Glimpsed of the past, life at the countryside.

58 70
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Every time there is someone who would ask about my residence I would tell them I grew up in the countryside and most of the my friends who grew up in the city were amazed. They keep on telling me how they love to live in such kind a place.

Well most of the time, those who grew up in the city will love the calmness and how peaceful it is in the countryside. Plus the way of living was so simple and I can guarantee you won't suffer in hunger as long as you know how to stretch your bones, literally.
They just didn't know how hard life way back then. I was actually inspired to write this article after I read what @DennMarc published last night. In which he shared his life living without an electricity.

Glimpsed of the past.

My parents were both jobless, they are not a degree holder, my Mom managed only to graduate in elementary. During their time, parents are not supportive when it comes to their children's education. They both learned to stand on their own and even work to live even in an early age. My Nanay ( what we call our mother) was a vendor of fruits or whatever "kakanin". Everyday, she would go to the city and consign whatever merchandise to her fellow vendors. She would place it in a basket and would sell them house to house. Yes, she would walk the entire day, while having those two heavy baskets in her arms. Most of the time she is not earning well. Her profit is only enough to buy something enough for our dinner and breakfast. She also needs to save something for our daily allowance as we are too far away from school. I have seven siblings actually. My Tatay ( what we call our father) was just making charcoals. I am telling you guys, labor or effort exerted in making charcoal is no joke but the income was like a joke too. Charcoal was so cheap in the province. Like my Tatay income in making charcoal for one month was only enough to buy a one sack of rice. It was not enough to feed eights mouth plus them.

Mocked by our neighbors.

Most of our neighbors are also selling fruits but not the local one. They are into grapes, apples, oranges or what they called (imported). Profit in selling this was quite big like they could earn $20 in a day. During that time, it was already a huge amount compared to my Nanay who sometimes earned only $6. They would often mock Nanay for sending us to school despite the thought that most of the time, she just borrowed money for our daily allowance. Well, as for them they don't value education as they are already earning well. They just let their children stay at home to take care of their other siblings. They also focused on building their houses. The one made in cement. Nanay ,being a combative woman, would always answer them back.

I remembered one time, one of them asked my Mom why we kept on studying instead of renovating our house. As our house looks like it will be blown away by typhoons. They are really hilarious, their attitude sucks.

This was our house back then.

It was way 2012 when our place got electricity, imagine how long we live in the dark? hehe, I was in my last year in college during that time. Sad to say, due to financial issues, we are unable to apply for electricity. Our house was I guess 500 meters away from the electrical post and how much are we going to spend for cable wires? We don't have enough money.
It was one evening while I was working on my assignments, my parents arrived and they were furious. Why? They were watching TV in one of our neighbor's houses when suddenly Uncle Ted ( the owner of the house) told them that they might die without being able to experience seeing the light (what he meant, unable to experience having electricity). I was furious upon hearing it but I can do nothing about it. I was just a mere student back then. So I just told them to be content in listening to our FM radio.

And there was light.
It was 2015 my sister (next to me) and I were already working hard . Together with our other two sisters, we managed to save enough money for our electricity. And I was right, it was indeed expensive! My parents was so excited and kept on telling everyone about it. I could still imagine the happiness in their faces the first night we already had an electricity. I almost cry just by staring at them! They were even having a short argument about who would turn on and off the light, as both of them want it. Silly. So if you're gonna asked me @Amjad_Ali_Waince this was the most unforgettable moment in my life. Before I forget, we also bought 42inches television! For them not to go to our other's neighbors house just to watch TV.

Closing thoughts.
You might be wondering why I still have a picture of our old house, simply because Tatay still wants that house. We already managed to build a stronger house for them ( made in cement). Yet he still chose to stay in our old house even though it was already wrecked. He just placed his bed (katre) in an area which he is safe just in case it is raining. I don't know what's with him.
If you asked me if I am still mad with my neighbors my answer was NO. I actually pity them as life was hard on them since pandemic. Sometimes, they would borrow rice to my Mom or would sell there unsold fruits. They are still working hard for their everyday living even though they are old.
We , yes we, my sisters and actually want to thank them. If it's not because they always mocked my parents we won't strive , work hard just to give them a better life. Maybe we will only stay content of what was our life before.

If there is something I have learned, never take negative comments negatively. Instead make this as one of your inspirations.

That's all for today, and have a nice day.

Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

By the way, wanna say thank you to my newest sponsor the generous @Talecharm.

You can connect with me here;

Noise cash

Telegram

22
$ 2.58
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 16
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I could find serenity just by looking at the picture of your old house my friend. It may not be as perfect as the society's standards, but it's packed with love with the people living in there. Above, I am proud of you for surpassing life's struggles.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Leticia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe your father has an attachment to your old house that's why he still stays there. May sentimental value kung baga sa kanya :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Siguro, masyado sentimental si father eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mashallah my friend U are very brave .U have endured many hardships .U worked hard to come at this stage of life .I appreciate u .U are really an inspiration for the people who live in country side .Thumbs up for u my friend .May Allah give you more success !Ameen!

$ 0.02
User's avatar SS1
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Importante talaga yung ilaw sis but luckily you already had.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo thanks God. Nakuha din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why, wag na wga tayong mangmaliit ng tao. Hindi natin alam kong anong mangyayari kanabukasan. Let's stay humble and kind. Anyways, I am so happy for your and your fam sis. Sobrang priceless sigruo nung moment ng magka ilaw kayu nu? Na iimagine ko yung reaction ng parents nyo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe oo sis, tanda2 ko pa mukha nina nanay noon. Tapos talagang pinamalita na may kuryente na kami

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your old house, and your Dad is sentimental. YOur neighbours well, karma, you will all have the last laugh!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Youre right, my father was a sentimental man. Though sometimes we are teasing him that some people might thought he was abandoned😂. Like he would only go to our new house just to eat his meal😂. After that, he would go back to our old house, just few steps away. He actually want it to be renovated but it's no longer possible😂. Neighbors? I also pity them somehow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we lived in the Orkney Islandsm islands off the north of Scotland, it was like living in your provinces. And I remember one family who acted like yours. The children got a new house built beside the old one, but the father would only visit the new one for his food haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I see seems my father is not the only sentimental . Up to now he is still using "banig". I checked at the internet Orkney was a beautiful place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was but very windy, very windy! oh well we are all different and that is what makes the world such an interesting place,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The I would enjoy flying kites then if I were a kid ,thoug I gonna have a hair like "mahangin sa labas". Scotland was a beautiful country, like Switzerland. It's my dream country to visit. Thanks for today's conversation Kuya. I need to work na😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sige lang, I need kama na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute ako syo sis at nagsikap kayo sa pag aaral at di biro dinaanan ng parents mo non.. nkakaiyak sis huhuhu. May awa ang dios at bilog ang mundo ika nga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Masakit kasi sis na makita na ginaganon ang parents mo tapos wala ka magawa. Kaya talagang nagsikap.kami makapag aral

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sino nmn na anak sis at masasaktan tlga kya magsikap hanggang matupad mga pangarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng story mo sis kasi pinatatag kayu ng panahon. Kahit hirap pero itinatqguyod sa tamang asal .

Akala ko nag success yung kapitbahay nyo sis since negosyo yung sa kanila pero yun nga may mga attitude kaya hindi inaangat ng Panginoon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wala sis, iyong kapitbahau namin since hindi niya pinag aral ang mga anak niya wala din matinong hanapbuhay. Tapos diba nagpandemic? Hindi sila makapagtinda ng ayos. Minsan kawawa kasi senior na nagtitinda pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NapasanaOL ako sis, sana lahat ng magkakapatid magkakasundo at nagtutulongan, hindi kasi kami ganyan kaya nakakalungkot 😅 but anyway, nakakainspired yung story nyo sis, napakaswerte ng parents nyo sa inyo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe ganyan kasi kami pinalaki ng parents namin sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, ang inspiring ng story nyo sis. Lahat kayong magkakapatid nagtutulungan para magkaroon ng kuryente. Na picture out ko yung mama at papa mo na nag argue kung sino ang mag on and off ng light. Ang saya!

tama ka dyan sis, gawin nating inspirasyon yung mga negatibong naririnig para umunlad ang buhay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mahirap kasi talga sis kapag walang kuryente. Haha oo nakakatuwa sina nanay dati eh😂. Ngayon busy na naman si nanay kakalaro sa CP niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga sis, kami nagkakuryente sa probinsya mga 2017 na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grave ang tagal din pala sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mum is a strong and smart woman, she knew what was best but your neighbours are silly. I salute your parents for working hard to make an honest living and still training you all in school

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my Mom is really the best. Hahha yeah my neighbors are hilarious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a story, you really did well by spending on your and your sibling's education, I'm sure they will be grateful for what they did back then cause is paying them now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I believe education is really important, everything can wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very good lesson to learn, at times if someone is not face with challenges you will not eager to work hard in other to challenge your challenges and strive to be come victorious in life..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe yeah, those challenges actually led us to success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People don't know the meaning of real life without living a hard life. I congratulate you for these thoughts

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, life is really hard, we just need to work hard for it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also live in a rural area where electricity and water have always been an issue. I am also studying hard, my college is far away. Your old house is small but you will find peace there. Of course you have had a hard time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, study well, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My college is on the other side of the river hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it's okay, that like mine too when I was still studying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living in a village means various difficulties that hinder our education. You understand better than me haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama naman talaga lods, sapul mo ang mga punto kasi totoong experience mo yan Ang buhay nga sabi nila ay parang isang bilig umiikot, di sa lahat ng panahon nasa taas yung iba satin at palagi lang tayo sa baba, pero depende padin yun sa tao paano mo tutulungan sarili mo na makaahon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kailan lng ng pagsisiskap. Kapag gusto umahon. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, walang ibang tutulong satin kundi ang sarili natin. Minsan kasi kailangan lang nating idilat ang ating mga mata para magising sa katutuhanan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Woww sis. So proud of you! We might have the same experience but different scenario. My aunt was the one who make me strong day by day to finish my studies. I never forget how she treat me before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was a shared work or labor namin magkakapatid sis. You were so blessed kay Tita mo. Hirap kasi ng buhau dati ano?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh yes sis kaya chinallenge ako ng aunt ko na kng mkapag aral ba dw ako at amg aking mga mgulang.. Dala dala ko yan na mga salita pra ipamukha sa knya na my parents can send me school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaan mo darating araw maka realized din iyan. Walang impossible kapag ginusto. Baka magulantang na lng siya sis kapag tapos ka na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Solute yo your hardworking parents. You are blessed to have them..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, indeed I am blessed to have them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really inspirational sis. The lesson too that we must learn to respect the others because life is a cycle. There are times you may be down. I love when your parents argued who will be going to turn on and off the lights. So cute and I felt their happiness.❤️

I experience also to live in the countryside sis. I have an article also about it, I already published it yesterday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You got it sis, not all the time we are lucky in life. Hahaha cause they were so happy sis😂, ang masama hindi na makatrabaho, panay na lng nood tv. I'll check your article sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis that's true kaya dapat maging magalang at marunong rumespeto sa kapwa tao.

Hehe cute normal lang yun sis. Ako din siguro magdamag manood lang ng tv.😅

Thank you sis.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate, making a charcoal took a very long time. I once experienced it too when I was 14. You have to be alive and not sleep because you have to make sure that there are fire inside the kugon. I don't what it called in other places. Basta sobrang tagal nya bago maging uling, at masakit don yun nga ang mura pa. Lugi sa hirap. Looking back in our past life, nagpapasalamat pa rin tayo sa mga taong nangutya satin kasi sila ang naging drive force natin to strive better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True! Kapag nahimbing ka abo ang makuha mo instead uling. Kaya sobra hirap talaga. Tama, siguro nakontento na lng tayo sa kung ano ano buhay noon. Kaya hindi na ako galit sa kanila. Naawa nga ako. Ayon minsan nahirap sila bigas sa bahay😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh see, iba talaga ang tadhana. Misna talaga nasa baba ka, minsan nasa taas. Kaya kapag nasa taas ka, don't look down to others talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dear, you have touched my soul. With that electricity story and neighbours teasing one, I can actually relate my childhood with it. Respect for you people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Having this kind of neighbors sucks sometimes Devil. But on the other side, they are pushing us to work hardr towards success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago