My Affordable Productivity Desk Set-Up (with video)

19 62
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
This image was made by the author using Canva

As stated in the book Atomic Habits, “Environment often matters more.” We usually blame lack of will, unmotivated, and laziness whenever we are unproductive, but sometimes (or probably most of the time), we don't realize that the problem is the environment. The environment has a contribution to our productivity, it might be unpleasant, boring-look, etc. And if your workplace looks like this, maybe this is the sign to start upgrading it.

In my experience, the tools and the looks of my workplace matter. I feel so lazy with a plain white light considering the heat from the light. I feel lazy when I am writing using my phone's virtual keyboard. So, I decided to invest and spend some of my money to start designing my place. You don't need to do the same, it depends on your taste. 

Keyboard and mouse

In almost two years of writing, I noticed that typing using a physical keyboard makes a difference in my mood every time I write. I feel motivated when I am using it. The sound of the keys satisfies my brain to work and write more. This is why I decided to buy a keyboard. I have no regrets about buying a keyboard, it is not too pricey, and it is affordable. The best thing is that it is wireless and has a satisfying key to press every time you type.

Since the mouse is included in the package, the keyboard and mouse are connected. You have to use OTG on your phone (make sure that your phone supports an OTG feature) and connect the input to the USB port. It will be more aesthetic and cool if it has lights in it.

This image was captured by the author using the screenshot feature from Shopee

I bought this keyboard and mouse package for ₱350.00 from this Facebook page (linked to Shopee). I got a discount because the actual price was ₱1,200.00. That's huge, right?  Check the link and get a discount!

I had an old keyboard with a tablet case, but I prefer using the keyboard above because it is better to use based on my experience. You can check my old keyboard from here.

Mini USB Table Desk Personal Fan

It was mid-summer when I decided to buy a mini fan for my desk. The heating temperature continues to increase due to climate change and I am losing the momentum of my productivity when I feel the heat while writing. The personal fan is a tiny fan that is very handy and aesthetic. It is also affordable for its price, no need to buy a battery because it uses electricity to work.

But here's the thing, the wind produced by the fan isn't bad…don't expect too much because it is small. 

This image was captured by the author using the screenshot feature from ShopeeThis image was captured by the author using the screenshot feature from Shopee

I bought this fan for ₱75.00 from this Facebook page, I got a huge discount on the product because its normal price is ₱199.00. 

Bluetooth Speaker and Airpods

I am the type of person who always listens to music. I just feel calm and relaxing every time I write with music. I usually listen to classical and lofi music for relaxation and some energetic songs to enlighten my mood. Sometimes, I also play lyrical music and sing along while writing because why not? It makes my writing fun and not boring.

I prefer using airports while writing because I feel the music more while I am the only one who is listening and it is louder to my ears. I only use the speaker as an alternative when my airports are charging. 

I usually listen to music using Spotify because it offers a lot of playlists and music. It also filtered the music depending on its genre. Also, I am using it for listening to podcasts that help me grow. 

I bought the AirPods for ₱196.00 and I think it is worth it. I also use this when I am jogging and listening to audiobooks. The speaker that I am using is a freebie of my phone when I bought it so I looked for an aesthetic Bluetooth speaker from Shopee that is affordable to buy. 

Phone stand

While others are using their laptop, I am using my mobile phone as an alternative. Thanks to the phone stand that I bought, I can now use my phone as a laptop. I am also using the keyboard and mouse that I bought to connect to my phone plus the phone stand. 

I bought my stand personally but I looked for an alternative item from Shopee, it is way cheaper than mine.

Aesthetic Changing Color Light Bulb

It is hard to work in a dark room with a hot temperature, I was using a normal light bulb but its light makes my workplace hot and I can't focus on my work. So, I decided to look for a changing color light bulb. I don't feel the heat when I am using a dim blue light because the brightness of the bulb is adjustable so I can make the light dim.

I don't know if it is only me but the light of the bulb helps my mood and affects my workplace's atmosphere. For example, I feel that the red and white light makes my room hot. Meanwhile, the blue light makes me calm and lessens the hotness of the light.

The bulb has a remote control where you can change its light depending on your mood. I bought a 15W bulb so it is brighter. You can adjust its brightness using the remote.

The price of the bulb depends on its watts, but it ranges from ₱138-₱199. I think it is affordable enough for a remote control bulb. Want a discount? Buy it here: Aesthetic Remote Control Light Bulb.

For me, the environment and your working place have an impact on your productivity. It's not bad to invest in your place, but it is necessary. It depends on your budget. You don't have to do the same as me, because we have different preferences.

Most of the products above were bought from an online store, so buy them at your own risk. But so far, my experiences were all good. You can buy the items from this Facebook page: Cheap N Sale. 



Published: May 25, 2022


19
$ 16.78
$ 16.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 10
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

Our environment is key tool to influence us. If environment is good then we are more able to work and if it is not favorable then we can't do anything. Good to see all the gadgets for improving your desk.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really like the fan! Big discount you got there. Also, the Summer heat is like frying our skin. It is so hot! Nice purchases!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go and buy it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same lang tayo ng mga equipments hehe, may fan rin me hehe skl ichinacharge lang siya using the power bank hehe. Di naman talaga siya yung mahangin but at least na babawasan yung init na nararamdaman mo haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akala ko nga nung una malakas but not bad sa price niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana all may workplace. Ako may plan na kph umuwi. Kaso tagal pa yun 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eme lang 'yang workplace hahaha soon may sarili ng room.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dami ko nang nakikitang articles dito na ganito yung set-up nila hahaha kunting nalang mabubudol nadin ako. Kaya lang di pa matatapos yung kwarto ko kaya mauna na kayo sa productivity set-up hahahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go lang buti ka nga may sariling kwarto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your the one who inspires me to buy a Bluetooth keyboard, u I don't have mouse already. Maybe if I can save some more, I'd like how organize you are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. You gotta buy the same from the link. It's a keyboard and mouse package with a cheaper price.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The environment matters a lot. That's a nice keyboard you have. Enjoy your typing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! It is really a good keyboard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have come across the book atomic habits but I have not read it yet. Now that you mentioned it, I'll check it out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck! I really like that book.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is indeed a good suggestion I should buy a keyboard and a mouse on my mobile phone whenever I am writing my article. Yes, I do agree that environment really affects my mood in being productive. I have a not so good environment during the night and I can have my own space without noise during 1am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Using keyboard is also a good one, the link above is one of my best keyboards.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ops, I have been reminded. Haha. I still haven't read that book. I'll find some spare time for that.

Anyway, congrats on your new setup. I'm also planning for that one. I'm just accumulating more funds to purchase all I need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's time to read the book haha!

Good luck on your plan for a new set-up, that's a good one for productivity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago