Cinderella Story : Movie vs. Book

28 92
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Disney movies is part of our childhood, because of this we are able to know Princesses such as Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Ariel from The Little Mermaid, and others. These Princesses' love stories may differ, but one thing they always have in common is that "they live happily ever after."

But did you know that storylines in Disney movies, such as Cinderella, are not the same as ones in books? Now I would like to share the difference of these two; this isn't meant to ruin your childhood, but rather to show you where the Cinderella movie was inspired.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

In the movie

(I've seen the Disney film Cinderella several times, so the narration you'll read here is based on what I recall; pardon me if I forget some importar details.)

There was a beautiful lady named Cinderella living together with her stepmother and 2 ugly stepsisters. Her mother died at the very young age, the reason why her father married again but unfortunately it die years after. Her stepmom and stepsisters are cruel and trear her a servant in their house. She stay in the attic together with her friends mice and birds.

One day, the Prince invite all the ladies to a grand ball as he was going to choose who will be his wife. Every ladies in the town are so excited including Cinderella and her stepsisters. Since they don't want Cinderella to go at the Kingdom, they give her a lot of chores. Cinderella wasn't able to fix her dress for the party, but then after she finished cleaning the entire house, she go to attic and surprise that her friends fixed it for her. Cinderella was so happy and go downstairs, but her stepsisters get angry and destroy her gown.

They left Cinderella alone while crying until a fairy godmother appear. The fairy godmother fixed Cinderella's outfit, give her pair of glass slippers and carriage, so she can go to the ball but to make sure that she need to go home before midnight. At the kingdom, Cinderella catches everyone's attention including the Prince. It asked her for a dance, and everyone was looking at them, even her stepsisters who are so agry without knowing that it was her. Cinderella was enjoying her moment with the Prince until she saw the clock almost 12 am. She immediately run outside the kingdom while the Prince run after her. The Prince haven't reached Cinderella, but he saw that Cinderella left the pair of her glass slipper.

The next day, the Prince look for Cinderella by asking every ladies in the town to wear the slipper, and he will marry the lady who is perfectly fit on it. He sent his Grand Duke to search in every house until it reached Cinderella's house. The stepsisters failed to fit it until the Duke call Cinderella and it fit perfectly. Because of this, they bring Cinderella in the Kingdom, the Prince marry her and they live happily ever after.

In the book

(The information that I am going to share in this part are based on my learnings in my former subject 'Children Literature', featuring Cinderella by Grimm Brothers.)

Just like in the movie, Cinderella have a wicked stepmother and stepsisters who always abuse her. Her father is alive but always not home because of businesses trip. One day his father asked everyone on what gift they want to recieved from his next trip, the stepsisters who was describe as a beautiful ladies, asked for beautiful and expensive stuffs while Cinderella only ask for a twig from a tree.

When their father arrived after a business trip, Cinderella recieve the twig and bring it in their backyard where the grave of her mother located. She plant the twig beside the grave and watered it using her tears. Soon the twig grows into a tree and hears every prayers and pain of Cinderella.

One day, the Prince invite everyone to a party but the stepmother didn't allow Cinderella to go. Unlike in Disney movie which have fairy godmother, Cinderella in the book go to the tree and said;

Little tree, Little tree

Shake over me

So that silver and gold

May come down and over me.

After this, the birds came carrying a nice dress with silver and gold jewelries, also a golden shoes.

Fast forward

At the party, she amazed everyone including the Prince. The party last for 3 nights; on the first and second night, the Prince told Cinderella that he will bring her home but Cinderella refuses. On the third night, the Prince make a plan to catch Cinderella's secret, she put sap on the path, and fortunately this trap Cinderella's shoes why she left it.

The Prince get the shoes and the next day they go to every houses to search the owner. They reached Cinderella's house and the stepsisters eagerly wants to fit the shoe. The older stepsister didn't fit it, so they go inside the room to cut her toes. Finally it perfectly fit and the Prince Prince suppose to bring her in the Palace but it noticed that there's a blood. The Prince saw that they just tricked him, so the younger stepsister try her luck but it doesn't fit too, so she go inside and cut her heel. It perfectly fit, but the Prince discover that they are just lying. Finally Cinderella came and perfectly fit the shoes. The Prince bring her to the Palace and on the day of their wedding the stepsisters attend but because the birds are angry they peck out their eyes.

________________________

Lead image was edited using Canva

***

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

It's already weekend, don't forget to thank God for the whole blessings within this week.

GOD Bless. Hug.

February 12, 2022

-Ling

13
$ 2.04
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 8
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm 31 years old and I still watch disney movies, but those of fairy tales, we can't lose faith in happy endings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think Sis even I will reach the age of 60 I will still love cartoons hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one of my favourite.i love Disney films

$ 0.00
3 days ago

I love Disney since I was little I always watched Disney until now, I also love reading book so I can say that it's a bit different but I still love watching it and enjoy every bit of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many Disney movies which are little bit different book. I prefer both reading books and watching movies as whenever I read something I try to imagine all the scenarios which I'm reading. You forced me to recall my childhood days 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're amazing actually, you're a fan of learning too, that's really a good habit Sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read both the book and watched the movie and I must say I find the movie (cartoon) more interesting. Infact, I watched it over and over again ..... I learnt alot from the movie you know, Cinderella was very beautiful and yet humble and kind, just like sis ling01 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sissy you're really sweet, but you know what I like Ariel the most hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm fond of this fairytale stories mapa book or pa movie gustong gusto ko talaga sila. Laking disney movies, and cartoons din ako hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Apir Sis until now fan na fan parin ako hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis kahit siguro maging senior na ko haha gusto ko pa din sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very beautiful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've known more about the cinderala's movie. It's quite good ending and that was all a fairytale. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In Disney all stories ends with happy ending:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm only familiar with the story of Cinderella in the book, and now I saw the difference. I still love both story as they still ended up a happy ending.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True Sis, still ang moral lesson meron padin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, there is a moral lesson that the author of that Disney movie Cinderella. It is salient cause of the unforgettable scene, we antagonist showing cruelty to protagonist. When choosing movie or a book, I prefer to watch movies cause you can see the real scenario of the story but if you are a reader then you can prefer to just read anyways it's also enjoyable and the most important thing is that you've accumulating vocabulary words and enhances your critical thinking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I prefer movie too than books in terms of stories. Sometimes there are words that I can't understand :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, we have the same taste I prefer Also to watch video cause it's easier to understand and can get the main Genre of the movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Count me in but in another list. Because I haven’t seen it yet. But I knew it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know if you will like the story, it is so girly. But since you have a soft heart then maybe you will:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard a lot is this this disney movie but haven't watched it. You did a good narration and pointing out the differences

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Kiingsley, I think anime is more popular in your country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iniba nila ng kaunti sis ,pero aral na makukuha nandun pa din , grabe naman yung Pinutol talaga yung toes para magkasya lang talaga sa shoes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo Sis, nakakatakot yung first version ng mga book, inayos lang ng Disney para suit sa mga bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are common and there differences. I only know the disney part, the one's in disney cartoons and not from the Brim Brothers. Still this is one of my childhood stories that I will remember and tell to generation to generation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Sis because the Disney version is more popular

$ 0.00
2 years ago