You should know when to slow down

27 62
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🤠 how are you all today? I didn't come online to readcash for most of today and when I eventually tried to open the website later in the evening, it wasn't loading with my usual browser and when I tried to use brave browser, I saw a "404 server error" message. To be honest, I thought that was the end of readcash 😆 but I remembered something similar has happened in the past (more than once).

I was able to access the site after some minutes and that was when I discovered the issue started since morning, I guess they were trying to fix it and it took more time than required. I also noticed that a few articles were published today (I'm not surprised, considering what happened) and some of those that published did that later than their usual time of publishing.

I was reading Ate Jane's article a few days ago where she talked about the need to pace yourself and I could relate to a lot of what she talked about, it's what inspired me to write this article and this was not actually what I planned today but I just realized a couple of things after reading Jane's article

Model Source

I have been seriously demotivated since the beginning of this month, especially when it comes to blogging and coding. These two activities are usually the bulk of what I do daily, coding takes up most of my time in the day while readcash and hive share the remaining percentage but not equally.

I couldn't really put a finger on what's causing it but after reading Jane's article, I realized I actually overworked myself last month. Some of you know I have been talking about buying a laptop for a while and I gave myself a deadline that I should be able to buy one before the end of September.

After setting that deadline, the pressure mounted and I became more serious with blogging on hive and occasionally blogging here on readcash. In addition to that, I was also under pressure to finish a programming course I am taking online as soon as possible before the universities in my country call off their strike and I go back to the university.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

All these resulted in me working overtime, I barely did anything else except blogging and coding from as early as 7 am till 1 or 2 am. I actually knew I was being too extreme but I just had to keep pushing, until I got to the last week of September and realized I have gotten the target amount of money for the laptop I had in mind, so I finally slowed down 😆

What's happening now?

I am still trying to catch my breath after that month of aggressive grinding. It felt like I did about 3 months of work in just one month and now my body (especially my brain) is no longer cooperating. I'm obviously suffering from burnout and coupled with the fact that I have achieved my goal of buying a laptop, I don't really have anything that's motivating me to keep grinding.

But will I stop? Of course not 😆 I can't afford to quit now, the only thing I can do is to slow down but it shouldn't be too slow like the way it is right now. We aren't robots and at some point, we will eventually get tired and feel like quitting but that usually happens when we suddenly enter into overdrive without accelerating and slowly picking up speed.

Source

That sudden burst of energy will eventually burn out after a while and you will experience serious burnout that might probably make you regret going too fast in the first place. We are all grinding because we want a better life for ourselves but it's best to do things slow and steady. In the end, it's better to move slowly but steadily than to move fast but occasionally stopping because you ran out of energy, you will go farther when you take things slow.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Thursday October 13, 2022

17
$ 4.32
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Exactly what I thought, when I saw this server is out of service, I try again and again. Is good to take things step by step

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm just glad things are back to normal and we can continue blogging here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The old saying is never a lie; "slow and steady wins the race." But now I'm scared, I need to read my books, and blog and not forgetting programing 🙆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣 It seems a lot of us had the same reality shock when we woke up today and realize ASUU has called off their strike, some sacrifices will have to be made when school eventually resumes and it's not going to be an easy sacrifice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes bro. It was a shock to me. Right now I'm scared because my head isn't wired for chemistry again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao, don't worry your lecturers will rewire it for you 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

omo, it happens like that sometimes ad its also affecting me currently but once a target enters, the motivation will rise.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly o, luckily for me I have gotten a new target and my motivation has returned, all thanks to ASUU 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lols, thanks to them ooo cos money is needed for resumption.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor it's like we can't even afford a break now oo cos there are alot of things waiting...this is the time for God abeg😩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just laughed when I heard ASUU has suspended strike earlier today, see me that wants to take things slow, now is the time I will really see shege 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂

We are still waiting for resumption date Sha...the thing weak me too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Slow down for wia?... When your lecturers are already waiting for you?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣 the funny thing is that I immediately thought of a counter-article about why I can't slow down when I heard they have suspended the strike

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can extend your deadline. I, too, want to buy a laptop. But a lot of things are hindering it...always something coming up in my family. My brother was hospitalized, then just the other, my father has undergone an operation on his prostate cancer.. That was the main thing that made me emotional as you can sense in my past 2 articles. I'm just trying to hold and it's just too sad that I and my family are suffering health issues this year

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Remain strong Ate Jane, it isn't easy to handle health issues but it will always take precedence over every other thing in our life. You can always buy a laptop later but a life lost can never be bought back, I just pray you don't face any other challenges especially when it comes to health

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also devouring money here, but the balance of life is something that can't be underestimated. I hope you continue to work and I look forward to your other writings. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The main thing is to strike a balance between our work and normal life, we shouldn't neglect our health because we are working hard

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww maybe rest a littke and then fo back again. It's hard when you got knockout because of over working yourself. That's a more of hassle.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very true, it's better we take things slow than to get burned out because we over worked ourselves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, you are young ang recuperating shouldn't be a problem. Grind while you can, but you have to take a break from time to time. True, you are human not robot, so take good care of your body is the key in growing old healthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, we should always take care of our body and avoid overworking all the time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's always a time when we feel burnout and need to do rest before a stronger comeback. That thing is more like what I'm Going through... Slowed down!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It eventually happens to everyone of us at one point, we just have to pace ourselves and take things slow

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are so many times that I feel lazy to write. Laziness is worst when I have no topic in mind. There are also times that I will work too much in a month and at the end of the day, I gotta rest. Before coming back fully to the site, make sure that you have had enough rest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the most important thing o; knowing when to rest because going extreme all the time will eventually become disastrous

$ 0.00
1 year ago