Dowry System Is A Disease

21 45
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
2 years ago

I was casually enjoying posts on Readcash. Reading life stories, positivity and about crypto but then I checked my notification tab in which @Lhes a generous lady and my first sponsor asked me a question that if Dowry System is still practised in my Country?

Haha just like that I got the new topic for my post as it's a serious issue which must be discussed.

But first of all, let's know about 'Dowry System' as I am sure many of you haven't heard this term or even about it.

Dowry System is basically a practice of giving money or property or some kind of special gifts which have some value in the future life, on the occasion of the marriage of a daughter by the father to bridegroom or bridegroom's family. Mostly it includes money, gold and pieces of jewellery but mostly money.

  • The motive of the dowry system was to serve as a form of protection for the wife against the possibility of ill-treatment by her husband and his family. And to promote inter caste, inter state and inter religion marriage as it could help people to find a suitable bridegroom from other cast or of other religion or from other state.

Indian Currency Note

But someone changed this system totally, it's now becoming a demanding system by boy's side to make money or any property like a bike, car if he wishes to marry anyone. If you accept well and fine we can be family together else he will go for another girl.

I'm from India and sadly it's the most practised worst system of marriage I have ever seen. And a lot of people still practice it even though there's a law of punishment for people involved in it, both sides are punished if caught.

Generally, people with high paying jobs or government jobs employees here ask for big donations while marriage, even the private sector ones do. So ultimately people still do here.

But due to the law and Women being educated and standing on their own feet it has been decreased greatly.

Generally, the boys' family or the boys ask for dowry, without any shame. I have seen so many fathers using all their money just so that a well-paid guy marries his daughter and she gets settled as almost everyone was used to taking dowry earlier. After marriage, some fathers don't have anything left for their families. And if someone treats her daughter badly even after doing so much for them. Imagine how would have he felt! Totally heartbroken and hopeless.

Also in many cases, if dowry is not given the marriage has already happened then I have seen lots of boys and boys' families torturing and harassing girls for not paying or giving what they agreed while marrying.

See how low and shit this system is!

It was supposed to act as a protection for girls but people take these things themselves, it's given to the couple. But in the majority of, or should I say mostly there's no hand of girls in those donations which they get, the boy mostly doesn't let her take any.

Those Mischievous Smiles haha a shot which I took 3 years ago in my friend's brothers marriage.

I have seen some successful dowry practices where the money or pieces of jewellery which the girls' father give is given to the girl only with the agreement of both the future couple.

But still, this system has way too many flaws and ultimately this is another shit practice of downgrading and harassing Women supporting Gender Inequality. Also it feels like people are selling girls in marriages.

But gladly the situations are getting better due to the law. And the Woman Association takes strict actions if anyone or any family tries to do it. I wish that people forget this system already, it's toxic and a very bad example for humanity.

Also, I would like to know if there's such a system like this in your place?

Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 4.65
$ 4.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Lhes
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 10
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We also have this kind of tradition here in the Philippines where a man gives dowry to the family of a woman. I don't know if i misunderstood it that if a woman is educated or have a good job the more dowry to be given

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's opposite here the man asks the women. The higher post is he in, the higher his demands can be. And if a girl is educated or employed she won't marry someone like him here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have this kind of tradition in our country. But just want to clarify it, it's the obligation of the men right? Like to give something what they can offer to their bride?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nope it's opposite the men or the men's family demand and if the girl's family fail to accept the terms then no marriage, Meaning men demand we like this and this to be given in marriage or before marriage. Some people agree on what they can offer to give but that ratio is 5 out 100.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same thing is practiced in my country Nigeria even though it's not as common as before due to education and civilization.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think there's a place in my country that practice a dowry system but thankful that in our family we didn't practice that one. I don't like the dowry system, the girl should choose who to marry, the one she loves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here in Venezuela there is none of that, which is a shame that your system is not correct either, but this is very valuable information that can help someone

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a very good thing that it's not practised there, traditions like these are sick for humanity and society.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, I know thanks for sharing this awesome content from yours. I associated that traditional works. Its also them her in our country. Dowry system is practice here in our country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dowry is still practiced here in our area and I'm really sad to think that even at a younger age, some daughters are force to marry a guy. They are still studying but they don't have a choice but to get married since the daughter's family had receive the dowry already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here, only the daughter's family give dowry and the son's are the demanders means marrying girls and taking money also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's the opposite with what is practiced here..I wish it won't be practice anymore. Dowry system is getting toxic as years pass by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my dear friend, this system is really poisonous and bad for girls in particular and their families. I hope it is completely forgotten.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It should be abolished since it's not good especially for women. We are promoting that women should be respected and protected. It's not the will of almighty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's mostly in people's hands , there's even law and punishment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fortunately we don't have that kind of practice here in our country. What I know is about pre nup agreement. I think this one is only applicable for rich people. Like if a rich girl or guy is going to marry a commoner if he/she signs up with that agreement he/she then wouldn't have rights with all the properties of his/her partner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gladly that kind of system is not practiced here in our hometown I understand your thoughts about that, it is like selling their daughters for marriage hmm it sounds bad though. Anyways I love indians! Hehe I am also a fan of Bollywood movies😍😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cool, which country you are from? I would like to know which places are free from this sick system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think illiteracy is major issue, when both family are educated such things will never happen, Dowry is demaging our society, in Pakistan I seen such cases!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well explained now I understand what suppose the purpose of dowry, yet it was practised a wrong way. I was thinking what if I am living in India and my parents doesn't have money. Then I can't get marry. I remember this situation in 3 idiots movie.

I am happy to know that somehow it now changes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't like dowry system, it's like selling own daughter for the sake of money.. and usually because of that abuse in marriage is rampant.

$ 0.01
2 years ago