" The Struggles of having and OFW Better Half".

41 57
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

" Her husband is working abroad (OFW - Overseas Filipino Worker) for sure she has money".

Not only once I heard this comment not only for me but also to those whose spouse are working abroad. Some people even thought that our life was easy or like we are enjoying it. Some would even say " Sarap naman buhay, chill - chill lng habang nag - aantay padala" ( Just enjoying life and waiting for remittance ).

Well that was indeed a FAKE news, FAKE assumption. I will tell you guys having a better half who is an OFW is not that EASY as some people thought. Yes, we might not have a problem when it comes to the financial aspect but not all the time only money matters.

Sometimes we have some struggles to like;

You will always find yourself celebrating special occasions ALONE.

Birthdays, anniversaries, Valentines day, etc. name it, others might happily celebrate with their loved ones but US? We sometimes opted to celebrate it alone or not to celebrate at all.

I remember last Christmas I spent it with my in -laws. On Christmas eve, I saw that all my sister in laws were busy with their own families. You know the usual greetings. I? Just there, feeling alone, lol! Though I pretended I was happy, deep inside I am not.

Just the same scenario if I spend it with my family too in the province. My sisters are always busy with their own family too everytime there is a special occasion at home. The sad part is during the picture taking with family (wives/husbands and kids)..Ehhhh I am just alone in the photo, lol!

Birthdays? Naaa, seems ordinary to me. I am not fond of celebrating my birthday. It was even hidden on my Facebook. It was only my husband who celebrated and though he is miles away, he managed to send me a gift.

Of course this goes with a birthday cake! A gift during my birthday last 2020. Ahmm last year? I told him not to bother sending me a gift again like this cause it's quite expensive. We rather used it to pay for the labor of our dream house. 

You have no one to hug, talk and shoulder to lean on in times of trouble.

Not all the time the ship of our life sailed smoothly. There are times we encounter waves which make us worried or scared. During this time, whom are you going to run to? Yes we have families, but sometimes they are also busy with their personal lives with their own family, same goes with our friends. You might say we have a God to talk to. Yes of course I know but there are also instances that we need that warm tight hug from our better half. Just that powerful one!

Yet if he/she is not by your side you have no choice but to be strong and survive it by yourself. I don't know about others but as for me I don't want to bother my husband with my problems or issues as long as I can handle it. He is far away with no relatives in a foreign country so as much as possible I don't want him to worry. What I usually tell him are just happy thoughts.

You are prone to temptation.

How many stories of broken relationships have you heard just because the other one chose to work abroad? Not only one, two but many. If you haven't to all my Filipino friends here, try watching Tulfo.. Haha a lot of complainants there are husbands/wife of an OFW who had a 3rd party. Not the OFW but sometimes their partner that was left here in the country.

Before I was wondering why these things happened. Why do these people cheat their partner? However when I became one of them I did understand.

For the part of an OFW homesick strikes them. They felt sad and lonely, especially during the adjustment period. Then it happened that there was someone who showed "CARE" to them. That's the problem. They fall, maybe because they are vulnerable.

Same goes with the one left here in the country. When you are used to having your wife/husband always by your side taking care of you. Then suddenly you have no one too? Of course you will be missing it.

In that case some find it to someone they knew and that's it. They are TEMPTED and CHEATING happens.

Not only that, but sometimes being a woman who was left you became a target of some, how would I address these types of men?

This is my personal experience, not that he directly offered to me but I have this officemate who somehow shows interest in me. Of course I am not that dumb, I can read between the lines. Maybe he thought since my husband isn't here I am longing to have s3x! He's been hitting on me several times and honestly there are times I wanna smash his head! How dare he!

There are so many struggles for having an OFW better half but for me this is the hardest!

Anyone here who can relate?

Weekend is almost done and I haven't enjoyed it as I am sick since yesterday. Though I know longer stay in bed, my stomach still hurts. I even lost my appetite. I haven't eaten a decent meal since Saturday, OMG! Papayat na ba ako? LOL!

05:56PM

06/19/2022_Manila_Phillipines.

23
$ 2.11
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @qheer92
+ 16
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

that's definitely what we have here too. Many men leave their wives in this and go abroad to work. People don't think about what those left behind are going through or feeling. he's just gossiping. beat that arrogant officer friend for me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly it is really hard to be away with ourove one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ours is 6 months sometimes 12 months

$ 0.00
1 year ago

His is 3yrs contract. Supposed he can have a vacation per year but unable to due to pandemic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh so bad. how long has he not been home

$ 0.00
1 year ago

how long do you stay away

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really hard for you at this time. I just hope you will continue to have the strength to cope without him and when he's around, he would surely make time for you.

I can really understand what most people who cheat go through too. Something like this but when you aren't falling for any temptation, you are very strong. Take care of yourself and health too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Princess, in order not to fall in temptation avoid it.. Don't open any windows,lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are easy to judge. Until we are in that situation, we shouldn't judge. Also, it's not the same with everyone. We don't go all the same experience so we shouldn't compare.

Anyway, I hope you are better now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am okay, still holding up

thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know if I can handle having an ldr partner as I always crave for hugs. I don't wanted to be tempted nor he is

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga mahirap sis, huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kayanin yan hehehe :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Iyon lng ang choice sis.haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh Im sorry to hear it. Yes,a lot of people are saying na okay ang buhay ng may abroad but you're right they don't know the struggles you have. In my entire life I never thought to go abroad as long as i can still live in here at mas lalo na nung nag asawa na ako. Tama ka, LDR have many challenges and broken relationship is so common among OFW... But maintain communication as possible. Hopefully you and your partner will be loyal to each other despite this challenges.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Okay siya in financial aspect..pero not all the time okay lng kapag may pera

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang hirap naman po pala kapag ganyan, yang chill² usually ko talaga naririnig kapag pinag-uusapan ang may abroad haystt they don't even know the real struggle behind

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ay mahirap po siya...dapat strong talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

💪💗💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know how it feels, it was indeed hard having an OFW partner, but it is part of our sacrifices.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis, kasi kapag dito lng liit sahod eh.. Hindi makapagawa bahay!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth sis, mahirap talaga dito sa pinas. Walang asenso kaya yung iba nag aabroad nalang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh ! a common mentality for some. Basta may OFW sa pamilya kala nila masarap na buhay. Grew up with my granny coz my mom had to work as an OFW coz she's a single mom. The hardship of growing up without a mother on your side was not seen yet they exactly know the date of our remittance.lol! Same goes with you, the loneliness your suffering ,your anxiety of "what if" they just shrug it off. What they only see was your smile and but not feel your hearts desire to be with your husband. Be strong , hold on.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Exactly, that loneliness I felt at the end of the day as I lie down in my bed😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Struggling talaga ate kapag OFW ang asawa pero kung para sa future kids nyo naman. Why not. Alam ko yung mga kwentong OFW na kapag OFW ang isa sa pamilya nyo, mayaman ka na agad. Nako, kung alam lang nila na Monthly na padala ay kulang pa minsan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True! kaya lagi ka pa hiritan manlibre😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That your husband and partner are far from you on occasions and celebrations, will always leave a kind of sadness and loneliness inside you, but the flame of love between you will remain lit, it is okay, this life. At least you know that someone in the world is there for you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I just to hold on ..We will be seeing each other soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap pag alone sis. Yung ma feel mo talaga yung lungkot. Lalo na pag mga special holidays tas wala ka super hirap kaya yung life ng OFW nakakalungkot talaga sis minsan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo talaga sis,..feeling blue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hardship never is seen by others' naked eyes, only the glance of glamorous sights. But opportunity outside is much more high paying; besides people always want comparisons. 😬

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They didn't saw as they refused too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana magkababy na kyo pra hndi kana alone 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana mag open na taiwan for tourist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your husband really love you a lot and to make you happy he gift you teddy bear with flower.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeeah, his love for me is unmeassurable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako ang hirap ng walang karamay at mayakap kapag kelangan mo. Akala ng ibang tao kasi ang dali mahiwalay sa asawa or pamilya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga, not naman na masolve ang problem..but yakap lng...nakakagaan na ng loob

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice that your husband gave you a gift with a teddy bear and a flower. Happy day to you sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga sis both tlga may struggle if OFW ang isa, kaya tlagang ndi maiiwasan na magkaproblema at trust issues

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay oo talaga sis...need talaga matibay

$ 0.00
1 year ago