it means in today's generation, both men and women are equal in giving gifts(dowry)?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dowry is really a practice still in some traditions even in my place, not in my town itself but I've hear my brother said before that it is still a thing in my neighboring town. Traditions are indeed diverse from place to another and every tradition deserve to be respected as you have said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I know what country you're living Marg?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think in india women are liable with dowry. Right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Tingin ko may iba ding bansa same nito, but yes sa inspired by India tung article ko:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago