It was never too late to found LOVE at 44.

52 56
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Time flies so fast, it seems like yesterday when I decided to leave my hometown and pursue my career in the capital (Manila). Now while I am lying on my bed I realized that I already spent 14years at the company I am working at. I got so busy and was so devoted to my work, handling Taxation is quite a stressful job especially during the BIR (Bureau of Internal Revenue - government agency for tax at the Philippines). I barely had time for myself and I was even working at home just to meet the deadlines. Yet when pandemic hit worldwide and our country implemented lockdown I came into realization that indeed what matters most is family. I am speaking to my Mother as I don't have a family of my own. Yes, I was still single at 44. Never had a boyfriend since birth, a loyal member of NBSB.

I was thinking maybe it's not yet too late to HAVE a life, isn't it? So I filed a resignation but the CEO did not approve. Instead she told me to have an indefinite leave.

Going back to my hometown.

Maybe some may think I am such a fool for leaving my job in this current situation but I don't care. I am not that stupid of course I have a back up plan. I am prepared.

Staying at home was great, there is no place like home. I love the feeling to be woken up by the crackling chickens, dogs barking. The feeling of fresh cold breeze that touches my face and kisses my skin the moment I step out from the house. Not to mention I enjoy eating fresh foods. Fish that was just caught from the sea and veggies just harvested from our backyard. Ahhhh, this is life!

Maybe this time.

It was a boring day when my phone beep. Seems I got a message from my messenger. I was surprised as it came from Jay, one of my childhood friends. Though we have same group of friends we are not that close. It was his cousin who courted me before since we were in high school.

Jay: Hi Ann, I heard you're back, for good?
Me: Yes, I am planning to settle here in our place.
Jay: I am happy to know that, I miss you by the way. Can we meet?

It took me a couple of minutes before I replied as I was hesitant. However I told myself maybe it was just a friendly offer. Yet being me who is not fond of entertaining such things still declined. I told him maybe next time we can meet together with the group.

But Jay was so persistent like he kept on bugging me everyday so I ended up meeting him.

It was a cold day in some time of September . At first it was just a normal conversation until;

Jay: Ann, do you know that I 've like you since we were in high school?
Me: What?
Jay: I like you since we are in high school, no let me rephrase. I have loved you since we were in high school. However I was so coward to confess my feelings and I know you don't have a plan to be in a relationship before. Then before I knew it Anthony my cousin was already courting you.

Me: Ahhhh, I don't know what to say.

Jay: Hahaha it's okay, and I was indeed happy when you decided to turn down Anthony. I even went with the kids before during Christmas caroling just to see you. I was just outside your house Ann. Looking at you from afar. Your house is ( he told me our address and even described our house).

I was a little bit speechless. I don't know what to say actually. I didn't expect that Jay would suddenly confess.

Jay: I know I was such a coward before. We separate ways. Yes I admit I got married but things didn't work out between us. We chose to end our relationship a few years ago. I was hoping, maybe this time Ann. Maybe this time I have a chance.

My heart beats so fast after I heard his confession. I just saw him as a friend before. I did expect he had feelings for me back then. At first I never mind what he says but Jay was so persistent and started courting . I was a moody, hard headed woman but I can see his patience towards me.
Months had passed and before I realized I fell in love with him. YES, you are right for what you are thinking. I finally said YES.
I found love at the age of 44. My boring world suddenly became colorful. Thanks Jay for your LOVE.

Finally, I graduated from NBSB.

Image source

This is the love story of my colleague whom I mentioned in my previous article.

Indeed there is no age for love.

What do you think? I will be happy to read your thoughts in the comment section.

Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

By the way, flexing my generous sponsors. Feel free to visit their profiles as their articles are worth reading.

And of course thanks @bbyblacksheep for renewal of sponsorship and @Carewind for being my new sponsor. All the best and more BCH to you guys.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

You can connect with me here;

Noise cash

Telegram



21
$ 4.30
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 14
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We really never know when we will be hit by cupid's arrow. I love the ending.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ang ganda naman ng ending. There's no age for love, at mabuti na yung maging single hanggang sa dumating ang right life partner, kaysa paiba-iba ng jowa. Hoping a blessed relationship for them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis,sa wakas nagka jowa na din siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how sweet naman. He waited for her and that means true love indeed❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga, hindi rin kasi naentertain ng suitor ang friend ko dati. Nawili sa work at family responsibilities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love can come at any time as it is age irrespective.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I agree with that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Age is just a number, sis :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why people rightly say that love is blind. I know as a boy most boys hjde their love but I have no experience. Some boys here are so lazy that they see their love in red with someone else. But you showed a picture of your husband a few days ago. Probably a lot of boys left haha. Enjoy your love 44

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahha its not my story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you yourself have said that I have found love 44. You have always changed the subject haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha the title says "It was never too late to found LOVE at 44". And I am suing "I" because I am narrating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I was thinking of your title and thinking you are not 44. Then I read and was ah her friend at work. Yep love can strike anywhere at anytime!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah I am a decade younger than 44 Kuya. Right and she got hit unexpectedly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe inday I knew you were a lot younger than 44! Yes it strikes at any age, so good for her though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha Kuya do you know that Inday have different meaning here in the Philippines?

If in part of Visayas and Mindanao Inday means - like endearment to older/younger sister, nickname for a girl, use to address a lady boss/employer

In Luzon Inday means - kasambahay/house maid.

And I came from Visayas though, so seems like my sibling is calling me " Inday".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no 😲 I thought endearment to a younger sister/lady! So i better stop with you then 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

actually I guess why "Inday" was known as Housemaid here in Luzon because Inday is a common nickname in Visayas and Mindanao. Since Luzon is more progressive part of the Philippines that is why ladies from Visayas and Mindanao before would opt to work in the capital as housemaid. So usually they are known as Inday just my assumption.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha like what I said Kuya meaning varies naman. I am okay you calling me Inday since I came from Visayas. So yeah it's endearment to me , I felt like my brother is calling me. Since I address you Kuya ( older brother).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has their own clock and we all move at our own pace. Some people find love at a very young age and get married, while some find love much later and I feel it's just a normal thing. Nobody should be pressured to settle down, it isn't something we should rush into

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right K there is always a perfect timing for everything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to love there's no age boundaries.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree ako diyan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love can knock on your door at any age.. that's great and I'm so happy for you. I wish you both good luck

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe it was not my story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sorry I really read it twice to make sure if it's your story or not .. I thought it was yours 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it's okay Lara

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe that's the path of a soul mate because of your desire that maybe you shouldn't do it at the office but apparently a love story awaits you. soul mate will never go where he is still stored and I believe that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have you found your soulmate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe for now it's still in the process stage, I hope I find the right one for my soul mate. thanks friend for the encouragement

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Age is truly a number, age doesn't matter to one that truly loves because beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed as love has no age

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're rightly there friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must admit that I have a bit of a soft spot for people younger than me! But sometimes the age difference makes the thoughts totally different

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe because of generation gap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo maedad na din pla sis bago mo nhanap ang love mo. Siguro kayo talaga ang destiny.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi po ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sorry sis. Ngkamli pla ako ng gets. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Destiny tlaga sila ano sis, kasi dami na ngyari but in the end ayan nagkita at naging sila na

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha kaya nga eh, ayon ang dami kwento

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😀🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan late lang talaga dumadating yung mamahalin natin, at magmamahal satin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True sis, kaya happy ako sa friend ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun, dipa huli kaya pa ng twins sa 44 lods, haha walang anuman pala lods, deserve mo din yan, kaya ako nag anu sayo. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Niloloko ko nga friend ko bilisan niya na. Baka makabuo pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, kaya pa yan lima lods, hehe pero seryoso I'm happy for your friend lods, sasaya pa siya. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko ikaw yan ate. Hays. Haha. Pero kinilig ako dahil talagang they prove that there's no age talaga na mameet yung the one mo. Hmm. Kailan ko kaya sya mamemeet?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha bata pa ako oi😂 Darating din iyan, ang bata mo pa naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi nga nila sis pagdating sa pag ibig kusa yan darating at hindi dapat makipag karerahan. Kaya yan nasa tamang tao na siya at the age of 44 kaysa naman yung maaga nga nakatagpo ng pag ibig sa maling tao naman hihi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay oo nga sis, at least nasa tamang tao

$ 0.00
2 years ago