Filipino Ways of Celebrating New Year, Featuring Chinese Tradition.

44 67
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Chinese tradition became a big part of our way of living, especially us Filipinos in celebrating New Year. Feng Shui is a Chinese practice, that teach us the do's and don'ts in order to create a harmonious surroundings. This is a belief that will give us good fortune and cast away evil spirits and bad luck.

I already shared how we celebrate for the past New Years, so for today, I would like to share how we welcome the year 2022 by the beliefs from our old ways of following Feng Shui or Chinese tradition.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

13 Rounds Fruits

Why 13? There should be only 12 fruits which represents the 12 months of the year, the additional one means bonus or additional luck. We have this sayings, "The more, the merrier" so if you want more prosperity for your whole year then better to make it 13.

In our family, we eat one kind of fruit everyday. For example, January 1 we will eat the apple, then on January 2 we will eat the melon, up to January 13, the last fruit on the table.

Speaking of fruits, let me add this one.

We used to make bracelets using grapes. Every bracelet contains 8 pieces of grapes. Why 8? Because in Chinese tradition, number 8 means luck. If you look at the number 8, it also represents the symbol of infinity, which means that the blessings that will come to you is infinite.

This is not use for our wrists, but to hang in our doors and windows. That when the New Year come, these bracelets will attract the prosperity.

Prosperity Candles

At 11:50 we are going to light all these candles so when the New Year come it's already set. If for Halloween candles are used to lighten the path of the souls of our loved ones, then for New Year these candles bring prosperity. If you want to know the meaning of every candle, then you can read it in my previous article.

Prosperity Bowl

Okay in here, what we prepared was not placed in a bowl, but let me explain what the meaning of every container. I asked my mom and according to her;

  • Oil - "When you wash the oil, there's always left right? This means that in every situation even how hard life is, we always have something left. We will not live nothing."

  • Sugar - "for a sweet life"

  • Salt - "it's essential in cooking, in every viand that we cook we use salt. This will give luck to all our essential needs. "

  • Cotton - "it is light weight. This will remove the burden and heavy problems that might happened in our life. Light weight, easy life."

Prosperity Coins

This is for wealth and good fortune. Who doesn't like to have prosperity in money right? Money is essential too, we can't have our daily needs when we don't have money; this also includes the Ang Pao. Last night my parents made an Amazing race game, then in every station the reward is Ang Pao:D

They are actually taking videos but when we check it at 1 am, they forgot to click the 'record'


What I have shared are only those that we perfume last night, there are so many and I know some of us here have their own and you can share it in comment section :)

But what I always said, the prayer is the most important of all.

Lead image was edited using PicsArt


Author's love message :

A Happy New Year lovely readers! A blessed new beginning to everyone of us.

I wish for prosperity and that God will help us more in our journey here in read.cash

Ps. Happy birthday to @Trofi01 , I know you don't celebrate this but I wish you a good health and joy in your 2022.

Word of the day!

No matter how hard the past, you can always begin again.

-Buddha

January 1, 2022

-Ling

20
$ 5.56
$ 3.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @ewyr
$ 0.50 from @Trofi01
+ 15
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think I need a Filipino friend to invite me over each Christmas seasonπŸ˜€. You've got interesting ways celebrating the festivities.

$ 0.00
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

Happy new year sis β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know most of these practices, only the preparation of fruits. We don't do any of these things though :D

Happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow we have same practice sis, except sa candles. Now ko nga nalaman sa iyo, though I used to light candles kapag nasimba kay Padre Pio. Perhaps try namin iyan next year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's a tradition, we should always be hopeful for more blessings this new year πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow po ate ling.. All about prosperity sana, this year will be abundant blessing saatin... Ganda ng candles uyyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In west people are afraid of the number 13 but it is nice seeing 13 as positive number here. The number eight does look the infinity sign.

In my country we don't do all these instead we go to church and pray and we hold night vigils throughout the first three or five dayss of the new year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey @Ling01 thank you sooo mucchhh, I never thought of it but may I know how'd you know about my birthday?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have this habit of remembering special occasion of my friends. I asked you and store in my mind:D Btw, did you really mean the amount? I know you're generous but that's too much :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it was the least I could do, it is really a big deal that you remembered my birthday I was sooo surprised. thanks a tonnneee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Trofi. GOD Bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing sis, hindi ko alam ang mga yun maliban lang sa 13 fruits meron kami kagabiπŸ˜…. Anyway sis Happy New Year from my family to yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Daming pamahiin dito sa amin Sis, go ra nadin ako pampaswerte e haha, happy new year din sa inyo Sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brilliant. Fillipinoes way of celebrating the New year is actually awesome πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, even how hard the situation is, Filipinos do prepare for that special occasion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Chinese really impacted us Filipinos especially the clothes we wear in new year's eve, right now I'm seeing people wearing color green..I don't know if it's really the color of the year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also saw others wearing green Sis, but when we search it a week before New Year's eve it says red and yellow, so we follow it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness! Beautiful tradition. I so much love all of them. I wish you could do for two! Happy new year

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks that you found this beautiful J. Happy New Year too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year 🎈 it’s a very nice and wonderful way of celebrating the beginning of the year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Boy and Happy New Year too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year Great friend. God bless you! God bless you!!☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello Sis, I miss your article, gonna visit it later. GOD bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang husband ko din sis nanood sa YouTube ng pampaswerte at yung ginaya lang niya yung madaling gawin, yung prosperity bowl, na lalagyan ng bigas, itlog ,at pera at yung iba lahat ng mga lagayan pinunu nalang niya tulad ng lagayan ng bigas,asin at iba pa .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas maigi na din yung ganito Sis, kasi the more gumagawa tayo ng mga bagay to attract positivity, more and more ang darating sa atin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year dear. Well you introduced us with new world. Like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy New year too! Have a prosperous 2022 to you:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa kau sissy damang dama talaga abg new year, happy new year sissy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pinaghandaan Sis kasi once in a year lang:D Happy New Year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang daming tradition na na mana natin ,kagabi nag pahabol din ako sa anak ko ng itlog bigas at coins nakigaya din ako,

Happy new year sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala naman ding mawawala Kong sumunod tayo Sis. Happy new Year din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis nakigaya din ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year to you big sis , the way they celebrate new year in fillipinoes are really good I am really surprised with the grape bracelet and the candles I love them all I also wish you happy birthday in advance ❀️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's too early but thank you Rosh. Yeah I also love these two, especially when the grapes taste so sweet:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kadaghan d i sa inyo gi perform na way sa pag celebrate sa New Year sis no? Ang ako nahibaw an Ana Kana lang jud 13 kinds of round fruits. Sa Facebook daghan pud ko nakita gi unsa nila pag celebrate ang New Year... Happy New year sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahilig man gud mi magtan.aw anang mga Feng Shui Sis, mao to ginabuhat gyud namo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like this kind of celebration in the Filipino. Prosperity Candles it's really awesome.i love it. All in all, it's an incredibly beautiful tradition. happy new year mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do love the Prosperity candle too Sis. Happy New Year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it was me, I'd add not just one fruit to make it 13, but many to add up to 100 or so, I want to have a merrier year πŸ˜‚. Happy New Year friend πŸŽŠπŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This makes me laugh, so witty. That's really abundant, happy new year too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are typically chinese in the making and as for the 8 grapes, i've eaten it before and it tastes real cool

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I eat one bracelet actually because our cat grab it:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice traditions never change while the whole public,nation thoughts or ideas might be change but not traditions they are gripped by public and Happy New Year to your traditions are very cool,you took a lot of fun their,May God bless you and help you in every matter of your life. Welcome to the blessing year 2022

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I thank you Sir, Happy New Year and GOD Bless to you too. I've never seen you active for a long time, maybe you're just busy:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago