Why so angry?

28 49
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Today has been a crazy day even though I thought I was going to rest for most of the day. I was able to sleep very well because I didn't have any class today since we are officially done with our field practical training in Lagos.

We scheduled a meeting today at 10am to discuss how we are going to share the remaining money we contributed as a class to fund this entire educational trip. But before the meeting, I and one of my classmates was called by one of the researchers in the institute to help them out with a task.

I came back after working on the task and met a very heated meeting. Everyone was agitated and there were a lot of angry faces with everyone shouting at the top of their lungs to be heard. I wasn't surprised because that's how the meetings we have as a class usually turn out.

Image source

I was still confused about what was happening and I decided to just be quiet and observe what was going on. I found out after some minutes that the reason why they were all arguing and angry was because of the leftover money and the major issue was how it is to be shared.

We are two groups of students and each group was supposed to go to the institute's headquarters for two weeks to receive lectures. My group was the first to go for lectures and we faced a lot of challenges due to heavy traffic on the road and our bus driver not coming to pick us up sometimes (I have talked about this in my previous articles).

The second group went through the same process but fortunately for them, they didn't experience heavy traffic like the one we faced and instead of going to the headquarters for two weeks, they only went there for a week.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Now what brought the problem was when we calculated the money both groups used for transportation, we discovered that my group used more money than the other group (which wasn't surprising) and the other group said since we used more money, then we are going to receive a lesser amount from the leftover money.

My group members didn't agree to that and insisted that the leftover money be shared equally with everyone since it wasn't our fault that we went to the headquarters for two weeks while the other group only went for a week. There were a lot of heated words and accusations were flying all over the place, and the thing that got me even angry was that we had a committee!

A committee was set up before we started this field practical training and their job was to oversee the entire trip but instead, they are bringing every little issue to the class to solve and they ended up splitting the class into two. This issue was supposed to be solved by the committee before they present it to the entire class as one, but the exact opposite was what happened.

But I won't even dwell much on the committee, because at that point we all concluded that we no longer have a committee because they have not been doing their jobs. I personally didn't care if I receive an equal or lower amount of money, but I told some of my friends at that meeting that the only way to solve this is if both groups aren't happy with the final decision.

Image source

What I meant was that we have to come to a compromise because no group would want to see the other one happy, so the best thing is for both groups not to be happy. My group is still going to receive a lower amount, but it's only going to be a slight difference from what the other group is going to get, and that way, nobody will be happy about it because I could already see that there's no way everyone is going to be happy with whatever decision that was made.

The meeting lasted for over 4 hours (again, I wasn't surprised), and at one point, it escalated again and a fight broke out. Before the fight even broke out, I was already triggered by something a person from the other group said and I was trying hard to suppress my anger. I could feel the adrenaline running through my body like waves from my head down to my toes.

I guess the other person couldn't keep his cool and he lashed out and almost attacked the boy, but he was held back by other people. I just couldn't deal with the whole thing and I quickly left and went into my room, put on my earpods, and started listening to music in a bid to calm myself down.

Image source

My body was still trembling from the adrenaline and it felt like waves of electric shocks. I am very slow to anger and most of the time, I will rather diffuse a tense situation with jokes and just laugh it out instead of lashing out because I know how crazy I can be when I get angry.

I had a very bad anger problem when I was a kid and I ended up bringing lots of problems home to my parents because of it, but over the years I have learned how to properly tame my anger by mostly avoiding tense confrontations. I am not like most people that shout and lash out when they are angry, I tend to use more actions than words.


Conclusion

I didn't go back to the meeting but what I heard that they concluded on was that my group will receive N3900 ($7) each while the other group will get N6000 ($10.9) each. The difference is just $3.9, that has been why they have been shouting for over 4 hours.

I told my friend @Talon that if I had invested that 4 hours into readcash, I could have made more than that amount in a day πŸ˜‚ he told me that he would have used that time to play joybot NFT games and also made some good money, instead of wasting over 4 hours screaming just because of $3.9 difference.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Thursday March 17, 2022

16
$ 4.17
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Lol, where there is a discussion about money, there will be trouble. I agree with your suggestion though, to make both groups compromise, that was smart

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I learnt it from a movie 😁 "you know it's a good deal when both parties come out unhappy", that's what they said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, that's cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Students will always act like thatπŸ˜…. I thought the money was like 10k+ each o. My blood boils when I'm angry too, i try to leave the scene on time and find something to pour my anger on. Most times it's a wall or punching bar. If i don't pour out the anger, my temperature rises and i might even start shaking. I've always wondered if it was normal or not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are people that react that way when they are angry and they are quite dangerous. I know because I have been there as well πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship should not be ruined by money. The best thing to do is to accept the final decision made. No more no less. Hoping that you are all okay. It's not good to go home bringing grudges in our hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, money has a way of causing a rift between friends and it's better to just accept the final decision instead of allowing it to ruin things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I all I can say is thank God heads were not broken because of $3. Also karma dey wait for frontπŸ‘½

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly bro, karma is definitely waiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When money is involved, it is already expected that the situation will turns out like that haha. That's exactly the same as ours when it comes to splitting money 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Money tends to bring out the beast in most people, no wonder it's called the root of all evil

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kikikiki. Orisirisi lo'n she'll laye yi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Enipe? πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who you dey type this one for abeg πŸ˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that is quite amusing although not really. Spending 4 hours to solve an issue and arguing in the process doesn't sound good to me too hehe. Well, those things do happen. I am glad that you knew what you did and just left rather than joining in the arguments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just couldn't deal with the whole shouting and arguing, I quickly left before things got out of hand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even if it's just $0.1, bants and fight would be there are long as it had sign of Currency attached to it🀣. That's the spirit of MONEY, sometimes it's not about the personal gain but the spirit of money that triggers heats when it's about you're about to be cheated. Thank God you were able to calm down, e for pour plenty sand to the garri

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, Nigerians hate that feeling of being cheated or losing to another person especially when it comes to money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. This kind of disagreements are always common in everything that has to do with money . Even though it's a 1 dollar difference, people would still argue about it. Maybe it's something peculiar to our Nigerians. They don't just want to feel stupider then the next the next person especially when it involves money - sharing.... It's also possible that there might be some hidden grudges and cold war that has been going on between some members of the different groups and the opportunity to engage one another had just presented itself.. You Know how humans can be. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You just got the full picture, there's really a cold war going on amongst a lot of my classmates and it has been like that for over 2 years. Anytime we got shared into groups, it always results to fierce competition and confrontations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to money, everyone real colour shows itself. People just dey disgrace themselves anyhow. You should have given a beggar na so that everyone can have the reward. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ that would have been reasonable sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ that would have been reasonable sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe that's true Kushyzee if those 4 hours you spent here in this platform you can earn more than that amount while arguing the $3.9 difference. 😁 Talon can spend in JoyBot NFT games too. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just find the meeting to be a big waste of time, I shouldn't have even attended πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes Kushyzee the was wasted because of $3.9. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah woww. I do believe that you will accumulate more than that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right Kleah 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago